We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful little place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backwater Heritage Homestay
Ranked #1 of 16 Kumarakom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I actually found this place through Tripadvisor, and decided on it based on the good reviews it had received. I can tell you that it lived up to every expectation and more.

Mr Joseph and his wife are great hosts, and go out of their way to make you as comfortable as possible. Mrs Joseph is an ace cook, and the Syrian Christian dishes she whips up are superb - real home-style stuff, and as much as you can eat.

The property is set away from the hustle and bustle of the outside world, and is an old ancestral home that's been converted into a home stay. The rooms are simple, spotlessly clean and comfortable, the garden is a lovely place to sit and have a coffee in and the river flowing right past the house is fantastic as well.

I had the good fortune of having the entire place to myself during my stay, and the misfortune of falling violently ill as well (it had nothing to do with the place or the food, I hasten to add). Mr Joseph could not possibly have been more helpful - he took me to the local hospital and stayed with me right through the few hours that I spent there seeing a doctor and being attended to.

I have no hesitation in highly recommending this place to anyone planning a trip to Kumarakom!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pchaterji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 264 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lovely no-frills cottage with abundant grounds, greens, canals, mango trees, banana trees, coconut groves, fish pond. In Aymanam village, 20 minutes drive from Kumarakom. Excellent home cooked meals and the family's rare breed of hospitality makes this a very special place. As the other reviewers have noted, Xavier Kutty can organize everything for you - cruise, massage, excursions - and even drives you to most places himself . But don't come here with the intention to ' do' things. Just sit still, enjoy the tranquility, watch the butterflies, paint, write poetry. A true gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodfood65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We spent one night in this homestay, last week end with my parents. It is a quiet and peacefull place, in the middle of the Backwaters. The family is very welcoming, and cheerful. Food was great. The owner took us to the 50 meters boat of the village. It's been a great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spent one night here while en route to Kumily and could have happily spent longer. Great hospitality, excellent food and clean, comfortable rooms. Xavier can organise anything you want in terms of backwater excursions. I only had time for a short canoe ride but it was most enjoyable. I may well return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

During our trip to Kerala we spent two nights at this place. We found it while surfing on the web and we were not disappointed by what we got there. The owner and his family are very hospitable and make your stay the best possible. He can also book a trip on a houseboat for you, recommend the best places for massage... And the food is really authentic home cooked food! The homestay is located in a remote area (not easy to find), alongside a canal, and it is very relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcvaldelievre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at Backwater Heritage Homestay for one night - and wished we could have stayed much more! The couple is very welcoming, and very generous with their guests. The food is absolutely great - home-cooked, authentic and in very, very generous portions. The location is right on the backwaters as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I highly recommend Joseph Xavier's lush and comfortable homestay. I met lovely guests, enjoyed delicious food, and returned again with my son, after first traveling with a friend. The family is so gracious and helpful and the atmosphere so soothing. I only hope I have the chance to go back. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable and as a host Joseph and his family are wonderful and will generously provide a memorable time. The location is absolutely lovely and one can walk around and see the local life. The highlight of our trip! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.8 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
3.4 mi away
Lake Palace Family Resort
Lake Palace Family Resort
#19 of 26 in Kumarakom
42 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
362 reviews
5.3 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
4.9 mi away
Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backwater Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Heritage Homestay

Address: Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686015, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kumarakom
Price Range: $31 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Backwater Heritage Homestay Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing