We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Nearby Hotels
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resorts(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aveda Kumarakom(Kumarakom)
$109
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
$62
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocobay Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lake Palace Family Resort(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
$13
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
$29
$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$66
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveler rating
177
115
28
7
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
115
28
7
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr kurianhis sonhouse boatfirst floornice personriver viewhouseboat triphis teamexcellent hospitalitybed roomnight staypeaceful staynatural beautyawesome experiencespecial thankskottayamaymanam
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 342 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I and my family visited this resort on 26th of Jan 2012. I really like to appreciate the hospitality and it is so peace to stay there with out noise or disbursement. The room service is also great. I met the owner of this resort, He is very sincere to care of his guest. I am really very happy and also my family enjoyed it.Thanks to the management of Back water retreat Kumarakom.

Room Tip: I saw three rooms and all are very good
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koppara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent one night here and would recomend this because of its great, out of the way location and experience to enjoy the atmosphere of the backwaters. The owner is very helpful with some great tips for onward journeys, and how to make the most of your time there.He organised a boat trip for us and a visit to the local organic spice farmer which was very interesting and inspiring.We also swam in the waterway from his guesthouse and it was the high light for me.It was recomended by the farmer who has been doing it for 70 years!

Rose and Deri London

Room Tip: Top balcony is best.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rose t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We spend at the place only 1 day, but wish to stay longer. The place is beautiful, food were very good, rooms are clean and spacious, hosts are very helpful, and backwaters boat tour they arranged to us was one of the most pleasant experience of backwaters I ever have. You can do nothing but sit at the terrace and staring at the nature around and birds flying above the water. Very quiet and pleasant place

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wichyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Backwater retreat is an ideal place for someone who would just like to get away from the city havoc and do nothing. In literal sense there is nothing much to do here apart from enjoying the silence and the beautiful backwater. Mr Kurian plays a good host. He also had arranged for the Houseboat which is worth experiencing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SubashAKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Themed house, definite getaway from the maddening city life, friendly people, wonderful location. The uncle managing the place was quite an awesome person, giving tips to travel around. The food prepared by the in-house cook was of excellent grade.

Room Tip: all rooms are good...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadhanandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews