We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, great for a quick retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Relaxing, great for a quick retreat”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having never been to Kerala I was super excited when I planned a trip to Kumarakom and Kovalam for my anniversary. Kumarakom is about a 2.5 hour drive from the airport, it's quite a scenic drive but nothing special. We got to the hotel- I had mentioned that it was a special occasion on the phone earlier and being Taj members, we got a 3 level upgrade!

The villa was beautiful, spacious, well decorated but quite simple and overlooking the lake. The best part was the open air shower which was lovely. The highlight of this hotel is the staff, they are so attentive and even called our next hotel- Taj in Kovalam to inform them it was our anniversary and put in an upgrade request. Although a small property, it is quaint but not luxurious or much to do but a great getaway for one night.

It was basically empty when we went but very peaceful and calm, the food was great and the staff was excellent.

Room Tip: I wanted a villa with a private pool which we weren't able to get but they looked beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustBug001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    274
    65
    24
    34
See reviews for
548
472
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was at the Vivanta Taj Kumarakom for 2 nights and must say I regret not staying for more nights. Hailing from Mumbai City - the harsh city life, I was totally taken in by the natural wake up call - " birds chirping in the morning".. the toilet in the outset of the villa, with actual cooing of the birds, was an amazing experience.

Though one must be scared of mosquitoes in monsoon and in the evening, just loved the food, and mocktails and myriads of coconut water provided b y the hotel staff..

Kottayam just 30 mins from then hotel hs 2 amazing churches, one Syrian church and the mother mary church and the churches are almost 450 years old and have maintained the frescoes as well the paintings with vegtable dyes a must see by all tourists.

For all staunch hindus - the 4 shiva temple darshan will lead to a easy moksha or nirvana as they say there..

Speed boating by the taj speed boatman or the agre Rs 300 per hour canal cruise of paddle boating in the lake within the resort... its paradise on earth.. kids can have a merry time geese feeding, wherein honeymooners can cuddle up to some private time.

I was a sole traveller, but I really enjoyed myself.. and of not to missthe 'monkey man" made from towels hanging on my bed stand.. my bed partner.. I loved every moment with you Taj Kumarakom. special mention to the staff as well as the GM Mr Jayanta Das.. such endearing people and memories I had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chimpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, india
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Supposedly the relaxation home of the britishers and it certainly has the feel of it too. Feels good still. Nice restaurant. Open and near the water body making you feel lighter. Taj again at its best. In terms of value, location, Hospitality. Worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankajdaga79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Food, stay, warmth of the staff, beauty of the place all deserves a 5 star. Its truly one of the best hotels i have visited in india. Make sure you do a walk early in the morning to the near by bird sanctuary. 2 nights and 3 days is the most apt for this place. you can all ways board a bus to the near by local village for some essential goods which is also a good experience. My stay one of the most relaxing experience i had so far.

Room Tip: If you can find an all inclusive deal for your stay which includes food an stay, its the best you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varghesejimmyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service . Well maintained. Nice day events and outings. Food was perhaps an area for improvement though good. The boat trips are a highlight. Especially recommend a private small boat ride to the villages thru the back water canals. Overall very memorable.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights which was too long! It's really only 2/3 night stay place. Initial thoughts a lovely place & setting. We had cottages facing a lake, they were nice & traditional, although the one our sons had smelt quite damp & fusty. The General manager was a bit over enthusiastic & constantly tried to get us to take part in activities & we found this a little bit 'Butlins', though his intentions were good.
The biggest downside was the pool. It's a small area & you have to sunbathe under covered shades to avoid being covered in bird droppings! Our youngest son spent a lot of time in the pool & went on to get a very severe bacterial ear infection which we believe was due to the pool having bird guano constantly in it! With hindsight I would avoid using it!! (He's on his third lot of antibiotics!)
The place comes into its own at night with lighting of lamps around the lake - truly beautiful! The food was fantastic & the best we had all holiday. Great Choice & wonderful flavours. Also fab breakfast every day & watching the chef cook was brilliant! The service from all the staff was truly excellent & very friendly, they made the place special. (Especially in the restaurant). The evening entertainment was fabulous - indian dancing & music which repeated every other night, hence my view it is a 2 night stay place.
We took a canoe ride up the back waters & this I'd highly recommend. The boat trip on
the Vembanad lake was disappointing as too large a lake to see much except palm trees on the edges & it was a very
short trip!
Worth a visit but only a short one as not much to do & definitely NOT a sunbathe & swim place!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The villa (with a pool) was simply the best hotel room I have stayed in. It’s magical having your own private pool and you won’t be disappointed. The staff are also fantastic and make you feel very welcome. The free boat trip, pottery lesson and live music all adds to the experience.

The only negative is that some of the finer details were missing for a five star hotel. My general feeling was that some renovation was due, although this was more along the lines of a ‘fresh lick of paint’ rather than major renovation. The birds by the lake are also an issue as the smell was noticeable and the lake did look dirty during the day.

Saying this, I would certainly recommend this hotel. You will have a wonderful stay and take back some very happy memories.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
702 reviews
3.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
714 reviews
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing