We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Review of Backwater Ripples

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Backwater Ripples
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2007

We are a family of 4 currently living in Bangalore so were looking forward very much to escaping that city for a few days. Which we got! This place is very low key, quiet, very relaxing, beautiful surroundings and lushly landscaped. We had a double executive room which had plenty of room for 2 extra beds. Room was clean and well maintained, beds very comfortable. We spent all of our first day by the pool, lying in the hammocks and relaxing. The restaurant served meals by buffet, there was good variety, acceptable level of spiciness for children, and all very delicious. We had two nights there, and then one night on the house boat which was a real treat. Gently cruising the lake and backwaters, so quiet, very unobtrusive service from our skipper and cook. The only complaint about the house boat we have is there were only 2 towels between the four of us, and the beds only had a bottom sheet, and a blanket. The blanket smelt clean, but would have preferred to have another sheet between me and the blanket!!! Overall a great place to stay if you are looking for peace and quiet. Our 13 and 10 year olds also enjoyed it, we could have done one more night, but for this age group that would have been enough.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kiwiflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 501 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights, we had booked 5 days but decided to leave earlier. Room where good, with open air bathroom. That is nice and a bit exotic, but also some uninvited guests in bathroom like lizards/mice eating half soaps. Upon arrival food in the restaurant tasted bad and we maid complaint to our travelagent. 30 minutes later manager contacted us and wrote down all foods we wanted the kitchen to be able to serve during our stay. After that food was excellent, staff very polite and friendly. Main reason that we left earlier was that there was few guests and to much rain (july). Im sure this hotel can be a mote pleasent stay during high season. To sum up: its a hotel with great staff, nice rooms, polite manager and a beatiful landscape outside the cottages.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank peterkatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

Hi, We stayed at Backwater Ripples in December '06. The resort is located on a beautiful lake. Dont miss the overnight house boat stay which the hotel can arrange. Its a life time experience. The food is authentic local & you can get good vegetarian food. The rooms are clean & comfortable! We will definitely stay here again.
Sumi & Niki Vora ( Mumbai )
sumi_vora@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We stayed at the Backwater Ripples in Jan. and enjoyed the one night stay very much. The room was good, and also it was close to the wonderful pool which is very well situated next to the water. But because we were called half an hour earlier than expected to join our houseboat cruise we completely forgot our laundry. However through our travel people, 'India Destination tours' the laundry was collected and forwarded on to Australia at no cost to us at all! I think that speaks very well of the Resort but service such a we received from India Destination Tours does not come very often. We recommend both Backwater Ripples and India Destination Tours.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2007

Stayed in this hotel for two nights in January as part of a tour of Kerala. Beautiful setting on the edge of a lake, but quite isolated. Stayed in a garden room, paintwork a little shabby but room was very clean. It was a large room with very comfy beds - great after a 9 hour flight and 5 hour bus journey to get there! Room had a fridge, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, TV and AC. Staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Only ate the buffet in the restaurant but it was very good, no where else to eat. Some evening entertainment and hotel does provide a sunset cruise on the lake free of charge. Hotel is fine for a few nights but too isolated for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2007

Stopped off on tour in Jan. It is a bit of hike on bad roads to get here from Trivandrum but when you get there it is a very peaceful little haven on the backwaters. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped, with aircon. Whole place has a pleasant atmosphere and you can sit overlooking the backwaters watching the birds and the houseboats drifting by. Small pool and sunloungers/hammocks. Has its own Ayurdeva centre. Restaurant is buffet style and we thought good quality and choice. Unusually it has no bar or central lounge which means there is no social focal point for residents. Local beer and wine only, which is delivered to you from the restaurant. Complimentary sunset cruise on the lake was really nice. Not a lot to see in terms of other attractions/shops etc so really best for a quick breather on tour or unless you want a total hide and switch off stay. Staff and service were good.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnandTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2007

On our 1 week stay in Kerala, stayed at Backwater Ripples on Xmas day. Overall location of hotel is good. We had a total of 4 families on this trip with kids below 12 years.

If you end up booking here, make sure it is for the individual cottages. We ended up with half cottages and half hotel style rooms. The hotel style rooms were very disappointing.

We had problems with hot water being shut off during a shower, shower stalls falling over, stains on our towel, etc. (see pics) When these issues were raised to the hotel management and further to the GM, their answer was these can be expected sometimes!!!

We were very upset with their answer and lack of professionalism. When asked about their star rating, they said they were 4 stars and the only reason for not being 5 star was due to liquor license.

I would certainly put this hotel at 3 star. Their service was extremely slow.....If you want an Ok stay, go here; otherwise I would stick with the known hotels (Taj, Lake Resort, Coconut Lagoon or the new hotel Laguna)

Positives here would be the location. The pool is Ok, food was decent. Did not have enough therapists at the spa.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triphopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
814 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
751 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwater Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Ripples

Address: Kumarakom PO, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#7 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $101 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backwater Ripples 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backwater Ripples offers 34 luxury independent cottages in a variety of styles to cater various requirements. The accommodation is spacious, private and superbly appointed with state of the art designer amenities and personalized services. The resort has wide range of facilities to make sure a comfort and memorable stay in our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Backwater Ripples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kumarakom
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing