We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

An amazing experience. They know how to treat their guests!

Had booked a Heritage Villa with Private Pool. Big, Clean, Authentic Wooden Style Rooms, Open to sky shower. Nice and clean plunge pool with jacuzzi.

Wanted to stay 3 nights but could get reservation only for 2 nights, though kept trying for the 3rd night till the end.

everything of this resort was amazing. Right from the room, dining area, food, greenery, lake, infinity pool. the best part was the staff - their courteousness friendliness and their endeavour to serve the guests instantly. We have a 2 years daughter who would never sit at one place for any meals, the staff at their multi cuisine restaurant were so friendly with my daughter they would take care of her while we could finish our meal.

Its a huge property with much open spaces and nice located sitting arrangements that would face the lake, the green land etc. The best location to have a relaxed and peaceful evening is the lying on the hammock next to the infinity pool.

Would definitely like to come again.

PS: If the management is going through this post, hope the drain in room number 111 inside the plunge pool has been fixed. I got a cut in my toe and bled because of it. I had complained at the front desk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishaldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. We are pleased that your family had a good time , especially your daughter. We are pleased that the food and the services were were up to your satisfaction.
We have taken care of the concern as mentioned in your feedback.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

927 - 933 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

The hotel has real quality and we should have had a great stay but.... We had Room 125. All windows are overlooked by paths or public areas. The room is at the public buildings end of the meandering pool and had nowhere private to sit. As we had to keep the blinds drawn a lot, it was dark. We asked to move but were told there was no availability elsewhere in the hotel. Room 127 onwards are ok and a lot more private.

The seafood restaurant was lovely but the food was not brilliant. We have had better elsewhere. The ambience of the hotel is great, it is well maintained and the backwater trip is interesting. We have seen more imaginative swimming pools.

An oddity was that Trip Advisor is blocked by the guest's wi fi agreement with the Hotel! Why? It is not as if anything bad is being written! Would have loved this hotel if we had been in a better room and feel disappointed. I am not coming to Kerala again, so this was my only chance! It was blown!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank BindiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your valuable time in filling up the feedback form.

With regard to your feedback we notice that there are certain areas that have scope for improvement. Your feedback regarding your room has been taken note of and we will certainly find a way to improve it. Your feedback regarding the food has also been forwarded to the chef. Please be assured that the feedback given by you is being looked into. We are grateful to you for sharing your experiences so that we could make necessary amends at our end to provide all our guests with excellent services .
We sincerely hope you would try and make a trip back to Kerala and we hope you stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Warm Regards,

Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Idyllic setting, every need catered for.
Afternoon tea not to be missed, an entertainment in itself - the snacks are a real treat.
At times over-fussed at mealtimes when you just want to be left to enjoy the food.
Activities to occupy you: pottery, weaving, fishing.
Worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenBrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the resort.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My family and I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff in KLR. We stayed at the presidential Prince of Wales suite, for three nights from 14th Feb. It was a truly magnificent property with an outdoor pool and bathroom with a jacuzzi. My kids (6 and 5years old) loved swimming in the both the villa and the infinity pool. I was blown away by the tranquil view from the pool overlooking the backwater and the lake especially at the break of dawn watching the local fisherman silently gliding across the water going about their business.
The spa session is a must but the highlight is the thatukada that serves local snacks. We enjoyed the candle lit dinner at the edge of the lake, a special experience but for the mosquitoes snapping at our heels.
Apart from the above dining, all our meals were taken at the buffet restaurant (we didn't try the seafood restaurant for lack of time). The variety of food each day was mind boggling with a good mix of keralan and continental cuisine. The only downside, we felt was the quality could have been much better for a five star resort. The food quality we experienced in similar resorts in our previous holidays were far superior in the taste department, not to mention we were blown by the dining experience in the ITC Chola in Chennai a few days later. I am not being harsh but I feel KLR should strive for Michelin dining experience for the price of the stay.
Our big thank you to all the staff who were all wonderful, polite and courteous as they made it special. A special mention for Kavi, Tikan (Smith) Singh, Jonney, Medhavi Pande (Delhi Regional Sales Officer) and pretty much all in the the buffet restaurant.
We will hopefully return one day. Thank You from the Oomman's.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sabu O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your valuable time in filling up the feedback form. We are glad you and your family had a good time at the resort.

With regard to your feedback we notice that there are certain areas that have scope for improvement. Please be assured that the feedback given by you is being looked into. We are grateful to you for sharing your experiences so that we could make necessary amends at our end to provide you with excellent services on your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

An amazing place, beautiful, peaceful, charming, our 8 night stay was wonderful. Our heritage lake view villa was amazing, loved our outside private pool and bathroom. (we even spent 2 nights in the presidential villa where Prince Charles stayed for his 65th, lucky man). Food amazing, especially in the seafood restaurant. Ayurveda treatments best we had during our trip to India. Their houseboats are the cleanest and best designed on the lake. Special mention for the most caring and helpful staff, especially Sanjay Varma the Resident Manager, your comfort and happiness is obviously very important to him, thank you

Room Tip: Lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorBobandBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. Positive comments from our guests inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We enjoyed 2 nights in this wonderful resort.the room was very nice the outdoor bathroom was surprising but we learned to love it.
The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The only thing is that we forgot a bag in the hotel, they informed us but instead of sending it by mail to Kochi they asked our driver to come and take it ( 3.5 hours drive 2 ways)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Yael855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us. With regards to the bag , the only reason we requested for the driver to pick it up was to avoid any further delay and anxiety.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a two night stay at KLR and it was absolutely spell bounding. We had book the heritage villa with a private pool. Rooms were spacious and clean. Loved the Jacuzzi and open air bathroom! It's one of its own kind.

There are enough activities within the resort to keep you busy and active. Right from boat ride, pottery, weaving to playing indoor games....you can do it all. Quality and quantity of the food served was great. They even had a special menu for kids! Staff was friendly and courteous.

Overall it was an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumbaiExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. We are glad you had an unforgettable experience at our resort and the staff and services were up to your expectation.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
816 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
353 reviews
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.3 mi away
Lake Palace Family Resort
Lake Palace Family Resort
#21 of 26 in Kumarakom
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $317 - $1,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing