We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed with check in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

our stay at this resort was a little disappointing. After travelling for 7 hours by car to the resort we were told that the resort was fully booked and that our room which we had already paid for and booked from canada-was taken.To make matters worst they suggested that we go to another resort down the road. After much discussion we were finally given the room that we had booked . The rooms are a bit dark and lighting inside is poor.however the meandering pools just outside our room was delightful.Beware the prices at the spa .

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarojadevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,408 - 1,414 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the resort and 1 night in the houseboat. Both were excellent. The resort is well maintained and the view of the lake is absolutely fascinating. We enjoyed the private pool, the delicious keralan food, the smiling service.... The best part of our travel was the houseboat...we loved it. The crew was friendly and the chef was amazing, prepared less spicy food on request. To sum it up, awesome!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eunju_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our stay at Kumarakom Lake Resort in Dec.11 was amazing. It was one of the best times we had spent and will definately cheris the memories for long. The ambeiance is superb. The services standards are truly 5 ***** and its a value for money experiance..... Wish we cud stay for few more days.... Next time we are in Kerala a stay at the resort is without fail....

Room Tip: Take a Vila by the swimming pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jigneshdesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Excellent resort. We stayed for 4 nights of which one night was on the houseboat. Service both at the resort and the houseboat was excellent.

Only one concern was the cleanliness of the lavaratory when we checked in to the houseboat. But this was immediately rectified when pointed out. The staff member on the house boat was also very apologetic.

My husband and I put on a few kgs with the excellent food (so much variety!).

Will definitely come back during off peak time.

Room Tip: You can see a bit of the lake from all rooms. Pick a room depending on your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at KLR for a couple of nights followed by another 5 nights in Kovalam (The Leela) and we had a wonderful time. The driver promptly picked us up and made sure we were comfortable and we had a lovely welcome on arrival. The staff could not do more for us. This hotel has been true to its roots and managed to retain the original Keralan features of the buildings and has beautiful wooden carvings and antique ornaments everywhere. We stayed in a meandering pool villa and this was very special as it's a beautiful large pool right on our doorstep. The villa itself was beautiful decorated in a traditional style which we loved and it was very romantic. The outdoor bathroom and toilet was a surprise but it's completely private and there no mosquitos at all and we enjoyed the novelty of it!
Food was very good and breakfast was varied and plentiful. The musical performances over dinner were really impressive and I would thoroughly recommend the sunset cruise which is complimentary. Evening tea at the "tea stall" is also complimentary and we loved sitting there enjoying the sunset which eating the delicious snacks that were brought to us with our tea and coffee- fabulous views across the lake..sigh... Even if you stay in a meandering pool villa, do go and use the infinity pool as it's just fabulous - one could never tire of that view, especially with beautiful houseboats drifting into view every so often. Staff are always attentive and happy to bring drinks and towels to you. In some ways, KLR had spoiled us as the service we received at The Leela Kovalam was not a scratch on this. It really has a boutique feel and the staff really care about their clients' experience. KLR also organised our car transfer to Kovalam which was comfortable too. In summary, I cannot recommend this place more ...if we'd have stayed longer, we'd have loved to combine this with a backwaters trip on a non-motorised boat near Alleppey (motors can spoil the tranquility of the experience). We did a backwaters trip in Poovar near Kovalam but Alleppey is better I have heard.
Another must-do- the ayurvedic massage! -AMAZING! I am a massage-snob and had the all-over body massage by two people synchronously (sorry, can't remember the name of it) and forced my husband to have one too and we both loved it and felt rejuvenated after our long flight and car journey.

Room Tip: I can strongly recommend the meandering pool villa - it was beautiful and to have a pool like that o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0_the_Expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The service was awesome. The staff is ver attentive. When u finish something, they are right there to ask if you need more. The resort is very clean. Views of the lake are breathtaking. The food quality was also great. Not too many kids there, so it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raj3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

excellent property. multiple activities to keep everybody busy of all age groups.stayed in meandering pool villas. excellent rooms with open air washrooms. very comfortable stay. good service. although service at dinner time at the restaurant for ala carte menu order was very poor. restaurant manager took special care after the complaint. service of mighil & sebastian is worth special mention.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shalini1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
814 reviews
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
352 reviews
4.3 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.3 mi away
Lake Palace Family Resort
Lake Palace Family Resort
#21 of 26 in Kumarakom
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $316 - $1,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing