We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay at the Grove”
Review of Karma Chakra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karma Chakra
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Stay at the Grove”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I had a very relaxing 2 week stay in the Grove resort recently. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. From our room we had a very nice view of the lake. The resort has a large swimming pool and a lovely restaurant. We mainly tried the vegetarian dishes which were very nice. The resort staff were very friendly. The resort had a recreation area with indoor games. Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hemat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mr.Hemat,

Greetings from Kumarakom !

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a great time with us and loved our resort to have a great time of your vacation.Our staff is our biggest assets and your words are truly encouraging.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, here at The Grove !!.

Best Regards
Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    140
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
290
164
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The ride from Kochi airport to Kumarakom is no longer as beautiful as it used to be. There is construction work going on all along the highway, and the volume of traffic has increased manyfold. But we braved the 45 minutes to enter Kumarakom: still a sleepy place along Vembanadu lake's east bank, with luxury resort hotels that prefer to stay hidden amidst the swaying palms.
The Grove, the latest Chakra resort of Karma Group, is perhaps not as upmarket as their Schliersee property in Bavaria, or as quaint as the Ratan Haveli in Jaipur, but is stunning in its concept. It is built on the backwaters. All the roads in the gated property are built on stilts on the water. So when you walk from the reception to your rooms or to the restaurant or the bar, you walk on water.
The rooms are large, the toilets adequate. There is hot water, plenty of it, but you have to run the tap for a while before the hot water starts to flow. The flat screen TV, and the tea service complete the utilities. The only surprise was that the housekeeping does not restock the tea and coffee service: Their explanation is that it is not an international practice to do so. That surely is very different from the practice in all the other Karma resorts all over the world, where the tea and coffee service is regularly restocked.
We had a ground floor room, which opened out to a sitout area with a semi- private lawn and the lake beyond. The upstairs rooms have a balcony. All guest rooms have lake views. So it doesn't matter where you stay.
The restaurant has an upstairs bar. Its a lovely place to drink a beer and watch the sunset on the lake. But on the fourth day of our stay they ran out of my favourite beer- the Kingfisher ultra- apparently it must have been everyone's favourite, and wasn't restocked till we left.
The dining room is glass walled, overlooking the infinity pool and the lake. It is a lovely place and guests do tend to mingle and chat with each other. The buffet breakfast was excellent value, with ' live' counters where the cook made eggs to order or Appams, a Kerala delicacy.
The service tended to be slow during lunch or dinner times, and we learned quite soon that the first thing to do when you sat down at the table was to order the meal, and then ask for the wine list.
The staff at the reception was most helpful and would arrange transport whenever we needed it. they also offered tours to nearby sight seeing places.Their backwater boat trip was well worth the Rs.400 per head that we paid.
I have always enjoyed staying at Karma resorts, and the Grove was no exception.

Room Tip: All rooms have lake views. If you like a bit of lawn and garden ask for ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aney60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom !

"Water world" it is.Thank you very much for the lovely feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a great time with us and loved our resort . Soon we will be adding an international spa by the waters edge to add more to your experience. And our newly acquired House boat will be going for a full renovation to have a more contemporary feel inside, merging with the traditional looks.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, here at The Grove !!.

Best Regards
Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

the hotel venue is so good that we never felt like leaving the hotel and going to nearby places for sightseeing. the hotel is a bit far from kochi airport. 2 hrs drive by car but it is worth going once. the rooms are clean with oxygen supply(television) , tea-coffee maker and A/C. swimming pool and gym is also well maintained. Its worth visiting once.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nachiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Mr.Nachiket,

Thanks for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to note that you liked our resort for the location, facilities, cleanliness and maintenance. The main asset of our resort is our staff, who takes a lot of care and detailing to make sure that our guests are happy and things are well maintained. Once again , thank you very much and looking forward to welcoming you back soon, here at The Grove !!.

Best Regards
Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

i had stayed in this resort from feb 25th to 28th. it was a excellent stay in this grove resort with great food served and very good staff with their service.The resort is located at very beautiful location with great view to the kayal.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ajayeranholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Ajay,

Greetings from Kumarakom !

Thank you very much for your Excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a great time with us and loved our resort its location, food and the service of our staff to have a great time of your vacation.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon, back here at The Grove !!.

Best Regards
Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

we four of us(two from Austria and two from U.K) really enjoyed our three day stay at this picturesque spot located in front of the lWembanad lake with grand views from the room balcony. The swimming pool is the greatest attraction , the dining area well positioned and the whole resort gave a majestic look especially in the night with all the lights are on. The snooker table was for British snooker but needed additional inputs for a proper play. With number of games the resort is ideal for family breaks. The staff is well presented and were very helpful. Being newly acquired by Chakra additional improvements will make this resort a sought after by national and international tourists. A boat house trip and a visit to Munnar is a must.

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bcmanyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Manyan,

Greetings from Kumarakom !

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a great time with us and loved our resort to have a great time of your vacation. I am glad to note that you enjoyed our resort, the pool , the restaurant and the games and activities. We will be adding a spa soon and also will have a fully renovated house boat which we have acquired recently. I am also so glad that you loved our staff and their service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, here at The Grove !!.

Best Regards
Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a five night stay at 'The Grove', as part of our club membership. From the time we entered the resort, till we left, it was a very pleasant and warm experience.

The rooms are fantastic, very large and comfortable with complete privacy and well appointed. The staff is exceptional and eager to please and very warm and friendly. The bar and restaurant are fantastic. We indulged in the local delicacies and enjoyed them thoroughly. The prices are reasonable and we took advantage of the Happy Hours, though I feel they could be extended.

The resort has an excellent pool, as well as the overall ambience which is pleasing. The best part is that it has only 24 rooms so there is a lot of place for everyone without getting crowded.

I would recommend a vacation where one wants to come to just relax and unwind.

Room Tip: All rooms are supposedly Lake-Facing, however I recommend choosing a room in the first two blocks to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esskayw115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom !

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a great time with us and loved our resort to have a great time of your vacation. I am glad to note that you enjoyed our Happy Hours at our Bar and would like to add that we would be soon getting our license to sell imported beverages at our bar and will have a great variety of spirits and wines in our wine list.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, here at The Grove !!.

Best Regards
Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed in THE GROVE along with my wife and my friend’s family for 5 days. We had a wonderful time, especially in the pool area and the restaurant. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staffs were all very courteous and their service memorable. To mention a few staff names Divya in Front office and Marimuthu in Waterside restaurant, especially Marimuthu’s service is unforgettable.

Room Tip: Select upstairs room nearest to the lake to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padnabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChakraResorts, General Manager at Karma Chakra, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for expressing your feelings for The Grove on Tripadvisor. Your comments are lovely and its a source of inspiration for all our staff. The same has been passed on the mentioned staff, and be assured they will be rewarded too.

Thank you once again and most importantly, its great to know that you loved our place.

See you soon,

Best Regards,

Jaison Anithanam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
683 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.7 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
704 reviews
5.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.2 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Chakra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Chakra

Property: Karma Chakra
Address: #09 Block #12 Ward | near Nazreth Church, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Karma Grove)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitalizing on cool breezes and 360-degree views of Vembanad Lake and its lush banks, The Karma Grove, Kerala is located in the backwater destination of Kumarakom. In addition to a swimming pool, library, billiards room, gymnasium and concierge service, the resort features a traditional restaurant specializing in local specialties as well as North Indian, Continental and Chinese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Karma Chakra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Chakra Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing