We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back again and again !!”
Review of Backwater Ripples

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Backwater Ripples
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Agra, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We'll be back again and again !!”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Great property, right on famous wembnad lake, great water activities to take you through real Kerala backwaters, amazing food, best south Indian i have had ever ! service was just too good, great spa center...altogether a great place to spend your holidays, highly recommended !!, would have not asked for better !!

Room Tip: Make sure you get lake facing however garden facing rooms aren't bad but view is everything !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogeshS0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    190
    58
    31
    24
See reviews for
214
154
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2011

need to keep rates of minibar little lower, not it really makes money fr resort or it mattters fr
tourist but carries wrong impression this is very small income ,diffence may well be clubbed in somee otther service no one likes t pay thhree times the mrp of potato chips i mean gd bsness sennse prevailsi loved my stay so much that if i ever visit kerala i wll again cm to ripples and also recomend the authentic foodd served at restaurantt is worth remembring really gd service

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drananddranand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed there for two days and the AC in our room was not working fine. restaurant is not that much good. Location wise the hotel is very nice but don't choose rooms category as "Garden View". remaining all are ok

Room Tip: mentain clean room conditions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsujay85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Me and my friends had recently stayed at the Back Water ripples for 3 days. The trip was indeed quite memorable and I got to admit that the rooms are quite spacious and well furnished. You have the options of deluxe cottages or duplex cottages which are really huge and well set up. Some of the cottages also have well placed backyards which face the backwaters. Now if possible, i recommend visitors to stay in these type of cottages. The one thing that really spoils the entire fun in this resort is the restaurant and the food their serve. In short I would rate the food as "PATHETIC". It was not just once but on 3 separate occassions the food quality and taste was really poor.

The overall service at the resort is good, but once again falls way short once you step into the restaurant.

They have a complimentary one hour boat ride daily which is extremely enjoyable.

On the whole I have given this resort a 3 rating only because of the poor quality of food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naveen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Nice sweet hotel, not much to do but relax, swim in the pool, Swing in the hammocks, watch the birds, ride speed boats and water scooters!
The food is good but on the expensive side.
There is a complimentary launch ride every evening. The hotel is on the banks of a lake.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sougata_Nupur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

A nice place with good rooms . food , swimming pool over looking Kumarakom Back Water Lake. Kumarakom Back Waters was recomended by National Geography Magazine twice as `` A PLACE TO VISIT IN YOUR LIFE TIME ``..The hotel has facility to take you on a speed boat ride though the back waters or a house boat to stay overnite.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RejiJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2011

it was my birthday(60th) and the vacation was my son's gift fr the four of us,The servce was courteous frm check in to check out at the reception,rooms,restaurant and the ayurvdic health center.The rooms were neat and large.The location of the hotel was astounding and
we were at a lakeview room adjoining the swimming pool.A beautiful experience.The experience was awesome in totality that we cannot really sift the best frn the least
dinesh v nair----latadineshnair@hotmail.com----97863 09911

Room Tip: ask fr lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinesh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
2.1 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.4 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwater Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Ripples

Property: Backwater Ripples
Address: Kumarakom PO, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#7 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Backwater Ripples 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backwater Ripples offers 34 luxury independent cottages in a variety of styles to cater various requirements. The accommodation is spacious, private and superbly appointed with state of the art designer amenities and personalized services. The resort has wide range of facilities to make sure a comfort and memorable stay in our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Backwater Ripples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kumarakom
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing