We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful week”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at the Vivanta by Taj Kumarakom for 5 days in December 2013 and enjoyed every minute. As everyone has said, the property is so beautiful and tranquil, meaning that you can truly relax. The General Manager, Mr Jayanta Das makes the effort to know every guest by name and his attention to detail is superb. Our stay was also enhanced by Mr Prince, the Food and Beverage Manager and Chef Shahab, who gave their personal recommendations from the extensive menus. Chef's daily cookery demonstrations are well worth while and inspired us to bring some tastes of Kerala back to the UK. Don't believe any reviews that criticise the food, we have eaten all over India and not found better, even at the Taj Mahal Palace in Mumbai!
Our only slight criticism was of the room. It was in the main building and enormous, with a small dining room and two bathrooms, but had no external windows, so we couldn't enjoy the wonderful views of the lake. It also smelled of wood preservative or mothballs, which was slightly disconcerting, but not unpleasant. For our next visit, we will select one of the lakeside villas.
The complimentary boat trip on the lake was good, but for the real Keralan backwaters experience, take the speedboat tour, which was brilliant with so much wildlife to see - kingfishers everywhere and even goats in a boat, it was so much better than the bird sanctuary and we didn't have to get up at 6.00am to see the best of it.

Room Tip: Villas are better than the main hotel and in our opinion the lakeside ones are probably the best val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    267
    64
    23
    32
See reviews for
535
467
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Taj Vivanta is a Very Good Hotel and we enjoyed our 3 night stay thoroughly! However, this stay was further transformed into a memorable experience because of the following reasons :

* Personal Leadership of GM, Jayanta Das - He was clearly involved in both the flawless running of the resort and also taking time to interact with each guest individually. He welcomed us, helped upgrade us to the Villa rooms, advised us on the must-dos on the resort and helped us at each stage of our stay. A great ambassador for the Taj Group and with a great sense of humour.
* Hospitable staff - Kudos to Selva & Prince from the restaurant and Raveendran, the activity coordinator. And so many more
* Activity oriented resort - Kids loved the multiple activities - boating, fishing, pottery & feeding the ducks, geese & rabbit.
* Lovely spot on the lake with their own jetty - we did the complimentary sunset cruise; a day cruise through the resort and a short shikara ride through the smaller canals
* The resort shares its boundary with the Bird sanctuary and it is great experience to walk down to the bird sanctuary in the morning and click some amazing pictures
* The spa is basic but the massages are very good; dont miss out and book early as they only have 2 rooms
* Dont miss the evening tea sessions at the lakeside - great conversations over a memorable sunset
* Spacious Villa rooms with open air bathrooms; sitouts & indoor seating area

All in all, a memorable vacation and I will surely be back- just for the sake of the incredible staff

Room Tip: Villa Rooms are worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RakeshShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I were married in Kumarakom in Jan 2014 and held our mendhi/previous night dinner event at the Taj Vivanta Kumarakom. Some of our guests also stayed at the Taj, even though the event was held at another resort in Kumarakom.

We were originally attracted to the Taj Kumarakom because of its small size and beautiful, rustic grounds. The grounds are adjacent to a bird sanctuary and the overgrown, nature-inspired look of the grounds of the resort bridges the two spaces well. The back lawn on the lake is breathtaking and was the perfect spot for our event which took place in the late afternoon and into evening, taking advantage of the gorgeous sunset. The only downside of holding the event on the back lawn was that there were no public bathrooms in the area, so all our guests had to tramp through one of our guests rooms.

The resort was helpful in accommodating our requests, including upgrading some of our guests to much nicer rooms near the location of the event (probably because of the poorly planned bathroom situation, but regardless the upgrade was appreciated). The suite rooms with private pools are spectacular. Not only are the amenities of the rooms lovely, but the traditional/authentic decor is stylish and lovely. The standard rooms along the lagoon are larger than normal hotel rooms, which was nice, but they were not stylish the way the suites were.

The resort is much smaller than other resorts in the area, which makes planning an event here a bit difficult. The staff at the resort were not able to plan the event details so we were put in touch with an event planner for details like the tent, tables, chairs, lighting, decor, etc. The planner was good- very precise and responsive and clearly had a strong relationship with the resort and good knowledge of the local area and how to source things.

My only disappointment with both the planner and the Taj was that there were unanticipated costs associated with almost every aspect of the event. Food and drink were more expensive than expected, the location was more expensive because of transport costs to the back side of the resort, etc. Discussions about price were not very transparent from the start and there was little room for negotiation (which was surprising for an event of the size, especially given the other resort we held events at were much more accommodating about this kind of thing) so we felt a little duped at the end of it all.

The absolute highlight of the place is the food. I cannot recommend the chef highly enough. We stuck with a traditional Kerala style menu for the event and it was excellent. I think all our guests ate double what they expected. I dream of the beet root pachadi and beef fry. The food was better than home cooking, better than any other hotel or restaurant i've been to in Kerala. It is reason enough to visit!

Despite some plusses and some minuses, we were really happy with our decision to hold the event at the Taj Vivanta and happy with the service we received overall! Thank you to Prince, Aaaron and the rest of the team!

Room Tip: The suites with private pools are expensive but really lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nan1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here in January 2013........this place is so beautiful and we enjoyed it a lot........rooms are very spacious, neat and clean.......we were fortunate to get an up gradation to villa room and that was truly amazing experience......food was ok.......service was very good and all staff were very polite and helpful....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shishir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I were on Kerala trip. We stayed at Taj Vivanta from 13th to 16th Jan. it is the most peaceful and tranquil place for holiday. All their staff starting from GM are very caring and polite.
Bird sanctuary is just by the side of property and you can have most refreshing morning walk.
Evening boat ride arranged by the resort was fantastic.
We had opted for family package and we're upgraded to suite. Thanks to Taj Vivanta management.
As no of rooms/cottages are limited, spa is run by an outside agency. The therapists were good. However spa treatments are limited and it's ambience and facilities is not commensurate with the taj brand.
In case you are looking for peaceful vacation and not too much concerned with the budget, it is highly recommended resort.
P C Jain

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padam46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by friends (who stayed in a villa), but we were unfortunately very disappointed... We stayed in a room in the main building, and found it horrible given the awful smell of the wood polish! They had put an incense burner in the room to try to cover it up, but my friend coughed all night. We also discovered during the night that there were animals crawling around - I tried to be hopeful and say they were birds in the rafters, but in the morning we found droppings in the hallway, so they must have been rats... A cat also managed to pee on a chair in the hallway, which my friend sat in... We mentioned all these facts to the hotel manager, who told us he would look into them, but he never got back to us, instead, avoided us until we left... poor manager.
The christmas dinner was also a disappointment. Having been informed it was at 19h30 we then had to wait until 20h before they opened the buffet. The buffet could have been good, but all the decent food was cooked to order, ONE ORDER AT A TIME... so we had to stand around waiting for ages. Then, if you wanted to order a drink, or a Naan bread to go with your meal - you could again WAIT, and WAIT, and WAIT.... Same thing at breakfast the next day - had to order coffee and butter three times before we got any.... given the number of waiters around, we found the service appalling.
On a positive side, the complimentary boat trip was really lovely, and the games that they organised for the kids in the afternoon after the boat trip were really brilliant, the kids loved it!
The pool was a real disappointment also. Hardly any sun beds, too many trees around to get much sun anyway, and not big enough to actually swim in...
So all in all, not much to recommend...

Room Tip: Do not stay in the main building, it smells awful and has rats
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisaP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed from January 22nd to 24th. The property is amazing. Just 28 rooms on a 15 Acres spread. The General Manager Mr. Jayanta Das is caring and ensures personalised attention for all guests. Hat's Off to Mr. Jayanta & the entire Taj Kumarkom team,
If budget is not an issue, please stay at Premium Indulgence villa with pool. It's ultimate luxury

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subodhbaroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
685 reviews
3.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
2.2 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
333 reviews
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing