We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kumarakom
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,544)
Filter reviews
1,544 results
Traveler rating
1,056
332
88
29
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,056
332
88
29
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird sanctuary vembanad lake rabbit boat ride fish feeding every evening heritage property kids activities luxury villa the general manager chai heritage room local cuisine lagoon view private pool various activities water bodies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,544 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel,service is superb. Staff is lead by an able management.you name a thing and they will ensure you get it. Food is good. Breakfast spread was good . .location is fantastic. Staff at hotel is very friendly. It is a home away from home.
Sunil , Noyle, Anand , Anulu, besides Mr Ashirbad were very courteous.Awesome experience.
We were feeling bad on the day we were returning.

Room tip: Bigger TV should be provided in the room, with Netflix connection
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank ashokdheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mr Dheri,

A big hello from the whole team and our sincere apologies for the tardiness in responding back to you.

Sunil, Noyal, Anand, Anulu and others join me in thanking you for your kind remembrance and we are again very humbled that you choose to stay with us on a special occasion in the family.

Sometimes a great team is more important that good leadership and I am very lucky to be backed by an exceptional and committed team.

Earnestly looking forward to your return,

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Trip dedicated to my daughter , she had a fantastic time , lived every bit of the resort and through my enjoyed the activities

She said this is the best vacation she ever had

Hats off to the entire crew at Taj Kumorokam

Diya Prabakar

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank prabakary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ms. Diya,

Thank you for writing a review that has touched our hearts the most.

Children are our greatest joys and being told by a young traveler as your daughter that they had an indeed memorable time is the best payback that this business blesses us with.

You are most welcome to bring her back again and we will figure how we can beat the memories of her past holiday with us with something even better!

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is an appreciation note for Noyal and his team. We loved our stay at the hotel and have already decided to come back to it soon.

We loved the food
We loved the hospitality
We loved the property
We loved the ambience
We loved the serenity
We loved the staff
We loved the water bodies running through the resort

Taj offers a perfect spot for watching the sun set. Has a lot of activities that the family can indulge in. Including a visit to the in-house bird sanctuary. We had booked a room but were upgraded to a cottage with pond view, upon arrival. The rooms are spacious and nicely designed. Everything was an experience for us!

Keep up the great job team!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TwinkleDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest @TwinkeDelhi,

Its my greatest joy in letting my most deserving deputy, Noyal Jacob join me in expressing our gratitude for such a wonderfully worded feedback. Of course a leader is as good as his team gets and Noyal's team also joins me in thanking you for your kind remembrance.

In our business, there is no greater achievement than being told that we have been contributory to a guest's stay being more delightful.

We are glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we hope to see you back again soon,

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

The five star rating only for the beauty of the property premises and the courteous and friendly attitude of the restaurant staff.

Stayed here on 14 th January 2020 with my wife. The property is spread across 15 acres with beautiful landscapes and lots of trees and plants all around. The air is so fresh and comforting especially for city dwellers like us. There is a beautiful lagoon with a small island in the centre which spans almost half of the property. It gives a warm and serene feeling at night when the entire buildings are lit up and and diyas placed around the shores of lagoon. We had booked for pool and lagoon view room but were upgraded to premium villa with lagoon view- Thank You. Though check in was at 2 pm they let us check in at 12.15, a couple of hours early. The front office manager Shri Noyal Jacob explained to us about the Baker Family and about the history of the bunglow. The room was great. Bathroom and toiletries were awesome. Towels were clean but old and faded. Bed was good. There was a mini bar and adequate drinking water bottles. View from the sit out is mind blowing , you can see the rising sun and lots of beautiful birds . There is a good swimming pool which is surrounded by huge trees all around. Life guard support was there throughout. Clean towels were provided. Pool and premises are constantly cleaned by staff. There is a small restaurant by the side of the vembanad late called chaayakkada. Tea and snacks were delicious. The two main restaurants are Currymeen and Vembanad bristo. The food were delicious. All the staff here deserve special mention especially Mr. Debarun, Mr Suresh, Ms. Anulu, Ms. Devi and Mr.Anand. They had attended us so well. There is also cultural programme in the evening which you can enjoy at the time of your dinner.

Now coming to the negatives.
This resort is situated very close to the Kumarakom bird sanctuary. But those coming by car from Trivandrum side is unable to see the name board of the resort. We tried to get in touch with the landline number given in the website but no one picked up. Atlast one auto driver helped me out in finding the place.
We had expected a warm welcome at the resort but we didn't get one. Welcome drink was tender coconut water which was not tasty. The receptionists can be little more cheerful and friendly.
At night we were unable to lock the front door. After informing the reception the maintenance crew were send in. They worked for about half an hour and atlast we could lock the room. Again in the morning I couldn't open the front door from inside and we were trapped inside. Again the maintenance crew came and worked on it for some time. It indeed ruined the entire mood. Hearing all the sounds of hammering and knocking while you are on a vacation is really disturbing. From 8 am to 11 am basically no one at the reception picked up the telephone. When this was informed to the receptionist later on, she paid little attention.

No one even cared to apologise for the difficulties we faced at the resort.

This is our third visit to a Taj property within past one year after Goa and Varkala but this wasn't the best.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank drharishremya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dr. Remya,

Let me begin this by thanking you from the bottom of my heart for the love and loyalty you have for Taj Hotels which is evident in your very detailed and wonderfully worded review.

Noyal, Nabarun, Anulu, Devi and Anand among the other colleagues join me in thanking you for making a special mention. We are also very glad that the resorts facilities, amenities, history and other aspects appealed to your senses. Thank you much for the same.

I am equally concerned to take a note of your constructive feedback where you point out to the areas where we can improve be it the fact that arriving guests from Trivandrum side could miss seeing the resort or the unfortunate aberration with the door lock. We would use all the areas you have pointed out to - particularly those that involve human interface as opportunities for improvements. Do accept my since apologies for your lackluster experiences.

Hoping to see you back again someday soon,

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

One of the best places I stayed. Beautiful property. Very nice and comfortable cottages which are lagoon facing and private sit out. Very nice and helpful staff. The place is spread out over acres so have to walk a bit to the restaurant or water front. Buggy available if you wish. Nature at it's best. Many types of birds seen. Availed their houseboat for 4 hours ride with lunch, super. Also took their complimentary sunset cruise. I have everything superlative for this place. Will visit again if I can afford :-)

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank drddas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Kumarakom-Resort, General Manager at Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dr Das,

Greetings from Taj Kumarakom Resort & Spa and kindly pardon my tardiness in responding back to your feedback.

The title of your review "awesome means awesome" is truly humbling as we strongly believe we are not a six sigma organization but hold on very dearly to our values of trust, awareness and joy which make up T, A and J. This resort which started as a family estate back in 1881 became a Taj resort 27 years back as a part of our commitment to putting Kerala on the global tourism map when it was barely known.

Its kind words of encouragement from guests as you who help fuel that journey from time to time.

We earnestly look forward to your return,

Kind regards,

Ashirbad Praharaj
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews