We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Staff was very responsive and helpful to our needs (i.e., arranging taxis, recommending time of day for bird watching, ordering dinner and breakfast, etc). We had a great open air balance on the back of our room (ground floor) which is where we spent all our time. Very relaxing, shaded (so not too hot), and charming. Very nice place overall, good rooms and great service.

Room Tip: I asked to see a different room (with a different bed layout) and the front desk guy offered me an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 116 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

Decent Place, though a little pricey. But overall enjoyable and relaxing in a real heritage home. Food is ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabbir_1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

i stayed here in AC heritage room on the first floor in the first week of october,2011 with family.the building is beautiful old kerala architecture example, room had little balcony facing the garden having coconut trees with bunch of yellow coconut fruits... ,in front of the room a wooden gallery having sitting and eating space..we had our dinner and breakfast there...and taken some photographs also ...food served had nice kerala flavour..specially the Appam and Vegetable stew was very satisfying..the location of the hotel is very good as the govt.boat jetty is at arms length.it is very near to main road..they have a lot of parking space, overall good property ... if the owners wish and plan, this place can be developed very beautifully..it has great potential and space for growth .

Room Tip: first floor ac heritage room in main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vibhav_hp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Tharavadu has great service. The room were very clean. We had booked AC Heritage Room in the main building on first floor. The room had a nice little balcony.. turned into a sit-out. And there were chairs n table outside the room as well where one could relax. The food was good too. Place is worth it for the price they charge.
We stayed there only for 1 day in Kumarokom but the Staff especially Ms Renu was very helpful to us in suggesting which places are good to see and the timings.
We reached Kumarakom pretty late in the day at 330pm and they suggested us to go for a cruise towards the lake in the evening to see the sunset and then another cruise towards the village in the morning. And the suggestions were good. The cruise begins right from this resort which i really liked :) all cruises here end by 6-630 pm. They charge Rs 400 per hour for a couple for this boat cruise and the entire boat was for jst the two of us.
We took an hour long cruise towards the Vembanad Lake - its a huge lake.. u see only water everywhere. And then in the morning we went towards the village. Plan was to take an hour long cruise only & come back soon from the village side itself but we changed our mind and went back via the lake. boat stopped at one place and we bought Toddy from there and had it on our way back on the boat. It was a nice experience on this boat cruise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powerpufffgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Tharavadu is a pleasant enough small hotel in Kumalakom in the backwaters. The best part of this stay was the trip to the bird sanctuary in th early morning. Make sure you go with a guide in the canoe - no motor boats you need to be quiet. We didn't take a houseboat as they seemed expensive - there were lots around - a bit of an oversupply apparantly. The town itself wasn't great, typically small indian town. The staff at the hotel were friendly although I thought they could have been a bit more proactive in suggesting trips, but there are travel agents in town who can help. The room itself was good enough for the price, even a small balcony to sit out. Food was good, chef made a good effort, served on our balcony. - there is no restaurent and nothing much in town to eat at. Remember to order in advance as the chef has to prepare freshly for you (good as its fresh, but a long wait). Beer can be brought in for you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JackJohnson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We booked for five days and were told that they would show us to our room but that tomorrow we were going to be moved to a more spacious room. To be honest the first room was lovely the second was more spacious and had a nice view over the garden. There was some outside space with chairs and a table, a good menu of food which was delivered to your room. We ran a tab for all of our meals and given experiences with overcharging elsewhere we were a little concerned but on checkout we found the bill exactly as we expected. The staff here were all exceptionally friendly and helpful even when we got a huge spider in our room that needed evicting. The only downside of this place is that it’s a little remote although on a bus route and if you are a light sleeper you may find the early morning call to prayer from the mosque a little too much which is why i have marked down sleep quality and location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyStrange123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We had been here in september:

Pros:
1. Heritage style rooms and unique bathroom.
2. Very spacious Balcony in rooms for relaxing
3. Hospitality and the value for money
4. Can get cycle ( old type ) on request
5. Bus stop right opposite to hotel

Cons:
1. Located little off the lake and need to go about a 2km to reach lake
2. Need to order for food in advance as food is not prepared in same place
3. Do not try the Auyur vedhic massage organised by hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivekmattur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.4 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.6 mi away
Lake Palace Family Resort
Lake Palace Family Resort
#21 of 26 in Kumarakom
39 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
814 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tharavadu Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tharavadu Heritage Home

Address: Govt. Boat Jetty, Kumarakom 686 563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $18 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tharavadu Heritage Home 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a 120 Year Old Christian Banglow converted into a Modern Travellers Inn by keeping its original Heritage Structure. We provide Homely stay, food, ayurveda body massaging, boat cruise etc. for our Guests. We are located in the backwater tourist village named Kumarakom in Kerala State in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tharavadu Heritage Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tharavadu Heritage Home Hotel Kumarakom
Tharavadu Heritage Home Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing