We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise for me!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank there4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wodonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

The Taj Garden Retreat is one of the best hotels we stayed at (in Kerala we visited the Taj Malabar which was fine and the Taj hotel in Kovalam which definitely doesn't deserve its 5 stars). After one night on the rice boat and three nights in one of the villas we felt like extending our holiday for another month! The accomodation was fantastic, service great not to mention the beautiful location and peace and tranquility that surrounded us throughout the whole stay. It's definitely a must go if you're looking for an escape from the hustle and bustle of every day life.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank MagdaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2007

Decided to stay at a Taj having travelled much of India and wanted to treat ourselves. Unfortunately I was not impressed by this hotel at all - except for the cottage we stayed in which was clean and well maintained.

However, the continental food in the restaurant (of which there is only one) was terrible, cheap and poorly presented. I realise that you can't expect great continental food when in India but for a Taj, it should have been much better. I could have done better myself in the hotel room by buying stuff in from outside and putting it all together.

The pool was dirty and chipped, and smelt terrible as the lake and ponds upon which the resorts sits were a stagnant luminous green colour. This, mixed with the massive amounts of bird droppings on the paths, made for a really off-putting aroma.

I am not the type of person to moan about things, but if you are looking for a Taj hotel with the usual 5 star trimmings, then don't book at this resort. It would be a 3 star hotel (and that's being generous) in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauras231279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2007

The trip to this hotel was a disaster...

DOWNGRADING THE ROOM: First the hotel management tried to downgrade the room we paid a lot of $$$ for. After a bit of discussion, they showed us another room which was better. Finally, after much more argument, we got what we paid for.

LACK OF HYGIENE: Both of us got sick at the hotel. Since our package was all-inclusive of meals, we only ate food from the hotel. One expects that the premium paid for a '5-star' should mean they are in a sanitary environment. Many other guests became sick too.

CHARGING FOR THE DOCTOR: Once we got sick, they called a doctor. The doctor charged us 3x the normal premium that most doctors charged. He first asked our occupations before trying to over-charge.

UNCLEAN POOL: The pool was never cleaned nor maintained.

The property looks nice on the outside. And the backwaters at Kumarakom are worth the visit. One of the hotel staff took us on a speed boat trip through the backwaters and even took us to a better hotel to show us what we could have gotten.

I recommend not staying at this hotel. For the price, you could do a lot better. The Taj brand premium has suffered in recent years and this is across India - not just at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ARK_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

Stayed at the Taj Garden Retreat for one night and ended up spending the entire time at the neighboring resort! Had high expectations after visiting the Taj Lake Palace in Udaipur and the Taj Malabar in Cochin. This was awful! The hotel needs serious updating. The room was musty smelling and poorly decorated. The grounds did not look like a 5 star resort and the pool, gym, and aruvedic (sp?) center were old and dingy. The food was ok, but the staff had dirty and torn clothing, which seriously undermined confidence. I did not expect this from the Taj hotel group.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2006

I'm from the US, but lived in India for two months. For my last weekend, I decided to stay at the Taj in Kerala (I'd heard Kerala was the "Hawaii of India" and wanted to do it right). This resort was a tremendous disappointment. The service was poor (waitstaff hammered and banged outside of our room's door the entire time; receptionist chatted on the phone excessively as we tried to check in; service workers uniforms were very dirty; pool was dirty and unkept; food was bad and waitstaff stared awkwardly; etc.) The accommodations are not worth what you pay--fitness center is a tiny, dark, dusty room with a single piece of dated equipment. Spa center is sub-par for what you can get in Kerala. If you do end up stuck here, I would highly recommend at least leaving the premises for dinner. Go to the Kumarakom Lake Resort. It's very nice...great service and tasty dinner buffets.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank bec54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
766 reviews
3.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
548 reviews
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.0 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $190 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing