We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit this property to know what is perfection...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have never seen such a perfect place in my life right from room, people to service. It is great to experience that you don't have to ask for anything and everything goes as per schedule.

Moment we entered in the property, wet towels with coconut water served with staff ready to take over luggage and check-in completed. Post this, property and our room was shown and explained; I was feeling as if I am the probable buyer for them...Good job by front office staff Thomas. He told us so much to do that I asked him to allow me to write it. But, a printed schedule was already in the room and is replaced on daily basis.

Staff is very courteous and found Bibin in restaurant really helpful.

My daughter lived each minute busy in some activity or other. There is one attraction which I did not noticed while browsing the website of hotel i.e. river at the back. It is huge like ocean and loved it for sunset.

Overall, it was experience and will remain in my memories...ever....

Room Tip: I did not find pool facing rooms exciting. Top 2 categories are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachit a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review of the property.We are indeed humbled as a team to recieve such an overwhelming response.This only helps us serve our guests with much more passion.
We recognise that a vacation is special in each and every individual's busy life today and the memories that one carries associated with them.
We look forward to welcoming you aslo your near and dear ones back very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was the first holiday i took wit my hubby post our wedding u can say this was our honeymoon..the team at Taj made it perfect n memorable. They welcomed us with perfect hospitality and to make it special upgraded us to the villa. Everyday the team did something like a personalised candle lit dinner..to a Rose water bath etc to make us feel special. The pool n spa was a perfect relaxing point. The sunset with coffee/tea n banana fritters by the lake was blissful. Being next to the bird sanctuary gave us a chance to see many birds n feel right amongst nature. Food was perfect..loved all the dishes we ate n we tried many...was perfect holiday and recommend guests shud stay at Taj. I will defy be coming back soon for another vacation there. Keep it up n Cheers to the team!!

Room Tip: The Luxury Villas are large..airy and lovely. Quite n Peaceful...a perfect room to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pootan1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your response and wonderful feedback for the resort.
We are so glad that you had a memorable honeymoon with us.
Whenever a guest celebrates an occassion with us,it gives us an opportunity to make it special for them.Even otherwise,we try and look for small ways in which we could add to one's vacation experience.
We are really glad that you will remember this for a long time.
We look forward to welcoming you back for many more occassions in your life

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

2 night stay here as part of an 8 day Kerala tour with my wife and 6 year old son. Received an upgrade to a suite when we arrived which was great. Room was nice and spacious with a pleasant sit out garden area. Staff very helpful and attentive per usual Taj standards. My only negative point would be that the price of food and drinks feels high, even by Taj standards; For example compared to the Taj Kovalam which was a better quality hotel in my view. Overall though, good couple of days, my son loved the fishing and the other kids activities.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank AlnMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback of the resort.
We are glad that you had a relaxing time at the resort.
We are also happy that your son enjoyed his activities with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort yet again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited Taj Kumarakom during the monsoon in Kerala. Wrong season to visit, it rained a lot. On reaching the hotel we got a local drink which was very refreshing. As soon as we entered the hotel, we saw a vintage colonial architecture. There is a nice water body, quite large in which guests could experience boating. But I wouldn't try boating in monsoon as it could start raining at any time. The other water based activity is fishing. The water body was filled with different kinds of fish. The fishing rods were basic, a string(strong one) with a hook attached to a bamboo stick. One of the staff claimed he saw many otters near the water body one night though we didn't see any. There is a good swimming pool, a gym and one restaraunt. There is a nearby bird sanctuary. At night the staff lights earthern diyas all around the jetty. The rooms are amazing, what one would expect from Taj, though I wouldn't recommend walking straight out of your balcony or you might fall into the jetty. The nearest city is Kumarakom. There is also an excellent boat ride before dinner which is a must-go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExpertAdvice_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback of the property.
We are glad you had a tranquil experience with us.
The unique aspect about our resort is that the calming effect is not beatable since even if we are full,we have only 60 guests in house in a spread of 15 acres which gives a feeling of a lot of space to all our guests
We are glad you enjoyed all the activities within the resort too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent 7 nights at this outstanding property to mark my wife's milestone birthday. We could not have chosen a better place to simply chill out and be thoroughly papered by the wonderful team ably led by Mr. Sibi Mathew. His front line managers, Aaron and Prince ensured that all our needs were met and provided enough surprises to make this a most memorable birthday for my wife. The location, the rooms and the food were of an extremely high standard. Internet service was not particularly brilliant but the IT specialist went out of his way to ensure rapid fixes when these were needed. All the staff personally ensured that my 83 year old mother was well looked after and was always comfortable. Thank you for a most wonderful and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was an extremely pleasant experience to meet you and maam and spend the time together that we did.We are extremely glad that you and the family carried back fond memories of the vactaion.We do hope to have many more visitors from South Africa in the near future.
We strongly believe that the personal interaction goes a long way in making our guests feel that this is a home away from home.
We do look forward to welcome you back as also your near and dear ones

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to this unique and tranquil property, and yet again we find ourselves running out of superlatives very quickly. It is a peaceful haven, and there is always the feeling of virtually having the place to yourselves as a result of its clever design and optimum use of its beautiful location. However, it is the approach of Sibi the manager and all of his team (without exception) to all of their guests that takes it to another level - it is an absolute model of customer service excellence. Everyone seems to be confident in their role, very personable and committed to maximising the quality of service that the hotel is able to provide. Of course, a peaceful haven in beautiful natural surroundings doesn't appeal to everyone, but if it does this is a peerless choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and review of the resort.
We were indeed delighted to have you at our resort again and make it a memorable journey for you this time too.
As you mention,for someone who is looking out for peace in tranquil surroundings,our hotel is the ideal setting.
We are aslo glad that our associates could leave you with excellent memories of your experience.
We do hope to welcome you back next year again for a holiday with us

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Kumarakom is a tourist village in Kerala in India. It is a cluster of small islands on the Vembanad backwaters. It houses the popular Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary.

We found the beautiful birds inside resort.
Resort is very beautiful, I can't able to define the resort beauty in words. Every thing is very beautiful and close to nature.

All the staff, activity centre manager, reception team, room service team, etc, they all are very good and they serve you with smile.

We enjoyed the 45 min complementary backwater boat tour.

Nice experience, children enjoyed every activity.

Thanks to Taj team for making our visit memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kp4434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your feedback and review of your experience with us.
We are indeed glad that you had a remarable experience with us and that you have thoroughly enjoyed the natural settings that we promote here.
Nature has a balming effect which cannot be substituted.
As you rightly mention,this effect is to be experienced and felt rather than be put in words
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort yet again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
818 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
566 reviews
4.4 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#3 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $213 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing