We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backwater Heritage Homestay
Ranked #1 of 14 Kumarakom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Mr. And Mrs. Joseph!
Right from trying to make our reservations at the Backwater Heritage to the houseboat rentals, car rental, sight seeing, everything was well handled and taken care of by Mr. Joseph.
The stay at Backwater Heritage was such a great experience! It felt like we were at our home away from home! If you are looking for the comfort of a home, this is the place to stay while traveling in Kerela.
The warmth of their hospitality is amazing. Both Mr. And Mrs. Joseph always wear a smile on their face and are always ready to help. The meals were delicious served by Mrs. Joseph.
They have a wonderful helping hand at their Homestay who is equally at your service when you need him.
I wish them all the best and would refer this Homestay to one and all to visit and stay at least once while in Kerela.
I am ready to go back during my next visit back home.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backwaterheritage, Owner at Backwater Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for spending your precious time for writing a wonderful feedback.Hope that you would give me another opportunity to serve you again in future. .All the best! Xavier Joseph, Ph: 91-4812516375. Mobile: 91-9745286358. Mail at:mxavierkutty@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    51
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
84
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
172 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Although we agree that Xavier and his wife are lovely people, and the food was nice enough, we really feel that the rooms could do with a bit of love and attention. We stayed in the main house, and honestly think that it was basic for the price we paid, comparing it to some of the other places we stayed in Kerala. The bed had the average thin mattress, same as any £10 a night homestay (but this one was double that), towels were very thin and tired and the walls could do with a lick of paint, some hangings, some colour... something to make it look less like granny's house! The dining room was very bare and a few tables and chairs outside the main house, under the mango tree, would have been really appreciated - would have been so much nicer to sit and have breakfast there. So, although we have no major complaints, and we enjoyed our two nights there, there is certainly room for improvement!

Room Tip: From reading other reviews, it seems that the rooms in the annex house are better - they certainly h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backwaterheritage, Owner at Backwater Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for the feedback.Really i was forced to provide this room for you since other rooms already reserved though it was going on its maintenance.Now it is finished its repairing and have made suitable for accommodation.Hope that you would give me another opportunity to serve you again in future.Best wishes! Xavier Joseph,Ph:91-4812516375. Mobile: 91-9745286358.mail at:mxavierkutty@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Myself and my partner Karen had a lovely stay in mid-january. We were looking for somewhere quiet to stay whilst experiencing the backwaters and wanted to avoid the hustle and bustle of Alleppey.

It is fairly remote so make sure you have Xavier's phone number so your driver can call for directions (as ours did on numerous occasions!). We stayed in the separate building and the room was great, clean and tidy, even a house plant, which was a nice touch. The food cooked expertly by Xavier's wife will be the best you will have in Kerala, I have no doubt about it, absolutely delicious! The garden is beautiful and the situation right next to a canal is brilliant.

In terms of exploring the backwaters we took Xavier's wooden canoe for a short evening trip around the local canals, which is well worth it, especially as you can access the smallest of canals (cost 800r). Xavier also organised a houseboat for us from Kumarakom, again we had a great experience, well recommended. If you get the chance take a small motor boat back from Kumarakom, two hours trip or so, its a nice way to see the canals.

If you are looking for somewhere very relaxed and have a good book to hand this is a great place to stay, not to mention the food!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backwaterheritage, Owner at Backwater Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for spending your precious time for writing an excellent feedback .Hope that you would give me another opportunity to serve you again in future. Best wishes! Xavier Joseph,Ph:91-4812516375.Mobile:91-9745286358.Mail at;mxavierkutty@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

A truly great place to relax and enjoy the warmth of Kerala. I stayed here with my parents for 2 nights and had a really lovely time. It was very easy to relax as we had all three rooms in the separate building surrounded by a great veranda to lounge around on. These rooms are probably preferable from the ones in the main house, simply furnished but immaculately clean and spacious.

This is the sort of place to come if you want to really experience every day local life rather than being closed off in a resort. Just walking along the backwaters you get to meet locals and immerse yourself in the ebb and flow of local life. It's not near anything in particular so you have to accept you are there to relax.

Lovely cooked the most fantastic food for us - definitely the best we had the whole trip - healthy, tasty and well thought out.

If I ever write a novel this is where I'd come to have total seclusion. Fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate building are probably more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backwaterheritage, Owner at Backwater Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for spending your precious time for writing a wonderful feed back.Hope that you would give me another opportunity to serve you again in future .Best wishes! Xavier Joseph, Ph:91-4812516375. Cell:91-9745286358. Mail at :mxavierkutty@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

My mother and I stayed here over Christmas 2013 for two nights. Xavier and his wife Lovely are very hospitable and gracious hosts. We enjoyed getting to know them (and their son who was home for Christmas). Xavier was very patient with answering my many queries even before we got to Kerala. They have a beautiful traditional home away from the big tourist hotels, right on a quiet and peaceful canal near the village. We stayed in one of the comfortable cottage rooms across the main house, surrounded by a lovely porch and garden. Xavier helped organize our houseboat trip, taxis, massages, canoes and even arranged to buy us the banana and jackfruit chips. We took a walk on one of the village lanes alongside paddy fields, admired the pride of the village - the snake boat, and an early morning canoe ride. Lovely cooked tasty vegetarian food for us. The boat ride from the homestay to Vembanad lake was one of the most scenic ever. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat and want to experience a slice of local life, this is the place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank VandanaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here four night and got more and more relaxed each day. Not in a tourist area but right where the locals live. A very lovely location right on a river with rice paddy fields, dusty paths, lots of coconut trees etc. The rooms are simple and basic but comfortable and clean. There were five of us so we had all three rooms in the separate cottage with a lovely huge porch. There are also hammocks and swings to lie on and relax. Mr Xavier and his wife were very friendly. Mr Xavier was very efficient and helpful. Anything we needed in the way of vehicles, boats, yoga instructors, massage etc were right on time. HIs wife is a good cook and they will accommodate to your needs. One member of our group was not fond of spicy food and they made sure the food was ok for him. The Kerala style food was good. The five of us loved it here and could have stayed longer, doing nothing in a beautiful idyllic part of India and the world.

Room Tip: The rooms in the cottage are in a good location on the river, and the huge porch is wonderful for si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arunk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backwaterheritage, Owner at Backwater Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for spending your precious time for writing a wonderful feed back.Hope that you would give me another opportunity to serve again in future. Best wishes! Ph:91-4812516375. Mobile:91-9745286358. Mail at: mxavierkutty@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights, firstly with friends and then on my own. Being a homestay, Xavier and his wife Lovely provide gentle hospitality and wonderful, home-cooked Kerala meals. It felt very relaxed to be in such peaceful surroundings (thankfully the Spanish group who made such inappropriate complaints - very loudly! - left the morning after our arrival...) and it's a good location for walking around the local village, observing life in the backwaters away from the tourist influence.
If you're looking for a touristy hotel experience, don't stay here. If you're looking for a real home-based experience, this is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer garden extension are spacious and have their own veranda. Rooms in the house are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecksSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.8 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
4.6 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
3.6 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwater Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Heritage Homestay

Property: Backwater Heritage Homestay
Address: Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686015, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Backwater Heritage Homestay Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing