We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome holiday at the backwaters !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This resort is just awesome... Haven't been to a such a beautiful place.. The rooms are big and amazingly done.. The staff is very friendly and polite..the resort has a canal running around it where you can go boating... Visit to kumarakom is not complete unless you stay at Vivanta by Taj. The food is also delicious and rich. Strongly Recommended !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaurav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your experience with us.
We are indeed honoured to have been recognised by you as one of the finest locations to stay in Kumarakom.
I am sure it will encorage a lot of visitors to firm upon our hotel when they choose to holiday at Kumarakom.
Our motto has been really simple - to keep it small,close to nature and provide a warm and homely touch.
Am glad we could leave you with a lasting memory
Look forward to welcome you back to ourresort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited Feb 13 - Feb 15 2013. Absolutely perfect service by staff right from check in to check out. They took care of almost everything a couple could need. Situated on the banks of Lake Vembanad this place offers a perfect sunset. The resort offers so many activities to keep guests busy. We stayed for two nights and wanted to stay one more day after the initial stay of two days. Its very near to bird sanctuary and offers a guided tour to same in the morning. Resort has an open restaurant. Food is great. It offers a beautiful lagoon side view which is bettered at night with diya lighting across the lagoon. Though, at times, gnats and insects keep busy guests guarding their servings since they are attracted to the lighting.

Room Tip: Superior Charm has a better view of the lagoon. Better than the delux ones. Delux one offers open b...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xploresky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are really encouraged by the wonderful review that you have posted for us
We are indeed glad that we could exceed your expectations and make your stay with us indeed memorable.
We have indeed kept it small here so that we could provide more attention to our resident guests.
There are times of the year when we end up refusing business.However we have retained the same inventory so that we could leave our guests with an unmatched experience.
We do hope that you will spread the good word and we look forward to welcome you back again

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had the most amazing stay at Vivanta by Taj in Kumarakom.
Location is ideal, next to a bird sanctuary, and on the shores of Lake Vembanad.
From the welcoming check-in to the helpful check-out, you will experience a seamless, pleasant, luxurious and calm journey. Everything is taken care of. Just relax and enjoy, that seems to be the motto!
Rooms are wonderful. Tastefully decorated. Lots of amenities.
Plenty of services and activities proposed. Cycling, bird watching, boat rides, and so on and so forth.
All staff seem to go the extra mile for guests to feel like kings and queens. Every request, small or big, is entertained with the highest professionalism.
28 rooms amongst 15 acres: you'll feel privileged to be in this part of Kerala's famous backwaters.
Mesmerizing experience, truly.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, premium temptation villas are just out of this world. The private pool is a de...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a splendid review of the hotel.
We are indeed glad that you had a memorable time at our hotel.
We do realise that vacations are infact a special time in everybody's life.
In the tireless run to fulfill the missions of life,vacations are the only period,wherein one tends to re-invent themselves,spend quality time with one's near ones as also rejuvinates oneself.
We are glad that we could play our part in making your vacation special
We do look forward to welcome you back very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wonderful experience with the room as well as the service. The entire staff was very co-operative and friendly. Property was too good with only some 28 rooms in their 30 acres. The Pool Villa was excellent There were a lot of activities to keep one engaged throughout the day. The staff took extra care to make our Anniversary special. Overall a mesmerizing experience. Special thanks to Aaron, Nitya and the rest

Room Tip: Premium Temptation Villa With Private Pool
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhijeet1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your noteworthy review.We are indeed glad that we could make your special occassion even more memorable.
We realize that one tends to carry these small memories a long way in life.Therefore we make every effort that we could to make it special
We look forward to welcome you back very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I planned for a 4 day stay at VBT Kumarakom. While many of our friends advised against staying at one location for 4 days, we went ahead with it based upon feedback of this property from trusted sources.

I thank God for the choice we made!

As soon as we entered the property we were greeted by warm hospitality and tender coconut water. To add pleasure to the whole thing, we were upgraded to Villa for our stay!!

The property is spread across 15 Acres and has just very few rooms. Each guest has almost half acres personal space that is dotted with ponds, lagoons and canals. The environment is so natural that the only sound you can here is of birds twittering around you!

The property itself has hordes of activities to do from Bird Sanctury visit, Pottery, Boat Rides, Cycling, Feeding Birds etc. To add to it, the guests are entertained and enlightened by high quality regional classical music and dance in the evening!

The restaurant deserves a special mention as the staff goes out of way to customize every small request for your food and drinks!

Even the housekeeping staff were courteous enough to teach us few towel arts they make for you!!

This is a place to be pampered, to be as close to nature as possible and to redeem your inner peace and connect with nature.

Special Mention: Sibi who runs the show in the most amazing way! Babu the Towel Artist and Rahul the front desk with best advice.

Room Tip: Lagoon View or Villa Rooms
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sabyasachi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.We are glad you had an indeed positive experience with us.
We are very happy to note that you could redeem your inner peace with us.That is indeed the beauty of nature and hence we promote that in abundance at our resort.
As you mentioned,if the motto of your vacation is to be able to relax and unwind and regain your energy ,even a period of 4 days seems to be short.
Most often in life ,we do not find the time to do the things that we wish to do and that is where such breaks become very important.
We are glad you enjoyed all the activities at the resort too.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Recently stayed at the Taj Kumarakom and had a great time. It had been a very long time since I had taken a vacation and that too just with my wife. After a very busy last 8-10 months, we were looking for a place where we could just relax and spend great time together. Luckily, we made the right choice and came to Taj Kumarakom. Its a large property, which has been beautifully mantained and has a small number of guest rooms/villas. That way the property appears very open with a central lagoon and is very peaceful. A great place to just relax, read a book, go to the pool, the ayurveda spa or have a nice meal at the open restaurant. All in all a very refreshing and great experience. They also arrange a canoe ride to go in the actual backwaters, which was very nice. The canoe offers a nice way of enjoying the water than going in a fast motorboat. We also got to see the rice paddy fields and a number of birds that flock in the kumarakom sanctuary. I would strongly recommend this place for a wonderful stay. I was there on Jan 26 and was impressed to see that the staff organizes a flag hoisting every year with all employees there following which warm and tasty seviyan payasam was served to all guests and employees. A special word for the reservations incharge Mr Linzo and the chief manager, Mr Sibi Mathew, with whom I interacted alot, but at the sametime all staff was very courteous and warm. Great place to go in God's own country - Kerala.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dg18972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your heartfelt appreciation of the resort.We are indeed glad that you enjoyed every aspect of the resort.
What delights us most is that you got what you desired from your vacation.That is what we aspire to provide for each and every guest who stays with us.The small inventory ensures that all our guests have a lot of personal space and privacy.
We are glad you mention the flag hoisting ceremony as well.We in the tourism industry try to represent our country in the best manner possible and highlight the days important to us as a country so that our guests and employees do not miss out on it
We look forward to welcome you back very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have never written a review about a hotel before. I have often been impressed but didn’t feel the need to do so because other visitors would have posted favourable comments.
However I have to write a comment about this hotel. We arrived by houseboat from the back waters & were expecting to find a resort that ticked all the right stars. However this was a higher level than hotels can be compared. The place was built with harmony in the landscape. There was no in your face eye opening infinity pool when you arrived. Not that there is anything wrong with that it is just that this was developed to a much higher level.
A golf cart (no there is no golf here) collected use from the jetty & took us down the long path to the hotel. Here we entered a magical kingdom of forests lakes & plants. Lemon yellow cottages were spaced at different intervals that blended in with the tropical colours. The driver gave us a brief description of how this had once been the home of a British Missionary Henry Baker.
We checked in at the main building & were taken to our cottage. The rooms were beautiful bright cheerful colours & our front windows opened onto the large lake. We were given a list of 101 things we could do while we stayed. They over free bicycles for you to move around, row your own boat, sunset cruses. We went to a Kerala cookery class & Patricia did some pottery.
The food was delicious; we had South Indian for breakfast & vegetarian lunch. At dinner by the lake over 1000 oil lamps were lit by some of the local villagers which was magical. We had perfectly cooked fish each evening as we watched the dance entertainment.
Yes the hotel did have a spa & all the facilities that you would expect. The manager was the most pleasant manager that we have come across anywhere. He has created great harmony in the place & with his staff. This will help insure that this unique place will be preserved into the future.
If you are planning to visit I would recommend that you book ahead as they do not intend to build any more cottages. They want to keep it small & perfect. This could be an ideal place for your visit to the backwaters. They can organize houseboats, we organized our own through lakes & lagoons which was the perfect experience for us. The charged an extra INR 2000 to drop us from Alleppy to the Taj. Good luck & I hope you enjoy this unique hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmcapws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and review of the resort.We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you were encouraged enough to do such a wonderful review for us.
As you have rightly mentioned,we have retained this as a very small resort owing to the beauty of the place and the fact the resort was already full of trees,birds and water when we got the possesion of this resort.
We have also designed the unique list of activities that one can do here so that the visitors are encourgaed to try the different aspects that the unique culture of Kerala and the destination offers.At the same time,one would not even realise how the vacations have breezed past them
We look forward to welcome you to the resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
739 reviews
3.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
542 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
727 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $171 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing