We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic relaxing retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Romantic relaxing retreat”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Heritage hotel situated on banks of lake- 2 hour drive from Cochin airport. Get away from it all type of resort- tranquillity and serenity. The rooms and suites have outdoor bathrooms- some with plunge pools. The food is average - speciality seafood restaurant and main restaurant which has a buffet selection - mainly vegetarian but quite comprehensive. I would definitely recommend a spa experience as Kerela is famous for the Ayurveda treatments. The hotel manager and staff are really willing to please.
There is a palm reader,astrologist , caracaturist ,magician who are available for guests to consult. Also great traditional tea and local treats served at tea time for guests to enjoy. A trip on a houseboat is a must!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    326
    90
    18
    27
See reviews for
567
707
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place has the best service I've ever experienced, and I've travelled A LOT. The only reason it's getting a 4 star is mainly because it's a wonderful place but not exactly in the BEST location. If you want to stay within the resort, though, I think it's definitely 4-5 stars. It's small and the history/heritage of these rooms is very interesting. The food is different every lunch and dinner - which is very impressive...and it's delicious! They also have free activities like pottery making and weaving and a boat ride around the lake (although the lake is quite boring...) They also have an ayurvedic spa/treatment centre which I've gone with quite often. It's an intriguing, old custom of India and it was certainly fun to try out. Overall, very very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klresort, General Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.We are happy to know that you were very happy with our services and facilities in particular your appreciation of Ayurmana,food,and other activities greatly appreciated.
Thank you for choosing to stay with Kumarakom Lake Resort and look forward to have you back with us.
With best regards
Joseph G Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lovely location.

Staff are awfully rude and will rarely do what is asked of them in time.

The hotel is lovely but is ridiculously overpriced for India.

Food is awful in the buffet, think school dinners for 14 pounds per person in India not including drinks!

You will pay 8 pounds for wifi that isn't included in the price!

You will pay 4 pounds for watered down beer.

Avoid.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acsmyth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is part of the SLH (Small Luxury Hotels of the World). We had a wonderful 2 days stay here to end our "tour" around central Kerala (Marari Beach, Boat, and here). It felt like a lot longer. In a good way. Where do I start?

The hospitality of this hotel does put every western "grand" hotel to shame. Nothing is too much for them, the sense of welcoming and a desire to make your stay memorable that can be the trademark of Asia. Sincere, attentive, discreet and easy. Hands down the best customer service I have seem in years. If not ever.

The resort itself (Garden, Pavilions, canals) is simply BEAUTIFUL. Decorated in classic Keralan style. There is a sense of luxury and simplicity combined that makes it special. The infinity pool is great,but the Mandering pool, at the steps of everyone's balcony, is a pure bliss. We had a Mandering Pool villa, from where you enter the pool directly. And can go around for ages!

Don't remember much about the food other than it was very good, and that the ambiance of the restaurant on the lake, in the evening, was discreet, intimate, classy.

It didn't come cheap. I remember I ran into a special but even with that, at the high season (early Jan) the cost was a shock. Worth every Rupee, though. I would do it again.

And while there, try their Ayurveda massages. They are Ayurveda certified (I think it's called "green Leaf"?). I am not a massage guy, but had it twice. Once it was the mud massage, and the second time the 4 hands massage. Not expensive but western standards and absolutely professional. Try it, highly highly recommended.

For the room, I wouldn't go with a Pavillion Room (too "hotel like" from the exterior of it). Mandering was a mid range option. And try to get the room 144. I got that tip from frommer's Guide. It's the last of the Villas in a Row, therefore it has the Lake view and a Gazebo next to it. So no one else uses it. We asked if we could barrow some mats to put on the lawn next to the balcony and these guy brought us the whole chair! It was quite a walk, and these things were heavy.

If you hesitate, simply don't. Splurge a bit. Go there. A good way to end a trip in beautiful Kerala.

Room Tip: If you go for the Mandering pool Villa (where you access the common pool from your room), ask for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klresort, General Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for showering praises on your experience at KLR.This definitely make us proud to be rated by a very seasoned traveller like you.
I shall share your review with our team and they will be delighted to receive such accolades and will give them a shot in the arm to excel in their performance .
Thank you for choosing Kumarakom Lake Resort for your holiday and look forward to have you stay with us again.
With warm regards
Joseph G Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked a 5 night package including Cochin, Thakkaday and houseboat along with few days at resort.
Pool villas are beautiful and so peaceful. Food was reasonable although a little expensive.
Highlight of the stay was the houseboat for a day and evening stay - great crew including personal chef.
Further our driver who met us from airport and stayed with us throughout was very professional, courteous and knowledgable - and fun.
Never thought India (sorry Kerala) would be that beautiful and friendly. Would return for sure.

Room Tip: Pool Villas!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanPSongdo_Korea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klresort, General Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of Kumarakom Lake Resort .We are happy to note that you enjoyed your trip to Kerala and found it so beautiful that you want to come back again .
We look forward to host you in your future visit to Kerala.
With warm regards
Joseph G Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Kumarakom but not in the rooms. We stayed a night on the houseboat and had such a good experience. The houseboat staff was superb. They were attentive and kept things very comfortable. The houseboat itself is very clean...we were very impressed. The bathroom was even better than some we had stayed in for actual hotels. You will enjoy the houseboat, but make sure to bring activities. the boats were not equipped with games and things to do so be sure to bring your own leisure activities. The food was great and we ordered some extra "biting" appetizers and wine!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klresort, General Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience on our boat on the trip advisor .
We are happy to note that you enjoyed the hospitality of our house boat staff ,and the facilities offered on the boat.
We look forward to have you return to Kumarakom and stay in our resort to experience the resort hospitality.
With warm regards
Joseph G Garcia
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Truly a place which makes u feel like the backwaters u have heard of! Yes KLR is a gem of kerala with its unique features and awesome location.Special Thanks to Punit from Antilog Vacations which provided us a very good and low priced kerala tour as per their reputation for no #1 for kerala AND booking KLR & Similar resorts making it a tour worth remembering.

The kumarakom resort in kumarakom is one of its kind resort that serves it guests the utmost comfort that a resort can. This is a lake resort and a very good one too. This lake resort is very nicely located surrounded by the river that helps in maintaining its climate and also boosts the scenery around it. This resort is also easily reachable by various means of transport too.

The ambience of this resort is really good. From the moment I entered here I was very warmly greeted by their staff. They welcomed me as if I was some regular guest even though I had never been here. I stayed with my family in their heritage lake villa that came with a personal pool. We were quickly ushered to our villa without much hassles which I really appreciate.

The staff at this resort was very good and decent. The staff here was of the very high standards considering the fact that this is a 5 star property as well!! The room service here is also very quick and good. The staff is also very helpful in arranging most of our tours as well. One can very easily get a feeling that they are being served by their own family only because of such a nice staff.

The rooms of the villa were really good and were well equipped. The furniture in the villa was also very comfy and good. My private pool was really good and well maintained as well. The courtyard in villa was also very neat and walking here early in the morning was really worth the experience!!

Their restaurant is also decent. Although they charge a bomb for d food I don’t think it serves that sort of value.may be they make money on food, so mo problem..since we hd a family we felt some heat to be honest!

Room Tip: say i d roms theyhv a useboat too which canbe avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sahil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klresort, General Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your detailed review .We are very happy that you rated us so high with your experience on the services and facilities offered by Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Warm regards
Joseph G Garcia
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
1.4 mi away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Property: Kumarakom Lake Resort
Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing