We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of a lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
1 review
“Memories of a lifetime!”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

The entire stay at Kumarakom Lake Resort was of world class quality. The staff was very couteous and helpful. The scenic beauty was amazing. The room was very comfortable and we booked their Heritage Villa with a private pool and lake view. The privacy was really good and the food was wonderful. We also stayed at the houseboat which was also very comfortable and the food cooked at the houseboat was simply superb. We would definitely like to visit this resort once again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namitapuneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    326
    90
    18
    27
See reviews for
567
707
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

we stayed 2 nights here, 1 night in Villa, and 1 night on a houseboat to ourselves from the hotel. Both were amazing.
The Villa was exquisite with a lovely jaccuzi/ pool outside our private garden. Great for quality time:) but NOT big enough to swim The funny thing was when we realised the shower was also outdoor and so was the toilet/ sink! But the great news was contrary to what i feared, not a single one insect was flying about in the evening when i brushed my teeth.
the restaurant has a great buffet to choose from or a la carte. breakfast wasn't bad although their taoster/grill for the bread is absolutely useless unless 10 min to spare1
THE AFTERNOON COMPLIMENTARY INDIAN COFFEE& SNACKS is beyond a treat, it is gorgeous! Traditionally served indian coffee with milk, it is a treat to look at and taste. the indian savoury/sweet snacks were to die for.
Spectacular communal pool we had to ourselves one morning, looking over the quiet backwaters. very big for great swims. the free gym is great also.
There's a great range of rooms to choose from, some with own entrance to the long narrow pool seen in photos. Spoilt for choice!
HOUSEBOAT: GREAT SERVICE/food, lovely relaxing day on the deck reading and taking in the backwaters. Not one mosquito came to us and I am grateful just for that. Slept real well at night with complimentary dvds to keep busy at night in secure bedroom.
I would love to go back for a much longer stay

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo_Ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at the resort for 2 nights and were put up in the meandring pool villas. The pool villas are very comfortable, but a little bit smaller than what I expected. The ability to just walk into the pool was nice and I ended up spending enough time in the pool to get a serious tan. The resorts sits right at the edge of the Vembanad and the views in the evening from the resort are picture perfect - cane chairs/ hammock.. blue skies with birds flying in patterns.. still waters with a boat or two around... and the sunset! Fantastic. The food served in the buffets was good, especially the dessert sections. I did feel it was a little pricey. We did take a trip to their massage centre and their massage was quite wonderful. Overall, we really enjoyed the stay and was the best in our entire trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishnakumar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in a villa overlooking the meandering pool. The room was beautiful with a painted fresco above the bed and dark wood panelling and carved ceiling (which did however make it a little dark during the day). We especially loved the 'outdoor' bathroom, which was a great concept but covered enough to still feel luxurious.

The resort is set around gardens and waterways and is very scenic and well maintained. We enjoyed swimming in the two pools, the sunset cruise and a 2hr morning backwater cruise. Be aware that the resort is quite isolated so if you enjoy varied holidays it may become a little boring for longer than a few days.

If you enjoy nature like me, then this is a great place to view some. As well as lots of beautiful birds everywhere including kingfishers, there were a few frogs hopping around outside our room at night, turtles in the streams and an otter was catching fish in the lake one evening. We also noticed a small snake had found its way into the meandering pool one evening and was clearly stuck. We informed reception, however I was upset to learn that they killed it instead of removing it to a safe place.

The food was consistently good, with great choices especially as my friend was a vegetarian. It does however detract from the experience of the resort a little being a buffet. Considering the cost of staying here I think they should have some more dining options.

Just to note, the resort is very family friendly with 3 or 4 large groups there during our visit and lots of children. This did distract from the peace on occasions, and although not too much of a problem for us, if I had been on honeymoon it could have ruined the romance a little.

Overall though it’s a wonderful place to spend a few days...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littletomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

the hotel brochure said "perhaps the only paradise on earth", and i couldn't but agree ....the resort has won award consistently over the past few years as the India's leading resort and you have to stay here to experience the exemplary service. Here luxury reigns and heritage dwells, seamless blend of both. We both stayed in one of those meandering pool villas ... this must be a delight for kids! drift back in time with the traditionally styled interiors (i loved the construction of the doors, and those old electrical switch outlets perfectly blended with the style) and traditional mouth watering kerala culinary delicacies (appams and stew, karimeen, konju, mutton roast) .... great cuisine, lovely spread, forget the name of the sea food restaurant where we dined but it was out of the earth.... had a great Ayurvedic massage in the morning, it was pure bliss. We surely would return again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumit_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcutta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

At Kumarakom, we stayed for two days at the Kumarakom Lake Resort and the next two days at the Taj Kumarakom resort. At the Kumarakom Lake Resort we stayed at the Heritage Lake View Villa with private pool as also at the Taj Kumarakom we booked the luxury pool villa. The villa and the pool at the Taj were larger. The Kumarakom Lake Resort also has a Presidential villa which was more spacious and with a larger pool, but this was booked during our stay. The Taj property is more sprawling and lush with more privacy. The Lake Resort is more manicured and has more opportunities for interaction with fellow guests.
When we arrived at about four in the evening we were offered tea and snacks gratis at a pavilion in the gardens in keeping with the Kerala hospitality and in the authentic replication of a Kerala tea shop and were taken on a boat cruise along with other guests. The melodious tunes of the flute player and the lush Kerala countryside made the cruise an unforgettable experience.
We had dinner at the Ettukettu which offered a dinner buffet consisting mainly of south Indian food rich with coconut and spices. For those who do not have a taste for south Indian food, other options were available.
The next morning we tried the Rejuvenation Massage which was done on the traditional wooden massage table typical to Kerala and followed by steam. Very relaxing. Other massages available, tailored to suit every age and ailment.
The swimming pool was disappointingly small.
For the energetic, the resort arranges all sorts of activities like indoor and outdoor games, sightseeing trips and cultural shows but we were in a mood for romance………..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

rooms with attached pools..outdoor showers...awesome surroundings..as green as it can get...so romantic..things i wld like to see change if i could?..yes the food could get better -there is ample variety but not upto expectations when compared to the rest of the hotel..overall just the break we needed from our stressful lives back home and perfect end to our Kerala vacation...will definately be going again next year

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newbiemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
1.4 mi away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Property: Kumarakom Lake Resort
Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing