We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise on earth. beautiful place away from the hustle of daily life.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
INDIA
2 reviews
“paradise on earth. beautiful place away from the hustle of daily life.”
Reviewed April 20, 2009

it was a beautiful experience. did not actually feel like leaving the place to visit other places or for that matter return home. the experience in the morning and the eveings was beautiful with water everywhere around you and enjoying the beautiful sunrise and sunset everyday. the poolside was beautiful and big and situated such that u felt that the pool merged with the backwaters of kerala. a unique experience. even the boat ride in the back waters was just mesmerisisng. the food was authentic of kerela and a different menu everyday. not a single day of our stay did we see a repition of any food. even our experience at the ayurvedic centre was excellent.

  • Liked — THE BACK WATERS AND THE ROOMS
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SPXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    329
    90
    19
    29
See reviews for
579
718
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackrod
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

I have travelled to some of the best hotels and resorts in the world and Kumarakom Lake Resort beats them all for every aspect. We went as a family of six, with four small children. The children swam all day and enjoyed pottery-making, traditional basket weaving, fishing, traditional boating and village walks. A Playstation was available if we wanted, but they never asked for it once! If you want a taste of rural India with 5 star luxury, plus natural beauty, nature, water activities, the best food in the world and the highest standard of service this is the place to go. I could go on forever, but their website gives a good idea of what to expect. We intend to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenfunk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalorenh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Our stay in Lake resort in kumarakom from March 31st to April 2nd could be described as a "perfect holiday. Full marks to the cleanliness, general upkeep, ambience, and the staff. We were skeptical as we were traveling with our small child but she was as delighted and enraptured with the resort as we were. My husband, daughter and I had a wonderfully relaxing time and the staff were extremely courteous and hospitable. It is worth every penny and one of the best resorts we have ever been to.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Meandering pool room with super outdoor bathroom. Lovely location wonderful curries and very attentive service. The only downside, not enough airy shaded areas and nothing much to do. However it was luxury and a nice change from a beach hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extravelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Kukarakom Lake Resort was one of the hotels we stayed in on our trip in India. It was the most disappointing one - considering the expense. The staff was polite - however quite off hand. We could book boat trips or massages which were heavily overpriced (compared to the other 5star hotels we stayed in on our trip). The seafood restaurant was excellent - however the main restaurant was like a big canteen with no atmosphere. We stayed in one of the rooms (so not in a villa) - which didn't have a balcony outside. Also there are not really any nice chairs to sit on in the gardens, apart from the sunbeds around the noisy swimming pool - so if you like reading bad luck! The room did feature a jacuzzi in the bathroom - with cold water! Not a treat and we didn't use it. At night the pigeons which lived onder the roof, kept us awake, it was as if they stayed in our room. When we asked to change rooms they were not helpful at all-said they were booked however we noticed several rooms empty for the duration of our stay. It was not value for money at all- beautiful location however the feeling and treatment of just another resort with too little service and not living up to its promises.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apollolaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

This is one place where you see hospitality at its best . You get the right kinda service for the price paid . There are tons of extra activities like clay pot making , Sun set cruise with traditional music on board , its situated in front of one of the biggest lake in the country . They have a villa in the boat as well but I suggest to take a one on land :) . The food is splendid for kinda person with different taste buds . This is a bar across the restaurant where in you need to order if you want any sea food delicacy .

  • Liked — Had a huge connecting pool between rooms
  • Disliked — Since the room was huge Air conditioning was not effective
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Memfis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay at the Kumarakom Lake Resort in mid-January 2009. The "meandering pool" room was spacious and comfortable, the food at the restaurants was varied and of excellent quality, the afternoon tea/coffee on the lawn a real treat, the healthclub more than sufficient for our needs, the afternoon sunset cruise a delight, and the pool at our doorstep perfect!

The only downside to our stay was not the resort's fault, but worth passing along nonetheless. Toilets and showers are "outside", behind the rooms ---- very private and luxurious...but the sink et al are set on highly polished marble. When you step out of the shower you need to make sure that you have laid towels down onto the slick marble flooring, or else you're likely to take a painful fall (as I did). Once pointed out it's perfectly obvious that no sentient being would ever do otherwise....

I read somewhere that this resort has won various awards for its hospitality and fine service, and in our experience such awards are very justified.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
700 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.5 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
337 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Property: Kumarakom Lake Resort
Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing