We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Shangri-la'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Kumakarom Lake Resort is quite beautiful. The accommodations are seemingly very comfortable. We had a small private pool, our room excellent. The staff cannot do enough to assist. Your comfort is No.1 to them. We enjoyed a number of very good dinners. Whilst the food and treatments are not overly expensive, adding the luxury tax on these items pushes on another third to your bill. So why only a 'very good' rating? They charge 624 Rupees per day for Wifi. They should be adding that little extra to each room so that it gets swallowed up and everyone can enjoy Wifi at no extra cost, then it would be my pleasure to award 'excellent'.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank dabby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest ,
Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It is positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence. We have noted your concern about the wifi and see how best we can accommodate the same.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,728)
There are newer reviews for Kumarakom Lake Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Imagine awaking in the still quiet dawn light as the mist slowly rises over the smooth undisturbed lake with only a few fishermen paddling gently across the water in their traditional canoes, all the while casting their nets in the traditional time-honoured manner.
Imagine this stunning vista from your very own private sumptuous villa in the verdant lush grounds of Kumarakom Lake Resort,together with private swimming pool,verandah,luxurious suite, lavish outside bathroom and shower area and all the amenities one could ever wish for on vacation.

This is the Presidential Suite to which my Wife and I were graciously upgraded on arrival without I hasten to add even the hint or suggestion on our part.
Indeed this accommodation was fit for royalty as it was the very same suite occupied by Prince Charles and Camilla on their recent visit to Kerala last November.And as far as we were concerned we could not have been treated more royally throughout our two day stay by the kind, gentle and hospitable staff who tended to our every whim and need.

We took a heavenly and relaxing half day houseboat excursion direct from the Resort's jetty through the Backwaters to Allepey where we were collected by our driver who transported us swiftly back just in time for our evening appointments at the Ayurvedic Healing Centre for the best treatments imaginable administered by superbly and efficiently therapists - a perfect ending to such a "hard day at the office".

Incredible India? Incredible Lake Kumarakom Lake Resort, we salute you!
A special place with special people who will live long in our hearts and memories.

Highly recommended in particular for honeymooners and couples, royal or commoners,with romance in their souls.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We are glad you had a comfortable stay at the resort and enjoyed the services of the resort.
.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great property, visited Taj & Zuri, found KLR to be the best. Very calm & relaxing place with nothing much to do but to sleep & eat. Did the houseboat for a day which was good in its own way. Celebrated my anniversary there on 28th Jan, must say was very memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vishal a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We are pleased you had a good time at the resort.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We went as a group of 3 families .. Spent 1 day on houseboat and 2 days in resort..
Children had a great time..houseboat was bit boring but the resort was great.. Heated pools at the back of our own room was unique.. Overall .. a great place for a vacation

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank bindhu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It is positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

While traveling in Kerala we spent one day on the houseboat cruising through backwaters from Kumarakom to Alleppey. It was a luxury two bedroom houseboat from Kumarakom Lake Resort. The time spent on this boat was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to India. The boat was truly luxuries and the crew went out of their way to make us feel special. The food was delicious; some of the dishes were freshly prepared on the boat by our private chef. It was fun watching daily activities of the local people along the banks of the canals, fantastic tropical vegetation, rice paddies as well as variety of different birds.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Remisza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay on the houseboat and I do agree that when you are in Kerala you should experience the houseboat.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Kumarakom Lake Resort was the best hotel my husband and I visited during our two-week tour of India.

The hotel itself is beautiful. The property is located right on the lake and the staff has done an exceptional job with the landscaping to create a very serene environment.

We stayed in a Heritage Villa that faced the lake. The best part of the villa is that it had its own private plunge pool for us to enjoy. It was an incredible place to take a midnight dip and gaze at the stars.

We spent one full day relaxing on site. There was plenty to enjoy at the hotel -- from walking paths and a small gym to a fully-equipped spa. We capped off the day by watching sunset from the lounge chairs at the infinity pool -- incredible view!

The seafood restaurant by the water was a great place for dinner. And the complimentary breakfast buffet had a very large selection with lots of Western and Indian options, including eggs and waffles/pancakes to order.

All in all, a very relaxing stay at a beautiful property.

Room Tip: I'd strongly recommend the Heritage Villa with private plunge pool. The room was very spacious...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback.We are glad you had a comfortable stay at our resort and the food & services were up to your satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

As our Houseboat by Sree Travels dropped us to KLR Resort, there were Hammocks and a small bridge to go further to the reception through a beautiful green garden. This resort has lovely landscape. An infinity pool adjoining the lake is breathtaking view while swimming or reading a book by the pool.
we had taken a Meander pool villa and all rooms are good but we liked the room no.132. The pool was right from the room and views and ladscape was extravagant. It is an experience if you have kids and if they enjoy swimming.
The pool outside your room is different and from your room, which you can use for 24 hrs is an altogether different experience.
We suggest if you go to this resort, just stay in Meander pool villas as it is an experience by itself .

Room Tip: Meander Pool Villas the first villa near the lake
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malu210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It is positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
741 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
341 reviews
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.4 mi away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $255 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing