We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay for a night”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kumarakom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edassery Kayal Resort
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for a night”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Edassery Kayal resort is situated in a good place with the lake just beyond the resort. This makes for a beautiful view both from the back porch or your room. The rooms were well furnished but the mini fridge was not working and smelled moldy. The food was also not up to the standards expected from such a resort. The food got over very soon and took a long time to be replaced leaving us quite dissatisfied with the service.
Choose this place if you are looking at a very short stay (1 -2 days).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhimty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband n I booked this Resort for 2 nights on the advise of our travel agent. We were told that it is a four star hotel but its barely a two star.
On arrival we were taken to our room which was so dirty,dusty n smelly. There were cob webs all around. the cupboard were dirty. it looked like the room hadnt been cleaned for months.The bed sheets were stained. We asked them to vacuum n clean the room n change the bed sheets. The fresh bedsheets that the staff brought had stains on them too. Finally they found a sheet which had less stains.
The restaurant n bar were closed for the entire time we were there. Their excuse was that there had been a incident in the kitchen. They kept transporting us to other resorts for our meals.(included in our package) We asked them to shift us to a different resort but they refused citing objections from the agent.
The staff was lax,unfriendly , unresponsive and indifferent to any of our grievances.
The only saving grace was the pool where we spent our time.
The resort was virtually empty n other than us there was just one more family.
The resort is well built but not properly maintained by the staff.
I would advise all tourist to steer clear of the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank payal-biswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is beautifully located facing the lake from the front and the beauty of nature in the back. the view from the room is awesome and the swimming poos is nice as well. I loved too much the view from my room overlooking the sunrise and sunset as well as the wooden boats.

the room was nice and clean, the equipment were in good conditions, however the following points need to be considered:

It has central AC but doesn't function properly
TV channels didn't have any Arabic Channel
Breakfast was not rich, maybe the occupancy was too low that day!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Kayal is a great property.... lots of money spent on exteriors, great pool and overall view is awesome... Theres not much money nor time spent to enhance interior services such as AC does not work properly....they have kept mini fridge in the room but does not work.... restaurant does not have much of a choice of food.... overall for a 7200/- of premium price I would've expected decent service equivalent to atleast a 4star.... disappointed!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priya005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The experience in this resort was really good. The place is very well kept and has a unique feature that all the rooms are facing the lake. we were lucky to get the first room in ground Floor facing the lake which has a nice garden in front where you can spend hours watching the lake. The staff is quite friendly and in case you want a boat ride or housebot ride they will make the arrangements. The food in the restaurant was also quite good. You can spend a decent amount of time in the pool. Overall a nice experience and you will definitely ahve a good time with your family.

Room Tip: Hands down, room in ground floor which faces the garden and the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gargi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

went to this hotel after seeing it online.
was very disappointed,the rooms were nice and spacious but apart from that there is nothing else,
room service is not available,it is upto the staff what they want u to eat,food quality was ok but again u had no choice but to eat what the give u,pool was dirty,the only decent thing in the property was the river view.
suggestion pls think twice before u go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay in edaseery kayal resort.good resort with spacious rooms. clean pool.bf was tasty.service is good.check in was quick.santosh took very goid care of us.u need a good resort in kumarakom since theres not much to do other then bird sanctury and backwater boat ride and kayal serves that purpose.good resort to relax.will recomend to frnds.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.0 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manor Backwater Resort
Manor Backwater Resort
#18 of 26 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Green Fields Kumarakom
Green Fields Kumarakom
#16 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#12 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edassery Kayal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edassery Kayal Resort

Property: Edassery Kayal Resort
Address: Ward # 09, Block#12, near Nasrath Church, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Edassery Kayal Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edassery Kayal Hotel Kumarakom
Edassery Kayal Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing