We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touched by the hospitality”
Review of Backwater Ripples

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Backwater Ripples
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

No doubt there are better resorts in Kumarkom, but we were touched by the way the staff, particularly the Operation Manger Mr. Soby Mathews helped us when our 9 yr old daughter fell sick.

As a resort it is quite good, on proper backwater and ideal for chill out where you can lesuirely watch the lake. They also offer a complimentary 1 hour sunset cruise (boat is ordinary). You can also do fishing - caught a small fish by the way.

Only thing which could be better is the buffet (Both breakfast & diner we had for 2 days)

Room Tip: Dont stay at ground floor of the cottages as lot of insects around the property.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supratik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Backwater Ripples
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 473 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

The resort claims to be 4 – Star resort but lacks terribly in Customer Service & understanding as well as responsiveness to customer problems & feedback.

I, along with my family, visited the resort in October 2012. We had booked a lake view room, tariff for which was almost double of that of other rooms. As we entered the room, our “Lake View” was blocked by a canopy of a tree & virtually there was no lake view. We stayed for 3 nights & 4 days in the resort and in first 2 days we had weird & spooky experience in the room.
Every evening soap from the room used to go missing from the bathroom. We ignored it once, but when the incidence was repeated 3-4 times, we were really scared & brought the same to the resort staff’s notice. They were clueless on such incidence & had no explanation for the same.

To add to our agony, on 2nd night of our stay there was a sudden power cut only in our room at 2.30 am. This added to our discomfort further & the resort staff was pretty casual about the problem & they took 2 hours to restore power supply. The option of changing the room was never suggested by the resort staff but we had to command & demand for the same. Post this, our stay was relatively easier, however they had successfully managed to spoil 2 days of our 4 days of vacation.

The restaurant of the resort is far below average. They have no variety in their Buffet & almost 60% of the spread keeps repeating EVERYDAY. We had opted for a package which included breakfast & dinner. It was really boring to eat the same food again & again. Also the staff in the restaurant is not responsive enough, as we had to wait 10-15 mins before even water was served. The resort promises a barbeque, which was not seen even a single day of our 4 days stay, even when there were no rains.

Overall the staff of the resort cannot understand English & if you are not from Kerala & staying in this resort, you will face a big communication problem.

To summarize, I would like to state that this resort is a big rip-off & you will feel cheated, as there is absolute no value for money.

Room Tip: Please choose this resort only as LAST OPTION.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Holidayreviewer1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel was recommended by Make My Trip.The welcome by the staff was quite pleasant. We were enthralled by the complimentary Back Water Sunset Cruise followed by a cultural programme of kathakali dance which was really entertaining especially for the kids. The biggest plus of this hotel is that it is situated on the Vembanadu lake. My only regret was that i should have planned for at least a couple of days stay instead of one day. The only scope for improvement for this hotel would be to have reasonable prices for food and beverages.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beheras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had booked the hotel through my travel agent in Mumbai. The trip to Kumarakom was not too long and we arrived at the resort by evening from Munnar. The check in process was quick and we were guided to our room.The Hotel was situated on the lagoon with a great infinity pool from where you could watch the houseboats go by. It was a little way out of the village and there didn't seem too much to do in the surrounding area but this was an ideal place to start a holiday and relax .

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank morganstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had done a booking for Backwater Ripples through Expedia one month in advance for 2 rooms. 3 days before our trip we called the hotel and found out that they did not book our rooms at all and neither informed Expedia or us. Our whole family trip was about to be wasted and we had to find another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Himanshu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is in a lovely backwater setting in the middle of no-where. The views are stunning and if all you want to do is relax, eat good food, sit and read in hammocks, take a few boat rides and spa treatments, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anishapateluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice resort, with good view of Lake and good place to relax.We stayed here for 1-night only. Room Service was a bit lousy rest everything was good.Definitely a good choice @ Kumrakaom Nice stopover on the way to Allepey Houseboat from Kovalam.

Room Tip: Lake View Room is a good option
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorabh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
741 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
2.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.4 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwater Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Ripples

Address: Kumarakom PO, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#7 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $84 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backwater Ripples 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backwater Ripples offers 34 luxury independent cottages in a variety of styles to cater various requirements. The accommodation is spacious, private and superbly appointed with state of the art designer amenities and personalized services. The resort has wide range of facilities to make sure a comfort and memorable stay in our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Backwater Ripples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kumarakom
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing