We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the days i can't forget!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backwater Heritage Homestay
Ranked #1 of 14 Kumarakom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2010

i would like to thank Mr Xavier joseph and his family for making our stay so pleasant and unforgettable here.Till date,i have never had such such sweet tender coconut water.A boat ride in the river, a walk to the paddy field, and the fish pond was awesome.It was remarkable because of Mr Xavier's friendly nature,hospitality and his humility.We were served very nice food,cooked by his wife.
overall,awesome experience,first and best of its kind for me.I'll definitely recommend this place to anyone who visits kumarakom.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
Thank benjam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 250 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is a wonderful homestay run by Mr. Xavier Joseph and his family. It is pretty bungalow located on the banks of a tributary of the Meenachil river, situated between Kottayam and Kumarakom.

We arrived at Kottayam Rail station early in the morning and had to take a rickshaw to the homestay. Mr. Xavier explained to the driver how to get to his place which is about 8 km away. The Joseph family had to attend a function that day but they had been very gracious and kept a perfect Kerala lunch ready for us, including fried 'Karimeen' fish.

The room was very cosy and we decided to use the a.c. as the climate was quite hot and humid. The food served up by Mrs. Joseph was quite tasty and not very spicy. For breakfast we would be served idlis, puttu, with yummy sambar and chutney, followed by juice of mangoes from their garden. Of course, bananas could be had from the garden at any time of the day. We got a taste of many home cooked Kerala recipes in the three days we spent here.

Mr. Xavier was always available to guide us about the best places to visit. He showed us snakeboat parked across the river. Next day we took a backwater cruise to Kumarakom Lake in a covered motorboat arranged by him. Another day he had a canoe at our disposal at just Rs.100 for the full day! On the last day he drove us to Ayamenem and showed us Arundhati Roy's house.

Backwater Heritage Homestay is the best place if you want to get away from it all and spend a quiet vacation and still feel as if you had not left home!

Thanks to Mr. & Mrs. Joseph and their family for making us feel at home in God's Own Country.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EkMusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Xavier`s place is heaven on earth with beautiful garden and lovely mansion. We enjoyed the nature and the close contact with the locals very much. We understood that Family Joseph is quite new in the homestay business, therefor they are still not on the top with meeting guests expectations. One looks forward when the hosts are attentive, by supplying the guests with bottled water and toilet paper without asking for it. Xavier also had few suggestions with the trips in the backwaters, however without making the facts clear: the costs, the directions, the duration of the trip. Before going there, ask them about all possible costs involved like transfer, dinner, etc. to avoid any misunderstandings.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macicadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

This place is in NOWHERE (9.624300N, 76.480431E).
Although I was told by Xaviar the place is 3km from Kumarakom, it turned out it is 6km away if you use the canals (which obviously you can't) but more like 12km on the road (which cost us another 200 INR to get there, and another 30 minutes to look for the place as nobody knew where it was).

While there, you are pretty 'trapped'. There is nothing within walking distance, and since there are no means of public transportation in the village, you can spend the time either at the house or go on a trip with Xaviar (you will be charged nicely for it when you leave, but you won't be told in advance).
You don't have where to eat either, and unfortunately Xaviar's wife is not much of a cook. Meals were monotonous, dull, and overly priced.

And although Xaviar has promised to take us to the train station at Kottayam, Xaviar's car, which was used to drive his daughter an hour earlier, has 'suddenly broke down' immediately after we settled the bill, so we had to take a rickshaw to the station.

Room was large but unclean.

Although we liked the garden overlooking the canal, and Xaviar is a nice guy who tries to make your time enjoyable (he asked his worker to go with us on the canoe), at the end it turned out to be a bad choice, which, with all the extras payment for meals and travel due to the place remoteness (and some greed), also cost us much more than the net room price (1500 INR), and turned to be one of the more expensive places we stayed at while in Kerala.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We were welcomed by Mr and Mrs Joseph to their beautiful home right in the heart of the backwaters in Kerala and treated like part of the family. Their home is a lovely "British colonial-style" house surrounding by the most peaceful and beautiful garden. Here we relaxed and watched the quiet life on the canal - plus Mr Joseph took us for one activity every day to explore the area around - including having a go on one of the local canoes. The meals, cooked by Mrs Joseph mostly from ingredients grown in their garden or from their fish pond, were truly wonderful. An unforgettable experience, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SashaRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Josephs' homestay at Aymenam was certainly the high point of our south Kerala trip this winter. It was homestay in every sense - an 'at home' experience being a part of the host family, enjoying thoughtfully & carefully prepared food (our grateful thanks to Mrs. Joseph) and the charm of the beautiful garden, going around the backwaters in a boat and being led by Mr. Joseph on a sight-seeing tour of the village (including his magnificent snake boats and the experience of rowing a country boat under his guidance).

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DilrajCalcutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle Zimmer sind schön, mehrere Gebäude auf dem Grundstück.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CarMio4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backwaterheritage, Owner at Backwater Heritage Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.8 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
3.6 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
113 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
4.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
766 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwater Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Heritage Homestay

Address: Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686015, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kumarakom
Price Range: $29 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Backwater Heritage Homestay Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing