We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Superb Experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Me & my husband visited this beautiful resort for our Honeymoon. This is probably one of the best and most serene resorts i've visited.
The rooms are well kept & the team is extremely hospitable.
There is a lot to do at the resort itself...
Really fantastic place would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janetvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback.

We are glad to know that you had a Superb experience at our resort and are pleased to know that the rooms and the services were up to your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards
Sanjay Varma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    326
    90
    18
    27
See reviews for
567
707
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The moment you enter, you are greeted with a smiling face, a cold wet hand towel and some refreshing coconut water. The entire staff here always had a smile on their face and were always checking to see if we were comfortable or had any needs and eager to exceed your expectation
The Food was fantastic and was delicious. We enjoyed all activities like pottery, boat ride, live traditional music in Ettukettu etc.
Special thanks to Sanjay Varma & Sreejith for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Meandering pool rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valsanvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback.

We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us . We are pleased to know that the food and services met up to your expectation. We sincerely thank you for your encouraging words.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards
Sanjay Varma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our 4 nights stay in the Meandering Pool Villa was absolutely fantastic!! The resort is beautiful and in a very calm and serene environment and it was a complete de-stressing experience for my wife and me. The staff was also very courteous and friendly and the service was impeccable. We just had an episode on one day during our stay where a large corporate group checked in and created a lot of noise doing outdoor activities which disturbed the peace. We even complained about the same. So I strongly suggest to check with the hotel about any conference before making a booking. But other than that everything else was just perfect and I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kunalpriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your valuable time in filling up the feedback form.

We are pleased to know that you had an excellent stay with us and liked the resort facilities and the service . The peace and the natural beauty of this place was enhanced by the monsoon shower . I am sure it would have been a welcome break for you from your regular hectic schedule.

We regret for the inconvenience caused to you due to the group outdoor activity which was committed as part of the contract and sincerely thank you for your understanding.

Thank you once again for staying with us and We look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards

Sanjay Varma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place to visit, to relax, to rejuvenate,
Food is good. Service with politeness is remarkable.
Attached swimming pool to almost every room is a added luxury.
Massage facility is good. The boat ride is advisable.
Do take package n lauding food. A la carte is a bit expensive.
Attached lake can be a term practically there.
Pools are too good.
Just too good. Do visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sunilpmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback.

We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay at our resort and also that all the services were up to your expectation.

We have also made note of your concern with regards to the pricing in the restaurants , please be assured you feedback will definitely be looked into.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having travelled from Alaska to Fiji, Kumarakom Lake Resort is the only resort I have
revisited.
We were more than happy to be welcomed by familiar faces who we had met on our first visit,5 years ago.They made sure we enjoyed every minute of our stay and this made us feel as if the resort was our home away from home!
The meandering pool villa that we stayed in was traditional yet modern, with all the luxury conveniences.
We looked forward to every meal at the restaurant.The chef conjured up new surprises that, were a visual delight .
My therapist at the Spa was very professional and it was a relaxing experience.
Our indelible impression of this property is that it is a one of a kind resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlenepinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest ,

It was pleasure welcoming you back to our resort. We are glad that we could provide you with the "Home away from Home" experience which we always strive for.

As you rightly put in we have tried to blend in the old world charm with a pinch of the modern luxuries.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the food at the restaurant and also the massages at the spa.

Thank you once again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed there in December 2012 for 3 days/2 nights. It was absolutely beautiful and relaxing. The swim-out pool villas were private and had everything one could wish for, despite my initial shock of having the bathroom without a solid roof (for fear of mosquitoes). Our 3-year-old daughter had tons of fun in the lazy river pool with the provided floats. We enjoyed a couple workshops: weaving and pottery making. The food was very good and had a lot of variety: from traditional Indian to western (bread, yogurts, cereals, cold cuts, salads). It's a great property for a spa-like experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for remembering us and writing the review.

We are glad you had a very comfortable and memorable stay with us.

The architecture and the design for the rooms is very similar to a traditional Kerala house. The open bath court is one of the unique feature of our rooms. We have mosquito repellents placed in all the rooms and also do fogging every evening using Frankincense to keep them at bay. We are also glad that you had a great culinary experience as well

The pottery making and the mat weaving are community initiatives taken to promote local artisans .

Thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Truly one of the best ever resorts I have ever been to. My 5 month old son, wife and my in laws enjoyed this place to the core. It was indeed a blissful couple of days we spent in the resort. There is a sense of calm and peace when you stay here. Monsoons probably made the place more beautiful. The staff is extremely good and service is prompt. Highly recommend this resort if you plan to stay at Kumarakom. Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ajit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy that your family had a enjoyable stay at the resort . As rightly mentioned the monsoons is one of the best times to be here in Kerala as it enhances the natural beauty of this place. Your encouraging words are much appreciated.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
1.4 mi away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Property: Kumarakom Lake Resort
Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing