We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel with amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with amazing staff”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

This hotel is ideal for every occassion and for all people of age group. Be it honeymoon or a family vacation, the hotel offers wide variety of activities for everyone to enjoy. The cottages are great and offers great privacy. The location is beautiful and the houseboat experience was awesome. The food is really good and the best part about the hotel is its staff. It was a life time experience for us! Would love to travel again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Namita_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    326
    90
    18
    27
See reviews for
567
707
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We are coming to KLR for a quick and effective "battery recharge" every February. It is like coming home - the staff recognize us immediately and know our preferences to the most minute detail. Every wish is granted with a true smile; the staff really "connect" to their guest, no matter what country or culture. The spacious villas or suites are cosy and rather than flashy and offer utter privacy. Tthe bathrooms are huge and lavishly laid out with granites, marbles and other natural stones.Broadband wifi in the suites and in the pool area will let you work efficiently, hold a skype video conference or watch your favorite video streams from back home. The ayurvedic spa looks traditional rather than flashy, but this adds to the feeling of getting immersed in old knowledge. All our minor ailments were efficiently cured after two days. Both the spa manageress and here staff are charming, helpful and top-professional. The buffet restaurant serves a very varied, wonderfully natural and delicious South Indian, Indian and Western cuisine. The staff go the extra mile at all times. They organized a birthday night dining cruise on the lake just for me and my spouse, with the fresh food cooked on the boat. All in all, the people factor is what makes KLR a steady quality experience of the highest level. We know most of the world's most luxurious spas, and just becaus it does not look flashy, ritzy or extravagant, but rather charming cosy and impeccably clean, and above all, ultra-friendly, it is our only choice for "recharging".

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

On entering the huge open plan reception/lounge area one gets the feeling of open space and clutter free concrete blocks. Refreshing towels and a coconut drink welcome followed by a quick check-in. We had arrived two hours early and management did their utmost to get our room ready for us. We took advantage of the wait to explore the hotel grounds (most trees are labelled) which are beautiful. The resort is on an island in Vembanad lake and the views are stunning - the occasional rice boat, a few fishermen, birds, the lake and its flora. Dotted in the gardens are benches, huge, traditional indian swings and hammocks to enjoy the sights and sounds of this place.
We were offered villa 144 (very secluded) - large, bright, tastefully decorated room in the rustic style - loved the heavy wooden door. Mind the step as you enter the bedroom/bathroom) Large, comfortable bed with comfy bedlinen. One window overlooked the lake and the terrace french doors led to the pool (which meanders alongside the villas). However, our villa was the last in line and the shape of the pool gave the impression of it being a private pool. The pool was very well maintained - cleaned and inspected several times a day. Sitting on the terrace was serene with a gentle breeze from the lake. The open air bathroom is equally large and it was heavenly to take a shower while listening to the birds.
The resort has 2 restaurants and a snack bar. Complimentary afternoon tea is served in the latter - by far the best chai I had in South India. Breakfast never failed to disappoint - huge choice of south indian and continental dishes. Again the masala tea made here is the best. We had dinner in the Vembanad seafood restaurant (book on arrival -tables are taken up very quickly). The restaurant manager is charming and knowledgeable. The meals were delicious (although a tad expensive) and sampling some Indian wine was a pleasant surprise. The mixed seafood starter tray was out of this world. Traditional keralan fish dishes are served on a banana leaf - quite an experience.
Local artisans (potters, weavers) hold workshop sessions for interested parties. There is a complimentary sunset cruise and cultural events (dance, music, martial arts) are staged each night at dinner time. The souvenir shop seemed reasonably priced. They had a brilliant CD collection of south indian classical music (instrumental).
We were delighted that the resort makes wash and meal facilities available to drivers at a reasonable cost - this does not seem to be practice in the majority of hotels in south India. Ou driver was one happy bunny during his stay here!
Our only complaint (which in no way marred our stay) was the safe in the room. We had to ask for help and the technical hitch was efficiently dealt with.
All staff from groundsmen to management were professional, efficient, welcoming and performed, in my opinion over and above the call of duty. Many thanks Jailisha (restaurant) Thank you to you all for making our stay magical and memorable. This is the place to marvel at nature's beauty and to completely destress...........

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We (2 couples) stayed at Kumarakom Lake Resort and were treated like royalty by the staff and taken care of very well. The resort is located ideally and the facilities they have are excellent. We were on a three week tour of Gujarat and South India and our stay was the highlight of our tour. Their complimentary afternoon tea and South Indian snacks was amazing plus the Sunset Cruise (also complimentary) was awesome.

We would recommend this resort to everyone and it is truly a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shams74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

When we stepped into restaurant, it was filled with foreigners. And as always we were almost invisible to waiters who were busy serving foreigners. We waited for 20 minutes, and then my wife had to walk to counter and ask for one.

Finally he came and took our order. I ordered bloody maria, as it was mentioned in menu as spicy cocktail based on vodka. There was no mention of tomato juice. Then it came, and I was disappointed to see tomato juice based cocktail. I again looked at menu to confirm whether I got right drink. I told waiter that there was some mistake. He redirected my request to head waiter, and he came and challenged us that this is what bloody maria should be. He also said that he can prove it by getting recipe directly from internet. I did agree to my ignorance but told that this was not mentioned clearly in menu. He agreed to change it, and took the drink back. However no one came to take order for a replacement drink, so it never arrived. Drink was not added to our bill, but I asked them to add it to our bill as it was pointed out to be my mistake. They were courteous enough not to add it to bill even after my request. But in my view, damage to their reputation was already done.

Our food order took its own sweet time to arrive. Food was presented beautifully - prawn curry was served in bowl made out of tender coconut. Food was equally delicious. The quality of food brought some smile back after disaster over my drink. We had ordered prawn curry + appam and prawn biryani. Both of them were excellent. Additional appam were served with too much delay. Probably our waiter forgot to communicate this to chef inside, hence the delay.

So food is excellent, limited to what we tried. But their service really need to improve a lot, to provide a quality experience.

They also serve buffet lunch in other restaurant which has lot of variety. So probably it is better to try that as you will serve yourself and not depend on waiter. It may sound costly, but our bill in Vembanad was almost equal to buffet lunch cost for two.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kshitiz_Saxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We didnt stay at the resort but judging by the service we received in the a la carte restaurant and reception, I'm glad we didnt. I was served a gin and tonic which had less than 30ml of gin in it, when I complained to the maitre, I was told I was in the wrong. His attitude was awful. When the waiter came to take our order, he was so quiet and shy, we couldnt understand what he was saying. Non of the serving staff seemed to know what they were doing, it was definitely not 5* or even 4* service. When our waiter brought the food, he twice walked past a free standing fan and twice the poppadoms flew off the plate, which was humerous but not something you would expect at this type of resort. The table next to us walked out, the table behind us complained as they had been waiting over and hour for their food even though the restaurant wasnt busy. On our way out, not one member of staff acknowledged us or said goodbye, I felt they were all very rude.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This is a really charming place in a great location and the meandering pool villas are unbeatable. The resort is rustic in nature but very comfortable with beautifully landscaped grounds. The spa offers traditional treatments rather than a posh spa experience. The resort is a pleasant alternative to a rice barge for those who want to experience the backwaters without wanting to spend the night on the water.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kitchenwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
1.4 mi away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Property: Kumarakom Lake Resort
Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing