We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fuin for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Great fuin for kids”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Great activities for kids like fishing , boating ,cycling, clay modelling, rabbit feeding , trip to village and trekking in bird sanctuary . The staff coordinating these activities is very friendly .

The resort is has a lot of natural beauty and there is minimum artificial landscaping .
The sunset cruise is very well organized and the activity coordinator acts as a guide.

The best part is the evening cultural program ( classical music and various dance forms of India ) and the lightening of the approx 1000 lamps by the local village ladies inside the resort ( around the big lagoon )

The staff is very friendly , food is great and the management goes an extra mile in ensuring that you have the best of the experience

Room Tip: if you love swimming , then room no 19 is great . Just outside the door is the pool and you can rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NishantGovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.We are glad that the family enjoyed all the activities that are connected with nature.Our endevour is to promote such activities since that is what one misses out or does not even know of in today's well connected small world.
These are the activities that help one connect with their inner self.
We do look forward to welcome you back to our property yet again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    263
    63
    23
    29
See reviews for
521
465
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

A beautiful resort, absolutely stunning location, courteous and friendly staff....basically everything that makes the experience of staying at this hotel an incredible experience! We had booked a superior room which was a beautiful and traditional looking cottage. There were plenty of activities to keep us busy and the staff would go to an extra length to keep you happy. Do go and enjoy it!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback that you have provided.Thank you for the appreciation that you have provided for our staff members.We are glad that our staff members could ensure a memorable time for you.
As you would have seen, our rooms and the property as a whole tries to deliver the very feel of Kerala hence providing our guests value for what they want to experience when they come to God's own country.
We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Very well maintained nice resort with exquisite chef at yr service. Rooms with beautiful lake view. Open air washroom but very well kept.
Vert wall reception, check in and send off aswell. Would luv to go back always. Staff very freindly & cordial

Room Tip: Go for suite, biuld in swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avidtraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
144 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Taj Kumarakom is a great place to stay, best for honeymooners. Try and grab the cottages, its the best bet. Its a huge resort with backwaters. Great backwater boatrides and fun place for family too. Tr to avoid the boat cottages, which is very small, particularly for tall people.

Room Tip: do not go for the boat houses, these are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnoopPoonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for promoting our place as a nice place for honeymooners.Since we have a small inventory that is spread in a huge area it gives the opportunity for each of our guests to enjoy their own privacy.
We look forward to welcome you back to celebrate many more momentous occassions in your life with us

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

A beautiful resort, absolutely stunning location, courteous and friendly staff....basically everything that makes the experience of staying at this hotel an incredible experience! We had booked a superior room which was a beautiful and traditional looking cottage. After one night, they upgraded us to another villa which had a huge room, delightful furniture and decor and a stunning open-air bathroom. There were plenty of activities to keep the kids occupied and the staff would go to an extra length to keep you happy. Only one minor complaint, which was like a little eyesore in an otherwise impeccable surroundings, are those purple sofas outside the cottages. They need to be cleaned more often!! Other than that.....no complaints at all!! Do go and enjoy it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us.
We try and make vacations as special as possible through whatever small means we can
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here during diwali in 2010.The lagoon was lit up and looked absolutely lovely at night!The staff were extremely courteous and made us feel very comfortable.The breakfast spread was good.We took cooking lessons with their chef and made some really good local food!
The rooms were spacious.The bathrooms needed to be refurbished.
There was some issue with the pool and an excess amount of chlorine had been used for cleaning.
Overall,we had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prathiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are glad you had a good time with us.
We try to recreate Diwali every evening as you would have seen.
The effort is to create a different ambience in the calm and soothing surroundings.
We have taken note of the suggestions that you have made as well.
We look forward to welcome you back to our resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The 4 day stay at vivanta was totally out of the world. We were a family of 5 with 2 young children and contrary to our initial skepticism on the choice of place witg respect to keeping kids occupied, we were pleasantly surprised. The kids had so much fun at the pool villa that they did not want to leave at the end of our stay. The activity director was very friendly and planned to get kids engaged and busy. The staff service was impeccable and they made sure everything was satisfactory. The manager runs the show very well, kudos! We would love to go back soon and the kids have stressed that it needs to be a week long next time. The pool bar is awesome and a relaxing experience. The spa massages were very nice and made us feel pampered. The houseboat ride was pictureque and the chayakada snacks and tea made the sunsets special. Bicycles were fun but tough to ride on the uneven pavers. We preferred to walk as it was good exercise to burn off after the yum breakfast spread, especially the kerala specialty dishes were to die for. All in all a five star experience.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback that you have provided.We are indeed glad that we could make the vacation so special for you and the family and especially the kids.The kids have a very special experience in our property wherein they connect with nature.and can do activities that they would have rarely done.These help them develop a different perspective of life as well.
We look forward to the next visit when the family comes down to visit us.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
2.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.7 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing