We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wevhad stayed over at the resort in Nov 2012. To say that we had a fabulous time would be an understatement! The welcome drink of chilled coconut water after a hot and humid journey was divine. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The kids had a blast in the private pool/jaccuzi as well as the swimming pool. The sunset cruise was a fitting end to a perfect day with mesmerising live music and the amazing backwaters!!! The breakfast spread was definitely fit for a king! The property is lush green ,beautiful and well maintained. The only fly in the ointment was that there were too many insects around at night time; though all possible precautions were taken by the resort,it was a tad irritating. The service was good and the staff courteous. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VrindaRaikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    331
    90
    19
    29
See reviews for
586
720
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The lush green grounds of this resort are very beautiful, with notices on many of the plants which tell you about their medicinal benefits.

We stayed in a meandering pool room. We were pleased with the room - it was a decent size and I really liked the openness of the semi-outdoor bathroom along with the frogs and geckos that came to visit the outdoor area during the night.

The service in the restaurant was pretty good and the food tasty. We really enjoyed the sunset cruise and the afternoon tea, which were complimentary.

The only minor annoyance was that during our 2-day stay, we were asked for feedback 3 times. The first was a phone call in the evening while we were in our hotel room, which I found intrusive. We were then asked to complete a survey in the restaurant and asked again for feedback when we were checking out. We had already given feedback about a noisy ceiling fan which the front desk staff seemed to be unaware of.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. It is a beautiful resort in a beautiful place, with good, clean amenities. The sunset cruise is memorable and was probably one of the highlights of our 9-day trip. The service was good, but maybe there could be a better process for feedback.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunk606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Aargau, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

KLR is a very nice resort in a lush garden right at water's edge. You can start your day with a refreshing dip in the pool direclty in front of your villa, then head for a free yoga session overlooking the lake, come back to your villa for an outdoor shower in your private little garden/bathroom, read the daily newspaper delivered to your room early morning before filling up with a full breakfast from the big buffet with freshly prepared Indian breakfast specialities or some french toast and fruits. Your day can be spent lying by the infinity pool overlooking the lake, lounging in a hammock or joining some hotel activities like pottery or a bicyling tour. It's also absolutely worth-while going for a backwater cruise for half a day. The complimentary daily sunset cruise with live music is another little extra, but can't replace a proper backwater cruise.
Overall I was very happy with my stay: the staff is very friendly and helpful and the resort is clean and the rooms very nicely appointed. The only down-side for me was the food, which wasn't exceptional and the choice of international dishes is rather small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YR_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klresort, General Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your appreciation of the facilities and services provided by Kumarakom Lake Resort .We are overwhelmed to note that we could delight you with our offerings.
Thank you for choosing to stay with Kumarakom Lake Resort and hope to have you with us soon.
With best regards
Joseph Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Really an experience of lifetime...right from the pickup from Cochin airport to drop to Cochin you will experience the special care...nicely landscaped resort, excellent rooms, excellent food, well maintained pool and other parts of the property. One should not miss various activities the resort offers - particularly, sunset cruse, backwater cruse in the morning and cultural program at night. Last but not least, can't finish the review without the mention of excellent service and always smiling resort staff. Really true tagline - perhaps the only paradise on earth!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There is a dearth of good hotels in this area unless you need the " plastic box " type accomodation.However this resort has worked overtime to make an island of serenity in the area and filled it with young helpful staff,tasty food,and even in the downpours of the tail end of a cyclone,a stay here is a great pleasure. IF? They are available a shared pool room makes all the difference and is worth the extra cost. THANKYOU Kumarakom for being so helpful in a difficult time and making our stay here such a pleasure.

Room Tip: If you can fund a shared pool room it is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent place to stay and full of activities was fun to stay with my family a very friendly resort staff. The resort has kept the traditional approach which makes thing very lively. the evening dinner is very good with live music and also one cannot forget the sunset boat ride with live music which makes the trip and stay memorable. In whole the resort is managed and maintained well. I also loved the morning yoga and the traditional spa

Room Tip: Luxury Pavilion is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was indeed wonderful stay at Kumarkom Lake Resort which we really enjoyed. My daughter loves the place so much that she is asking when to go back their again. The entire staff were very courteous and we really enjoyed their hospitality. It was really electrifying stay their. We all enjoyed our holidays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeeb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
712 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
338 reviews
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.4 mi away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Property: Kumarakom Lake Resort
Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing