We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I have read all the previous reviews and had booked to stay at Vivanta, Kumarakom for a night. And i must say Vivanta experience was beyond my expectations. After a warm welome at the reception, the little big surprises
started. We were there on a honeymoon and had booked a Deluxe Allure Villa. We were upgraded to Premium Temptation Villa!! And with a private
pool entirely for us it was dream come true! On the next day since the hotel was running full we were not able to get a room for late check out.
They were kind enough to give us a room for 3 hours to get relaxed. I must mention about Ravindran, the activity co ordinator. when we were sitting idle near the
pool, He came to us and offered a game a chess. Earlier in the morning he had suggested boating in the lake. They will look into each minute details to make you engrossed and at the same time happy. Since we were on Honeymoon we were gifted a cake also!
I strongly recommend this hotel for honeymooners. With its beautiful landscaping and lush greenery it's sure to blow your mind away. Thanks Sibi Mathew and Pradeep(front office Manager)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj_Rav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great feedback that you have provided for us.
We realise that many guests would cherish the special moments in their lives that they spend with us.
Hence we have trained our wonderful associates to go beyond and provide that extra touch wherever possible so that your stay here becomes indeed memorable.
Look forward to welcome you back soon to our resort yet again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2011

The hotel is in the middle of the Kerala backwaters, perfect for exploring the area. The rooms are spacious albeit not very modern and clean. The restaurant serves good food, clearly on the expensive side. A place to stay and relax for at least 2 days.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback that you have provided for our hotel
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Dolook forward to welcome you back to our property in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We wish we had stayed longer. The manager interacted with us personally. We had lunch at their restaurant. We also ate dinner and breakfast. They have a huge selection of food items and alcohol, including very expensive champgne and Scotch, which we refrained from.
Room was really cozy with outdoor shower and bathroom that was covered with a net. Toletaries in the room were superb. Nice bid TV, clean rooms and food was something to die for. We rode bicycles and did boating in a pond that is surrounded by trees. I would stay at this hotel again. There was a short cruise in the lake, great for taking pictures.
Best part was to eat the lobster like stuff (smaller than a lobster but more tasty). They called it fresh water scampi at bakers gourmet house restaurant.
We did not go to the spa, but people who did seemed to have liked it a lot.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nishendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
Whilst on a vacation ,we generally end up doing too much and tiring ourselves in the bargain whereas the idea of a vacation is to be able to relax,recuperate and rejuvenate ourselves so that we are able to cope up with the stress of our competitive lives.
Here at our beautiful resort,that is exactly what we offer- just to do nothing but mingle with nature so that you reinvent the personality within yourself and get back to your routine life with a bang.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We Went for our honeymoon to Vivanta by Taj , kumarakom,......We stayed for 4 nights & have booked the premium temptation Villa ...let me first start with the Overall cleanliness & ambiance of the hotel.....The hotel is spread across a huge area on the lakes of vembanad & it is really beautiful....Very very Green & just next to the bird sanctuary so one can hear a lot of birds chirping all the time....

Since there are so many water bodies all around so mosquitoes are bound to come ...but because of lots of maintenance by the Taj staff , only 3 mosquitoes bite me in 4 Days....which is quite an achievement !! :)

The ambiance is absolutely blissful.....They play regional flute & mohiniattam dance every night next to the Restaurant...which is quite nice ...but the problem is that they only know & play the music which no one understands .....when we requested them to play some Hindi music ...they were quite confused....never mind we enjoyed the ambiance !!

The Villa is really beautiful ...I would suggest all the honeymooners to take the Premium Temptation villa as it has got a private swimming pool which is entirely private & covered from all sides....so really good & Enjoyable experience.

The Hammock in the Premium temptation Villa doesn't have a rope to swing it...it would be great if a connecting rope could be provided to swing the hammock else there is no fun in the hammock really ....Also the quality of Shaving kits & loofah should be much better....in Taj ...it was quite low quality stuff in the Bathroom

The food was not up to the mark,needs to be better specially the a-la-cart lunch and dinner.....we had Hyderabadi Biriyani which at all didn't taste like biriyani,its not worth the value of price they charge for it......expected much better from a "Taj" Chef...

the Buffet breakfast served all kinds of dishes from north Indian to south Indian & European too...& it was really Nice...we enjoyed it !!

I would expect different restaurants like north Indian , south Indian , Thai etc etc as usually available in 5 star hotels ....inside the Taj & not a Multi-cuisine restaurant in which a single chef is expected to know all the different kinda dishes....

the Complimentary houseboat ride is very nice !!

Since the area is so huge that for ....guests they should provide a Scooty rather then a cycle for roaming around inside the hotel

The extra circular activities like fishing & rabbit watching etc was fun
The nearest beech is alleepy & is like 40 kms from the hotel & the best time to go to the beech is during sunset ...in the evening

Overall the Hotel is very good , from ambiance, privacy wise....except the Al-a-carte menu... would recommend everyone to visit once !!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudip1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had a great time us and thank you for promoting us as a honeymoon paradise.
We have taken note of the suggestions that you have provided.
We do hope that you will come back to our property in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

This Taj property was wonderful, relaxing and had top notch service. The property is intimate but with an exceptional jungle "presence. A once in a lifetime experience (except I plan to bring my husband and children back)! Each moment was a peaceful luxury. The people were delightful and the grounds spectacular. The houseboat we rented was an excellent afternoon as was the elephant ride. The only downside was the travel distance, it was a long ride from the airport and was a bit of wait to check in and out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighExpectations2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

We are extremely glad that you had a memorable stay with us.
Am sure that with our cities becoming concrete jungles by the day,the very fact that we have chosen to keep promote nature as our biggest asset is what keeps attracting our guests back to us.
Look forward to welcoming you along with your husband and children to our property yet agin very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

we stayed 3 nights in Dec. 2010. It was a perfect place for us to arrive in India and to overcome the jetlag. We were warmly welcomed by the manager, he even provided us a very early check-in without extra charge. The standard of accomodation, food and staff attendance is high and professional. The hotel is quietly located directly at the lake, again - a very nice place to stay, friendly atmosphere and very relaxing
Klaus & Birgit , Berlin-Germany

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KlausBerlin_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
We are glad that you had a memorable stay with us
We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Taj Kumarakom staff made our experience wonderful. We stayed from Dec 12-14 in the blue cottage next to the pool and arrived with our 2 children, a 7 year old boy and a 21month old girl. My son absolutely loved the bycycle and the co-ordinator for kids activites (forgot his name, sorry) would call him by name wherever he was and engage them in fishing, pot building, baking, etc. We booked a lunch cruise, which again Taj's service made all the difference, we were served the best Kerala 4 course meal I have ever had, the 3 hour cruise went by way too quickly, In fact our whole stay seemed like it went by way too quickly. The mojitos and the Ayurvedic Massages were excellent!

Due to our little girl we had some special needs. What I am impressed with is how the Taj staff makes our problems their own problems, and resolve them immediately. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us.
It is only because of our wonderful team members that we are able to provide the sort of service that we do.
We train them and empower them to create moments that the guests would cherish for a very long time
Look forward to welcome you back to the hotel very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
797 reviews
3.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
555 reviews
4.4 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.2 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $201 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing