We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very satisfying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very satisfying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

When you have a good stay at a hotel there is rarely one single reason for it. There are probably multiple. The room rates were reasonable for December's rush period. We were traveling from Munnar to Kumarakom by a Kerala state transport bus. The bus was heading to Trivandrum via Allepey, which dropped us right in front of the hotel! There were two elderly men taking care of the property. They treated us in same nice way as they did their foreign customers. It's not uncommon to get sidelined as an Indian budget traveler when you are at tourist hotspots where many foreigners flock. Most foreigners are also on their budget or frugal travel to India but their budget is plenty enough for hotel and taxi owners to give them all their attention.

If you have explored and stayed at hotels in India you know that the name of the hotel may not have anything at all to do with its location or type of hotel. Words like Valley, Resort, Lagoon, Lake are used liberally as a name. But this hotel does have a heritage feeling to it. It looks rather new so of course there is nothing there for archeology enthusiast but you can see that they made a good effort designing, building and maintaining it. Roofs with clay tiles, thick support pillars of wood, wooden staircase, trees and plants with colorful flowers. There was even a little water canal passing through the property, which met the bigger canal.

My room was very basic in what they called annex building. Very clean room and bathroom. Small 14 inches CRT TV in case you felt lonely. There were no soaps or shampoos but there were bath towels. There were other cottages with higher price and more amenities. The restaurant had limited choices for food but whatever they served was good. However don’t be surprised to find a north Indian curry by name have a south Indian masalas and flavor in taste.

There were other two helping guys. They had uniform dress! A nice floral Hawaiian like printed shirt and plain dark pants. One of them would try to understand our travel plans and make few suggestions. It did help us getting around. I imagined he would expect us to tip him before we left but he never asked, which I respected. The jetty is really near as the hotel address suggests. We enjoyed number of ferry rides across Vembanad Lake and went further to Allepey beach and Kumarakom bird sanctuary too.

Room Tip: Rooms in Annex building are very basic costing around thousand rupees. For more comfort and amenitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronakaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
38
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Tharavadu Hotel

I had a comfortable room and was well fed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It has a great location as just beside the canal/boat jetty so you can go for a lovely walk along to the lakeside. The temple across the canal provides a great atmosphere with lots of different music drifting over. It is a beautifully restored heritage hotel and I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NellieClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently went on a family holiday to Kerala, covering 3 places in 4 days so you might imagine the schedule to have beeen quite hectic. While we did try to pack in as many local experiences as we possibly could with 3 senior citizens, we managed it as a pretty decent pace and came back having soaked in a lot of local flavors, sights and sounds.

This review is specifically of the last resort we stayed at, in the middle of Kumarakom and Kottayam, called Tharavadu Heritage Home. Well, it literally is quite that - definitely heritage as it is more than a century old and it's age is evident through its character, especially in the main blocks of the property. Traditional Kerala style architecture, strong and well maintained. Home too, as this is family owned and run along with the help of a friendly and prompt team, and they make you feel comfortable from the word go, tending to your needs at just the right pace and when needed, thereby giving guests ample space as well. So one feels at home, yet away in the cosy confines of coconut, banana, guava, tamarind trees. When was the last time you woke up to chirping birds or sunlight streaming in through a pretty sit out? :)

One can spend a few hours strolling around the expansive premises and explore the variety of flora, that I imagine must take a mini army to maintain!
Tharavadu is also strategically located, it is right on the fringes of the Kumarakom backwaters as well as about 14 km from the heart of kottayam city. It is fairly well connected by public and pvt modes of transport as well. We boarded the Vembanad Transport bus as well as KSRTC and weren;t disappointed. Fares are 10/- per head for a 25 min ride into town or back.

One thing I must mention because am appreciative of it is that they were flexible on check in time and allowed us in a couple of hours early. Considering I had 3 seniors accompanying me, this was very welcome!

Our host Renu, was very responsive and helpful right froom the time I established contact way back in October last year, being very patient and answering all my questions on tariff, room options and most of all, co ordinating the house boat for us in advance which was a great experience as well. No hassles or mis communication around rates, timings etc.

The rooms we got allocated were very spacious, and not to mention a private sit out for 2!

Overall, it’s a very chilled out place. Tharavadu lets you soak it all in - explore, brood, read, talk, dream, basically just do what you want to do or not do! In other words, they let you just be :) and while on a holiday, that's exactly what you want.

Room Tip: We chose non AC and rooms 21 and 22 were ideal :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suehlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph J, Owner at Tharavadu Heritage Home, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for the good words!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The cottages and winding paths and all that look pretty good at first. But then you have to order your food an hour in advance and when we went to the dining room to eat,they took another half hour to give us the order(which, by the way, was stone cold). The TV is really small.
Room service is also below average.
If they could improve on these, it would be a great resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madpadBLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph J, Owner at Tharavadu Heritage Home, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
madpadBLR,

We are very apologetic that you had only an average experience at Tharavadu Heritage Homes.

As is stated on the menu and upon checkin, the reason the food takes approximately one hour to prepare is that we keep no food stored in our kitchen, so everything is made fresh just for you when it is ordered. December is high season, so there may be some draw backs in the service. Otherwise, we are giving individual attention to the customers.

We are taking your comments as a positve one and will improve on the aspects you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tharavadu looks good from the outside but the problem is what lies inside. The challenges that we faced were multi faceted and I would try to summarize each one of them.
a. They try to sell you servant quarters as non AC annexe rooms and that is how we got trapped. The rooms are so bad that anybody with some moral fiber won't even put them out for rent but probably that was too much to expect from tharavadu. And I am not even going to delve on the room furnishings which are worse than pathetic.
b. Food quality at their kitchen is pathetic. They served uncooked or overcooked food and that too with a delay. When told about the undercooked raw meat the response was that you should go talk to the owner. Food can be a major issue as there are no good restaraunts nearby to add to the pathetic service that these people provide.
c. The staff is unresponsive a lot of times and it was a challenge to get them to provide basic amenities properly. Cleanliness of linen was an issue and the bathroom taps and pot were not working as they should.
d. There was only one switch to plug in a mosquito repellant. Hence you can either watch television or get rid of the mosquitoes.
e. Finally at the price they ask for accommodations I know for sure that there are better things that are on offer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Algorithmixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph J, Owner at Tharavadu Heritage Home, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
The customer stayed in the non AC standard room in the annex, not in our main block. The room rent is only 950/- and the room is having attached bathroom with hot water, European closet, clean and tidy room and bathroom, TV with cable, and a small balcony. We think these facilities are very appropriate for this price.

When you are complaining about the room, please think about the price also. It is not like a servant room and we welcome you to see the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kumarakom hotels

Pune, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I got a TV with a broken remote, when complained about the same, the person on the reception simply banged the phone. Afterwards they replaced a TV which was of a size of a TABLET!!!. Also you need to order your meals an HOUR!!!! before. Will not recommend this hotel to any one. Please do not go by the reviews from the net. Please think twice before coming to this hotel.
------ An irritated traveler.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAD653442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

But the maintenance and the service are terrible. The owners have a bureaucratic attitude and the adjacent temple stays open during part of the night playing a very loud music. Cleanliness left much to be desired. The village, along a very busy road, is not nice.

Room Tip: The rooms are small and there is no way to avoid the music of the temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.6 mi away
Lake Palace Family Resort
Lake Palace Family Resort
#23 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
1.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.3 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tharavadu Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tharavadu Heritage Home

Property: Tharavadu Heritage Home
Address: Govt. Boat Jetty, Kumarakom 686 563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tharavadu Heritage Home 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a 120 Year Old Christian Banglow converted into a Modern Travellers Inn by keeping its original Heritage Structure. We provide Homely stay, food, ayurveda body massaging, boat cruise etc. for our Guests. We are located in the backwater tourist village named Kumarakom in Kerala State in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tharavadu Heritage Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tharavadu Heritage Home Hotel Kumarakom
Tharavadu Heritage Home Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing