We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic for Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic for Honeymoon”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have visited this resort on start of June with my wife for our honeymoon. It was fabulous and really enjoyed a lot. We received a warm welcome by the member of staff and they take care of us until we leave the resort. Villa was very clean and tidy. When we stepped out of our villa we seen a heaven. Yes it is, what you want water? garden? greenish grass all there. Really we enjoyed a lot. But by advice is go before June because one day we stuck with rain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vino777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time and for your kind words. Wish you a great life together.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    326
    90
    18
    27
See reviews for
567
707
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is the best resort I've ever visited. Everything about the resort is beautiful. The rooms, the view, the food, the whole experience. The coconut water offered on arrival was the start of the wonderful experience. Followed by the mesmerizing panoramic view of the lake thru the entrance. The rooms were experience in itself. The antique doors, old style electrical switches, the wood work and the biggest bathroom I've ever seen. Not to forget the full size Jacuzzi in the bathroom. The tea shop enjoyment followed by the boat ride with live classical music added to the experience. The breakfast was icing on the cake with its huge spread and quality of the food. Keep it up KLR!! its a must visit for everyone over and over again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yadu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It is positive feedback from our guests like you that inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Excellent stay at KLR Kumarakom and stayed at pool villa room. Food is very good and overall service is really excellent. Hotel surroundings and location is really good. Memorable stay and hope to come back again.

Room Tip: Pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Siyad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It is positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Rooms : We had taken a meandering Pool villa as we were with family and specially kids. They simply went nuts when we first arrived at the room. You can jump to the pool right from your room. Excellent concept and so very beautifully made. Crystal blue water long pool with villa and lush green plantation on either side. My 4 years old was there almost the day. All interiors made using the local wood in a Traditional Keralian way with modern services hidden in the ceiling. Toilet was also made wonderfully with a Landscape courtyard with a banana plant and pebbles in the shower area.
Infinity pool area makes an Extremely serene sit out ,overlooking the huge lake. Don’t forget Listen to the sound of breeze there.
Other on campus activities : cycling ,play area with pool, table tennis, carom, Gym. Pottery also is done with kids. They are kept busy. Gym the equipment’s are of Life fitness but I ( a big gym freak !!)would have expected the gym with little more ambiance. I would suggest them to upgrade to steam and Sauna with a changing area. Evening high tea at the Informal Tea stall with light snacks is good. Fishing is also done at the back waters coming in to the premise. Yoga sessions in the morning.
Evening sunset cruise is complementary from the hotel in which they take you in the Lake Vemband and one can experience the speed boat at the cost of approx. Rs. 2000/- for 7 pax.
Food : Excellent food, even the Jain food (without onion and garlic ) .Good variations also offered for both dinner and breakfast.
Local south Indian dishes on platter every morning are the must try. (I liked the Eddiyuppam and white gravy veg sauté ). At the dinner they have a corner full of pickle made by their different chefs. Awesome that is.
Team : Mr. Jhoney the Head Chef ,the junior chef Sirin Raj just made our holidays with their touch of class foods. Sandeep at the gym and also the play area was a nice and helpful chap. Sure they make a coolest team.

i wish all the luck for the entire team and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Mandering pool villas all are fine ,but if you could ask for the last one that would have had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujanshah25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!
We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It is positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence. We have noted your suggestion with regards to Gym .We are grateful to you for sharing your experiences so that we could make necessary amends at our end to provide you with excellent services on your next visit.
Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharuch, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

frankly speaking all the five stars and seven stars should arrange a trip of KLR for there staff so they can learn what is hospitality, just marvelous starting from checkin to checkout everything was smooth.
we booked a heritage pool villa it was marvelous we got avilla near the infinity pool,and the lake just wow,
The food was superb the restorant staff was very humble,they took special care for my sons food,they prepared khichdi for him.Also the pool pavallion staff was great
And above all the resort is very well maintained with lot of activities also the sunset cruise and pottery etc.The front office staff Mr.nithin,Ms Anitha,Vancy, Beenish and above all manage Mr.Sanjay were very good,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dharmesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time and for your kind words.

It is positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence.

Thank you for staying with us and We look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This resort was on my mind for a very long time but was only waiting to see when would the trip to Kerala materailise. Planned this trip in March as a gift to my wife and eldest daughter who had worked hard for Class 12th exams and waiting for my younger ones to grow enough to enjoy the beauty of Kerala...God's own country!
After doing Kochi, we left for Kumarakom by road. Had booked two Meandering Pool Villas for three nights at Kumarakom. Waiting in excitement, we reached the main entry gate of the resort which when opened, opened the doors to "God's own Resort....".
Photos in Brochures, Catalogues and website are made more "attractive" to attract people, but once inside we realised, everything here was as natural and as beautiful as seen in photos. Never seen such a beautiful resort and thanks to the people behind it, I was complimented for making the right choice.
Ettukettu, the main restaurant is well placed with several delicacies served. We did not try the Vembanad Sea Food Bar overlooking Vembanad Lake. Thattukada, the Evening Tea Shop was enterprising serving hot tea or coffee with snacks everyday between 4.30 and 5.30 PM.
Cultural evenings that included dance or music was followed by dinner.
Evening sunset cruise is free and done daily. We took the evening sunset cruise on day one and backwater ride, on payment basis, on day two. Both were a wonderful experience. Always seen the Kerala backwaters in photos, it was a live experience for all. We couldn't stop clicking photos.
Second day, we all spent the evening sitting on the benches overlooking Vembanad lake near the main pool and admiring the beautiful and magnificient sunset. For a photo freak like me looking for that golden opportunity to click sunset with fishermen on their boats and birds flying west...it was an endless moment!!
Kumarakom Lake Resort is truly the most beautiful place on earth!!! It has Presidential Suits as well with private pools overlooking the lake for more private moments. It has everything for every age group. My children never felt bored...we all tried our hands in pot making and mat making. It is a place where one would love to come again seeing the beauty and hospitality.
We went from 17th to 20th May and the weather was excellent. Light cool breeze with lower humidity levels and whenever u felt uncomfortable, u could stay inside your cozy rooms fully airconditioned.
The staff is very friendly and courteous. A smile makes all the difference and during our stay, we made many friends. Sreejith & Neetu were exceptional. Thank You, both. And Hemant (Chhabra), how can I forget him as he was instrumental in planning my accommodation and getting reservations done. Thank you Hemant.It was truly a memorable holiday for the family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alok1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Sir ,

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us.

We have noted the suggestions you had given us during our conversation at the resort .

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Where should I begin, from the welcome drinks and reception, to the meandering pool villas/houseboats to the infinity swimming pool everything just stunning and flawless. There was a little tea stall and also a place for pottery, these little touches made the stay even more enjoyable. The room was decorated beautifully. The entire property is in fact maintained in a very good way. However, if I have to pick one fault, then it would be the taste of the food. It is not the greatest taste you will ever have. However, the menu was pretty elaborate. So overall, a great place to stay. We were a group of scientists and we thoroughly enjoyed the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dibyendu_trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Front Office Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback.

It is feedback from our guests like you who highlight the areas where we need to improve, that helps us to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and delightful stay with us, every time.
Your feedback regarding the taste of food mentioned by you has been taken up with the Chef.
Please be assured that the feedback given by you is being looked into.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
1.4 mi away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Property: Kumarakom Lake Resort
Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing