We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
bromsgrove, worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise on earth”
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Spent a couple of days relaxing at this resort during a tour of the Kerala backwaters. It is a splendid five star facility, probably the best of several on the shores of Vembanad Lake.

" A hotel to die for" is the description one American guest gave it and it is not hard to see why. First rate accommodation, food and service in the most peaceful and tranquil of surroundings. A birdwatcher's paradise with a local sanctuary nearby.

Accommodation is in two storey bungalows that give direct access to the swimming pool which meanders through most of the resort. A beautiful rain shower open air bathroom and two television sets with dvd's etc; and a king size top quality bed for your sleeping comfort.

There are two restaurants, one serving International buffet food with limited a la carte and the other a fish restaurant serving splendid local delicacies such as Blackfish served on a banana leaf with a spicey sauce. The fish restaurant borders on to Vembanad Lake. Both restaurants have evening entertainment and cultural dancing displays.

The hotel has a great pool scene,and also offers fishing, boating and Ayurvedic massage, yoga and meditation classes. From here we took a one night rice barge cruise around Vembanad Lake and the Backwaters - NOT TO BE MISSED if you are in this area as it is a wonderful experience. The hotel will arrange a cruise for you but we booked locally with Mahoot Tours, a highly reputable company based in Alleppy [--].

Our only grumble was that with the benefit of hindsight we should have stayed longer!

  • Liked — the superb bed and rain shower bathroom
  • Disliked — Climbing stairs at night to get to the bathroom.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bromsgrovian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    329
    90
    19
    29
See reviews for
580
719
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
charwood525
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2008

After reading all the reviews, I expected this hotel to be the highlight of our trip, but it wasn't. Very touristy and our room didn't even have a terrace. We were locked in our air conditioning 5 star bubble. It's a lovely hotel, but it lacks the character of so many other wonderful smaller hotels in India. The Brunton, Paradisa, Visalem, etc. We stayed three nights and it was lovely, but not really worth it in my opinion and its expensive.

  • Liked — Lovely pool and great boat ride
  • Disliked — no terrace.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank charwood525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

I am not surprised that Kumarakom Lake Resort has won the accolade of 'India's Leading Resort' for 2007 for the second year running. We held our daughter's wedding there in Dec 2007 and I cannot speak highly enough of the staff and the resort. We had previously visited it in July in order to see everything for ourselves.It is run by an extremely efficient and professional manager and he gave us the confidence to hold a wedding nearly 8000 miles away. We had 60 guests at the wedding and almost half of the guests stayed at KLR and most were there for 3+ days.

They arranged a pre-wedding dinner, a vegetarian wedding feast at lunchtime on the day of the wedding and a special seafood banquet in the evening when they magically recreated a fishing village in their grounds. It was just like walking into a fairytale set with twinkling blue lights. Everything was done with great taste and nothing was too much. They also arranged a backwater cruise for all the guests the following day.

We were greeted with smiles when we entered the hotel and there were smiles throughout our stay. Each and every member of staff took great pride in his/her work. It mattered to each one that we were happy and satisfied. They were on hand at all times of the day including 4am when we needed their help. On another occasion when my son suddenly fell ill around midnight with a 24hr bug,he was looked after by numerous people who came in with fruit juices and tender coconut and attended to his every need.

The food is something that we still remember. The chef had meticulously planned the menus and emailed then to me many months before. The buffets and the seafood banquet with huge prawns and crabs were sensational.

The service offered by KLR is second to none. After our four days in Kumarakom we did a tour of Rajasthan and we stayed at the Rambagh in Jaipur, Lake Palace Hotel in Udaipur and Umaid Bhawan in Jodhpur but none of them except perhaps the Rambagh (food at KLR was much much better) came up to the exacting standards set by KLR.

  • Liked — Authentic re creation of heritage kerala houses. Also meandering pool going through some of the villas makes whole place feel very tranquil
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank painter2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights at the KL Resort, together with our 2 children. We shared a Duplex Pool Villa which allowed us to walk into the pool straight from our room. Really felt like heaven on earth.
After 2 nights in the hotel we stayed at a houseboat for 1 night and toured the backwaters. Great fun, very relaxt and even good fun for the kids!

KL resort, we'll be back!

  • Liked — Service level
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This is a beautiful resort overlooking the main Kerala backwaters lake. Before I went I had the impression it was going to be rustic and a little basic, but it is in fact v.luxurious with v.good rooms, a big main pool on the water's edge and a "meandering pool" which, as the name suggests, meanders through the villas making up the resort.
My only criticism is that the feel of the place is "international" in the sense that it's not really India as you could be at any luxury resort anywhere in the world - Florida, Thailand, Philippines etc.
If you feel the need to escape from the pampered luxury, Kumarakom village is walking distance and quite pretty; Kottayam is 20 kms away and not worth the journey.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

A perfect Kerala experience.. unmatched!! :) i have lived my life in Kerala till jan 07, then moved into Dublin, Ireland since then. I have been to KLR many a times and i still love to be there. A true Kerala expererience, the heritage of Kerala is living in the property. Great food, restaurants, rooms (i love the meandering pool villas). im sure the private pool villas will be a class outstanding. i always felt at home in KLR. great hospitality, even to the lowest level of staff which is something great compared to outside parties.

it has always been a peaceful break, i would say a total get away! Highly recommended for honey mooners!! business brainz, families and anyone who wanna jus run away for a break! totally relaxing expereince.

  • Liked — Heritage inside the room, open air toilets,and i loved the floor.
  • Disliked — nothin much
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander_Kuruvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2007

This place is simply great !!! I am my wife were there for our honeymoon for 5 nights and simply loved it. It was so good that we were just not wanting to leave. The service is outstanding - genuine, warm , friendly and curteous, the food superb and the setting fantastic. We stayed in the meandering pool villa with the open air bathroom and it was really comfortable. The facilities are great and nicely maintained and the staff go out of the way to take care of your needs. The night in the houseboat is an experience of a lifetime. Things like excellent buffet and seafood, the sunset cruise with a flute performance, the daily cultural programs in the evening (one such kathak kali dance performance was amazing), massage and spa, health club, hammocks... I could just go on and on... make it a memorable experience. The food and alcohol prices were reasonable too - Rs. 200 for a big bottle of kingfisher beer. I definitely and strongly recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a wonderful relaxing time. We felt so comfortable that we moved outside of the resort only once and that too because the resort included the trip to Kottayam as part of our package. Great resort for a great holiday !!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
701 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.5 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
337 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Property: Kumarakom Lake Resort
Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing