We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location; Quite laid back !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor Backwater Resort
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful location; Quite laid back !”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights on New Year eve. It is a quite, peaceful and beautiful property with superb view of lake from the room. Hotel arranged nice entertainment incl. fireworks on 31-Dec which was enjoyable. There is nothing much that you can do in Kumarakom so the hotel should be such that provides in house activities, this property fits this criteria to some extent with a swimming pool & a table tennis room.

Room: Spacious, cosy and well euipped (no electronic safe, toileteries below average).
Beverages/Food: Taste is OK, Quantity is good, Pricing slightly on higher side.
Staff: Housekeeping not that prompt but helpful.
Room service: Prompt & friendly.

I would specifically like to mention two employees for their excellent service & support :
1) Mr. Larry, Asst. Manager at front office.
2) Mr. Kiran, Asst. Manager at restaurant.
They made our stay a 'Feel at Home' experience.

Negatives:
# I felt that the tariff is slightly overpriced. The level of professionalism was not in tune with a 4* property.
# Overall the whole atmosphere was quite extra laid back incl. the manager of the hotel. They were quite warm and friendly though. (This is something that I found in most of the Kerala hotels).
# Resort is 200 m inside the main road, there is no signboard at the turn on main road and there is no lighting from turn to hotel which looks quite scary & is unsafe in the night.
# There is no bar in hotel, you are allowed to drink only inside your room. Nearest liqour shop is 2 kms away, closes at 8 pm and sells only beer and vodka.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shashank1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    23
    14
    20
See reviews for
77
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Satara, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for two nigths. good location, good rooms with balcony, and great view from rooms. great hotel for to be romantic. they also have swiming pool, tabletanis,fitness center and many thing u can do, or stay in the room and watch nature,they also provide free internet in room if u have laptop with u. Because of odd season they had limited food recipes. but it was good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pravinmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nabha
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

ist time i stayed at night with waters just 50 mitres away.we stayed at ground floor.Hotel was nice.in dinner only buff system was there there was no other option so we had to pay Rs 800 for both.we had no other option.it is outside so cant go anywhere to eat in night.in evening we ordered some snacks.it took around 30 min for the delivery.so service was not good.they arranged a boat for us that was a good thing.Hotel room contains nice LCD TV , AC and refrigerator.Overall it was just above average.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurpreet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

After spending 4 days in Kochi, we decided to head south into the backwaters and stay for a night at this hotel, the website looked wonderful and I couldn't wait for a relaxing night here. On arrival there was total confusion about our booking, after half hour we were finally shown to our room. On face value it looked fine, but on closer inspection, the bed sheets were dirty, the bathroom was grubby and quite unclean, the towels smelt terrible, there were tons of dead flies and bugs on our balcony, layers of grim on our in room fridge, all a bit of a let down. Still we thought we would eat, the restaurant is more like a small warm conservatory, they didn't have half of the menu and when our food arrived it was pretty shocking, we ordered Indian food in the hope that it would be better but it was terrible. The coffee tasted of washing up liquid and grease - we couldnt drink it. The pool was floating with dead flies and grimy on the bottom, the sunbeds were covered in biting ants, it was not good. In the evening we went to the Zuri hotel for dinner (lovely hotel) and as we left we noticed tons of birds in the wooden ceiling that were dropping all over the reception floor, the staff found this amusing that i was horrified, the hotel main reception was covered in bird muck, it was foul, and no-one bothered to clean it up! The views were lovely, but that was all! The managment have just lost their enthusiasm it appears.

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — Food, unclean, to many male staff for no reason
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChilliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kumarakom hotels

Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2010

i just returned from a 2 day stay at Manor and the only thing disappointing was when I had to leave ! the location is absolutely dreamy and I found myself totally rejuvenated at the end of my stay there.
make sure you ask for a water front room because they have the bbetter view even though they cost the same as the canal view rooms. the rooms are spacious and very well done, the pool is a healthy size and the restaurant though a little small has the best view from the entire resort.
the people at the front desk and the restaurant are ever so helpful though room service was a tad slow.
overall the local, the views and the people are excellent and its a must stay at if your looking at the 3 star segment

  • Liked — room interiors and view
  • Disliked — speed of food service
  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank poorniiyengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2010

i had not known about this hotel but chose it on the recommendation of my travel agent. I read a few reviews on trip adviser and saw mixed reviews but the agent said its a new property and only in the first few months things were being put in place and now it a good place to holiday. i took his word and decided to go for it.
i was pleasantly surprised, the resort is beautiful, the welcome from the staff was nice and the rooms had an excellent view.
the room service could have been more prompt but apart from that i thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of my stay there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pranayparikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2010

This resort gets an "F" for customer service. Terrible. Terrible. Terrible. We spent more time yelling at the personnel, than enjoying the resort.

DAY 1: We ordered room service upone arrival. Six phone calls later, we finally managed to get two orders of sandwiches, fries and drinks. With each phone call, came with each item ----in piecemeal.

DAY 2: Straight out of a Seinfeld episode: the room service menu MAY SAY you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner between x and y times, but that doesn't mean you can actually GET ROOM SERVICE. The next day, we ordered lunch at 2pm, and the man at the other end of the line said the kitchen was "under renovation. No room service for you!" The manager will look at you blandly and direct you to the only option available, which is "buffet."
Why?
"It's peak season, madame."

Nowhere is that written. Either on the menu. Or in the resort.

We got ayurvedic massages to relax. The hour of bliss was destroyed the minute we learned: "All services must be paid in cash." The BACKWARD MANOR doesn't have the ability to process credit card transactions--AT ALL. Not for your food. Not for your massage. But they will escort you to the nearest ATM if you want....

No. I don't want.

The final straw? Sick of all the food-related antics, we went to another resort to eat. Upon our return at 11:20 pm, the taxi driver charged us 600 rupees! for a 3 kilometer ride. This, by the way, is payable only to the hotel front desk, which is in cahoots with the taxi company. But we couldn't settle up, because the outside gate to the resort was closed. We had to crawl over the 10 foot wall that separates the resort from the outside-- to let ourselves in. The gatekeeper was AWOL. The three guys at the desk will just stare at you as you explain what happened. Berlitz needs to come in and teach someone English here-FAST!

Do yourself a favor and stay at the Zuri. That's where we went for dinner every night.
The 600 bloody rupees for 3 km was worth it!

  • Liked — Location is beautifully placed. Architecture is amazing.
  • Disliked — Bad customer service. Bad food. No credit cards accepted as form of payment.
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joya d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.4 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
337 reviews
4.3 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
4.2 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Fields Kumarakom
Green Fields Kumarakom
#15 of 26 in Kumarakom
92 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Backwater Resort

Property: Manor Backwater Resort
Address: Cheepunkal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Backwater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the largest lake in Asia – the Vembenad, nestles Kumarakom a small village whose environs are endowed with pristine natural beauty.This area, blessed with a balmy weather and plenty of rainfall has lush, green surroundings like no other in India. Its clean and dust free atmosphere has a tangible freshness in the air that clears the head and makes for relaxation and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manor Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Backwater Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing