We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Small and Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

If you would like to experience the small luxury lifestyle resort kinda place but without the humongous bills, then this is the place. The resort is very small, about 30-odd rooms, very, very picturesque, has this really beautiful lagoon. The overall service intention is there, the senior staff are very concerned, but the others clearly show a lack of understanding of the Taj brand, maybe more training or taj culture immersions will help. I know I am being finicky here, but its a Taj brand, there are expectations.

The activities, though simple, can keep your kids enthalled, fishing in the small lagoon, pedal boating, clay stuff, just the kinda stuff that can keep them busy in a very happy way.

Criticism: Clearly the property isn't well cared for in a larger context. The staff are doing all they can to keep it spic and span and functional, but the layers of add-ons on an ancient property are so painfully obvious that one wonders why a full scale renovation or restoration hasnt been attempted. It can be such beautiful property.

The spa massage options were limited to technical ayurvedic stuff. What happened to the regular massage treatments?

Overall, the resort has an intimate and relaxing feeling, enjoy while its still affordable!

Room Tip: If you arent the honeymooning variety then save your money, skip the private pool villas and pick th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumbaiMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good feedback.We are happy that you had a memorable stay with us.
We have also made a note of all the suggestions that you have provided.
As you would be aware,our resort here was never meant to be a hotel.It was a home to an English missionary family for over 100 years which we have tried and retained in its original charm.
We are renovating different parts of the property in phases.However we are being careful to retain its original charm.
We have also noted your recommendation about the ayurvedic centre.We will try and incorporate some other treatments as well in the packages offered here.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort yet again very soon.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    256
    63
    23
    29
See reviews for
504
463
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

this is one of the best places i have stayed . we were in a group so we had different kinds of rooms . the one with the private pool is a very good experience and the food is excellent . you need to keep your phone off during your stay . there are lot of in house programs which keep you entertained . you can enjoy the backwaters as you would have heard .you should try fishing . the only draw back was the mosquitoes even though the staff tries to keep them away . this is one place you want to go .

Room Tip: try the chai stall in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amithbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback that you have given us.We are indeed glad that we were able to make your stay with us very comfortable.
Since we have a small and idyllic setting, it enables us to attend each of our guests more personally and cater to their individual needs with greater care.
We look forward to welcome you back to our resort whenever you plan your next vacation.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed here for one naite last week .The property lives upto the expectations from a Taj property. The suites are very comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is excellent The property has lots of activities for kids and adults. Total value for money. We should stay here once its quite a wonder full place

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anandprithvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.We are glad you had an enjoyable holiday with us.
We do look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

This was a lovely resort and great for a romantic break - our villa was large and spacious and also great air conditioning which was essential for Kerela! It was lovely and novel to have an outdoor bathroom...
I would highly recommend the speedboat trip and also that you take pens to give to the local kids. Unfortunately the houseboat was fully booked when we were there - it would be my suggestion that the hotel use another company who provides this service so that all guests can experience this.
On the whole, the service was great and the staff were always very friendly and it was nice to always see a familiar face wherever we were in the resort. It was very personal and one waiter even remembered what we had eaten every day so could recommend something different!
Also food in the restaurant was delicious and very authentic (just to compare, we went over to the Zuri resort for lunch one day and felt that the food was of a higher quality at the Taj. Other points of comparison: the drinks were cheaper at Zuri and they also had more communal areas which were open 24 hours and it would have been nice to have something similar at the Taj. The Zuri was more modern and more to my liking but my boyfriend preferred the authentic style of the Taj)
Finally, my only other issue was with the bird nesting area and even though there was a covered walkway, it would always smell of birds droppings which would be particularly pungent in the heat. And one morning, we had to pass several dead birds which was not a pleasant site before breakfast...
One thing to note is that it's a 2 hour drive from Cochin airport and for a short (2.5 day) stay that was quite a long journey.

Room Tip: We had the Deluxe Allure Villa which was great - we did get shown round the Premium Villa with a pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorabella888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.We are glad that you enjoyed a good romantic break at our resort.The calm surroundings and the fact that we are a small resort spread in 15 acres really help our guests enjoy the serenity that the resort offers.
We have chosen to keep ourselves friendly to nature here in this resort as a result of which we do have to live up with the difficulties that it offers.We are indeed sorry about the inconvenience that it has caused to you.
We do look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at Taj Retreat, Kumarakom for 4 days in February. The property lives upto the expectations from a Taj property. The suites are very comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is excellent (a bit expensive, but very good quality - we never once went out to eat). The property has lots of activities for kids and adults. Total value for money.

Room Tip: VIP suites are excellent with an open air bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divya_gupta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.I am sure it will encourage a lot of visitors to choose our property when they plan a trip to Kumarakom.
As you rightly mentioned,we try and fill up our resort with activities so that guests have a opportunities to engage themselves in a serene environment.
We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed here for one night to break the journey between Kovalam and Cochin. It was a very beautiful setting, quiet, idyllic and incredibly peaceful - in short completely different to the rest of India. It was a little tired and the food wasn't as good as the Taj in Kovalam so I could probably have given this a 3.5 but Tripadvisor doesn't let you, but it was good and had a wonderful feel to it. All rooms (cottages) overlook a lagoon and even the cheapest are spacious and well laid out. They organise an evening boat trip onto Lake Vembanad which is completely free and then serve chai overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lots66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.We are glad that we could meet your expectations on several grounds.
We do look forward to welcome you for a longer while where we can enthrall you with all our services

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed in this hotel between 1st & 3rd November. This was our 1st visit to any Taj property. This property lives upto the expectations in terms of location & service provided.

They have lots of activity for kids like fish feeding, geese feedig, fishing. paddle boating.

They also have evening cruise in vembanad lake for 30 mins which is followed by "chaikada" where they offer light snacks & tea/coffee.

Best part of the trip was the upgraded us to a villa with pvt pool.

Its a must visit place in kumarkom.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paresh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.We are glad we were able to meet your expectations.
We do look forward to welcome you back to our resort again in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
3.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing