We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva la Vivanta-Kumarakom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Viva la Vivanta-Kumarakom”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you are looking for a good resort to stay @ Kumarakom - Taj is the place. If you ahve young children, then you dont have to look any further.

Set on some 20+ acres, the property is lush green, well maintained, and you are treated so well. Mr. Aaron was the gentleman who was in-charge when we were there - very good hospitality.

Food is yumm! bicycles for kids, paddle/row-boats, evening cruise in the Vembanad, cultural programmes in the night. The stay is very pleasant.

Room Tip: Request for the Lake View/Pond view ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.We are very glad your family enjoyed the surroundings greatly.As you rightly mentioned,the natural surroundings have a unique offering for the children quite unlike what they see anywhere in our cities where they grow up.
The open space and the grounds itself put the children in a different atmosphere altogether.
To add to that the activities like fishing,pottery and bird watching are unique aspects which children get addicted to.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort yet again very soon.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    277
    66
    24
    34
See reviews for
557
478
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

as usual no surprises when you get into a Taj hotel. its all set well.the room i stayed
facing the pond or lagoon( not sure what they call it) has a view of the main building which houses the reception and i guess its the Baker's bungalow.Room has a feel of some of the gateway hotels been to before, some refurbishment must be in the planning.Again history well retained and treasured--so all together a great feel of the place.Lots of cycles,birds and greens around the resort.

Room Tip: though the basic rooms do not have a view of backwaters, the higher category ones are located close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jissbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.The heading of the review in fact sums up the experince that the hotel offers very well.
We are glad you had a great time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back for another holiday with us

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed with my family at the Taj Garden Retreat recently for 2 night from 6th June to 8th June and had the most amazing holiday experience ever. After what I went through during my initial booking process, the staff at the Taj more than made up for the booking fracas. I had initially confirmed with them to reserve 2 Delux Delight Heritage Rooms with full board package for 2 nights however didn't get a confirmation from their end despite repeatedly chasing them and then finally, when they did send me a mail 2 days prior to my reservation dates, the reservation staff sent me a regret mail mentioning unavailability of rooms, which really drove me furious. However upon raising the issue with duty manager Mittu Alex, he resolved the matter quickly, offering to put me into their 2 room luxury houseboat (leased by Taj group exculsively for its guests) for one night and in the resort room I booked for the next night. Upon reaching the resort at Kumarakom after a long drive from Kovalam, the staff greeted us cheerfully and welcomed us with coconut water. Duty manager Mr. Mittu himself guided us to the houseboat and along the way to the lakebed told us about the property.

Now the reviews:

Rooms:
a. The luxury boat while doesn't quite match upto the exacting standards of Taj properties, it was indeed one of the better ones, with two well appointed rooms, a dining area and a living area.
b. Next day in the resort we were upgraded to Allure villas, thanks to Mr. Mittu, which was indeed a wonderful gesture from the staff to make up for the intial hiccuos during booking and to tell the least, staying at the villa was a blissful experience. The rooms were big and spacious and had a great balance between heritage and luxury. The outdoor bathroom concept was amazing.

Food:
a. The cook on board the houseboat was very good and prepared a very tasty lunch and dinner for us and even customized the menu as per our request to make jain dishes.
b. At the resort as well food was absolutely fantastic. Right from the breakfast, lunch and upto dinner, the food was excellent and had lots of options for every palette. The main chef enthusiatically told us about different Kerelan cuisines and was happy to accomodate any special requests apart from the buffet

Resort:
The resort is very beautiful as well and has all the facilties one would associate with a 5 star property. Although I felt certain parts of the property could be maintained more. The Spa I felt, left a lot to be desired and one can easily find much better options elsewhere. Otherwise the resort has a lot of activities to keep the kids and the elder engaged alike and that makes it a perfect family holiday destination

Service:
I think this is what made the difference. Each and every staff went that extra mile to ensure that the guests have a wonderful experience. We didn't hear a no throughout our stay and all the staff personally made sure in some way or the other that we felt at home. Don't remeber the name of all, but Aaron Rodrigues in particular set the standards of customer service high

No wonder its rated the top resort to stay in Kumarakom and would certainly recommend to anyone looking for that perfect holiday

Room Tip: Delux Allure Villas by the lagoon are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iWikitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback and appreciation of our associates.Am sure it will only motivate them to do an even better job.
Since we have a small resort with a small inventory,we are able to personalise our services even better.
We are glad you enjoyed all aspects and especially the food.We try to offer our guests the most authentic local gourmet experiences and at the same time also cater to specific needs that individuals may have.
We look forward to welcome you back yet again in the near future for another holiday with us

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a unique experience of Indian service on a fantastic hotel. The bungalows are spread around a lake and some canals with lots of exotic birds. We became upgraded to a big bungalow with our own garden. There is a special peace on the whole area. The restaurants were also excellent with lots of choices. Beautiful dance by the lake for dinner and hundreds of oil candles around the lake made the dinner special. They offered sunset cruise and some games on the lawn before dinner. All kind of massage was offered on a center beside he pool. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: All the rooms and bungalows are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.Am sure your feedback will encourage a lot of visitors to firm upon our hotel when they plan a trip to this part of the world.
Thank you for mentioning the peace and serenity that the resort offers.That is generally not an advertised feature of the resort.But it is this peace and tranquility offered by the natural surroundings which differnentiates our resort.
The comfort of doing nothing but enjoying oneself in the lap of nature is rejuvenating both for the mind and the soul.
We do look forward to welcome you back very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I got sick on my trip and had to return to the US. Every other hotel returned my money but the Taj has been giving us the royal runaround. It's been 2 months. Absolute worst class customer service and communications! Would never stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kara312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to understand that you have had a negative experience with us.From what I do understand you are referring to a cancellation.
But if you could give me more information ,I would be check what best can be done to help you out.Please do write to me at - bookvivanta.kumarakom@tajhotels.com.
Look forward to hearing from you

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

very impressing resort. the territory and common use spaces are taken care of, very clean. the room had wooden decoration in ethnic indian style, very comfortable. we took evening walks at the water front and around the territory, and if it was not for mosquitoes, i would say that was the best stay in resort ever. the food was absolutely perfect. no complains about the resort and staff whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback .We are glad that you had a delightful stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed our natural surroundings.We are blessed with nature in abundance and that continues to be our biggest treasure.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort very soon in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Totally relaxing. The hotel has teh keralite look of an old stay but the ambience is amazing. we had a cottage by the lagoon and it was nice to watch it from your own balacony as it rained....Rooms were spacious. There is lot of activity to do from trip to backwaters, bird watching, pottery making, cycling and eveining snacks and chai (which was all part of the package). Hotel provided us with speed boating for a cost though if you venture out of the property there are quite a few places where you can take boat ride...it was beautiful riding through the lake and the backwaters with houses on both side and watching people doing there everyday chores. In the evening there were local dancers and musicians performances while you have dinner...which ends your day soothingly. The best part was of course watching sunset on the boat ride...amazing...relaxing...

Room Tip: The rooms around the lake with balcony are good as tehy give better view. As there are not much loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shonaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback that you have provided.We are glad that you had the most relaxing experience with us.
We have retained the old world charm yet trying to portray what Kerala stands for in our resort in a beautiful harmony with nature.
We are also glad that you enjoyed the authenticity of the local boat ride.Only until a decade before,Kumarakom could only be accessed by water and some of that lifestyle still prevails and can be experienced through the unique experience of a cruise in the canals.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
712 reviews
3.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
536 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
724 reviews
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing