We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon at the Taj Kumarakom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I was very happy with the place. We booked a luxury villa with private pool and I think we were given the one with the best view of the lake. Loved the outdoor shower and the private pool with jacuzzi...had a good ayurvedic massage..enjoyed riding the cycle around the property..went on all types of boat rides on the lake and even stopped by at an uninhabited island in the middle of the lake. Friendly people, Food was excellent and liked the tea and bhaji shop near the lake. Got a scare when we heard thudding sounds on the roof on just one night..but the reception immediately sent someone to check it out and it turned out to be some animal..could have been a squirrel or a monkey..but never saw any animal on the property when we were outside. A very relaxing and peaceful time spent with husband after hectic wedding preparations. I couldnt have asked for better!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiviApps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful honeymoon with us.
The calm and natural settings enhance the beauty of the resort and make it an ideal destination for a honeymoon.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort yet again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2010

We had stayed in Taj hotels on a previous trip to India, and so knew what to expect and were not disappointed! Their Kumarakum offering is stunningly beautiful, with great staff and superb food. Our room was the medium grade and was large and comfortable, with an amazing 'garden' bathroom and shower which was open to the sky! The location on the lake was superb, although some of the rooms are a few hundred meters from the restaurant and reception the availability of bicycles makes it a fun way to get around the property. A truly beautiful resort and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had a wonderful holiday with us.The idyllic natural settings that we have in our resort enhances the beauty of our resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the destination very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

No words can describe the beauty of this hotel. Everything is well above par of this hotel. They gave us newly renovated room. Very stylish interior. The chef cooked speical vegetarian meals for us. Next to bird sanctury. Lots of activities inside the hotel. Heaven on earth

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJSheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a memorable experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next visit to the destination

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We had reached Taj Kumarakom after a long 4 drive. The reception at the hotel was warm and my kids loved the fact that their welcome was with a refreshing ice-cream. Though the second half of the day became a damp noon with the sudden showers and some of the outdoor activities were cancelled, the staff at the hotel made every effort to ensure that alternate activities were organised to keep the guests expecially the young ones ...thoroughly engaged. The resort hotel has a safe environment that you feel completely at peace when your little ones venture to cycle or try their luck at angling.
The 2 days we spent were indeed too short but we came back promising ourselves that our next trip to Kerala will include another visit to the Taj Kumarakom

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kannree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.We are glad that both you and the family really enjoyed the stay with us.As you rightly mentioned,any time of the year is right to come and spend time with us since we have filled up our hotel with activities.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We had never been to the backwaters of Kerala and decided to take a vacation over there. Based on the inputs from Trip Advisor we decided to stay at the Taj resort at Kumarakom. The place was an absolute delight; quiet, serene and tranquility at its best. The lake adjoining the hotel added to its beauty and an evening sail on the lake to see the setting sun was an unforgetabble sight.
The hotel also arranged for a sail on the backwaters and one almost felt going back into the past with tiny houses and villages toting the waterside. The houseboats was yet another interesting place to visit.
The hotel has a few bikes and one can go in a group through the adjoining villages.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr0cky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you trip to the backwaters and to our beautiful resort was memorable.
We hope that you will cherish these memories for a very long time.
We believe that vacations are indeed memories that one carries through lifetime.
Hence we make that extra effort to make them memorable for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We spent two nights here on a holiday in Kerala. Great location on the shores of Lake Vembanad and we appreciated the sunset cruise and the early morning bird watching trip. Good range of other activities; the music and dance performances, against the backdrop of hundreds of diya lights reflected in the pool, made evening meals a special experience.

The rooms were beautiful and spacious with wonderful outdoor bathrooms. Good swimming pool too. Service was excellent - the travel desk manager and the leader of the bird watching trip were both particularly helpful. At times we felt some of the staff were trying a bit too hard - we didn't need to be asked quite so often if we were enjoying our stay or if everything was all right for us.

Food: the breakfast buffet was outstanding. The other meals were reasonably good but on the expensive side, and because this is a resort there was really little alternative to eating there as none of the nearby village restaurants seemed to be open.

Overall, though, we did enjoy staying here very much and appreciated the interesting history and beauty of the location as well as the style and comfort of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarletgleam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.We are glad that you had a memorable stay with us.
We are also glad that you enjoyed the numerous activities that we have in our resort
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort very soon on your next visit to Kerala.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I stayed at Taj for 2 days with my wife and 6 year old son, in Sep 10. The property is so huge that to cover it up all walking could sprain your legs! We must compliment the staff for keeping it so well maintained. And they certainly know how to do things with smile. Wonder how they have been so well trained to say 'yes' to every guests requirements. Kudos to them.

The standard rooms were decent size with a sit out balcony. The bathrooms looked worn out though. We were upgraded on day 2 and could see remarkable difference in the rooms. The room had a very large bathroom and good living room area with tables to sit out in the sun.

The place is good to sit and relax and see the world pass by. One can do actiities like fishing (they encourage to fish and then quickly throw them back in water - wonderful), to water activities (mainly boating), evening get together with all guests (hurray...we won a spices pack!), cycling etc.

What needs improvement though is the food - certainly not par with Taj standards at all - good but does not have the 'vow' factor. Also, it takes ages to reach the hotel from the airport (2 hrs + one way) ie its very far from the city. The bicycles werent well maintained, some certainly need to be replaced. The swimming pool was not guarded and the property does not have Steam/ Sauna. The biggest crime of all - in the Spa capital of India - you cannot have sub optimal spa options. We were disappointed with the limited choices.

We had booked a car for local sight seeing, but found the AC not upto mark - we were sweating and it killed the fun. On speaking to the Manager - he offered us 20% off - not something that we were looking for, but a nice gesture.

That however, does not take away anything. It was a wonderful and relaxing trip. Would I go back again? Yes. Definite yes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay_Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for your feedback.Whilst I am glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and would come back ,I am sorry that we did not meet up to your expectations in certain aspects.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort whereby we will also have an opportunity to make amends for the negative experiences that you have had.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
797 reviews
3.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
555 reviews
4.4 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.2 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $201 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing