We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personalized Service for a Phenomenal Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View House Boats
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Personalized Service for a Phenomenal Experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I chose Lake View because Shreekumar was personable and showed how much he cared about our family having a great experience. He took the time to answer all of my questions and even arranged a car for us at the trip's end. Beautiful, high quality boats. Highly recommend getting a boat with an upper deck.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dani_wipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEVIEWHOUSEBOAT, Owner at Lake View House Boats, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Danielle,
Thank you for choosing Lake view houseboat. It was great to meet your father. Hope you will come again. we have packages with thekkedy wild life, trekking etc. please contact us when you come next.
regards
Sreekumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    76
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
121
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This houseboat was one of the more luxurious ones on offer. We were very lucky to take this boat across the Kerala back waters. The food was varied and included whole fish, as well as some very hot local dishes.

The service was excellent, and the spa and bedroom looked amazing but i didn't stay the night so never slept in there. We got to drive the boat as we made our way over to Coconut Lagoon.

A super experience.

Room Tip: If you're sleeping on these houseboats its essential for Westerners to get enclosed air-conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEVIEWHOUSEBOAT, Owner at Lake View House Boats, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Adam,
first of all, I thank you and Selina for a great presentation at ICTT, Kovalam. Being myself an organising committee member, and the fact that you are in Kerala, II want you to experience the backwater cruise in Kumarakom.
Thank you and Selina for accepting our complimentary offer. We hope you will come again to stay overnight in the boat.
Sreekumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

True to the words of the organiser, our stay at Maniyara was a memorable experience.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay in the boat. The staff was very cooperative and the food was excellent { Grilled fish and prawns were a treat to taste buds. :) }.
Overall the trip was a cherishable experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishabh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEVIEWHOUSEBOAT, Owner at Lake View House Boats, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sandeep,
we thank you for your feed back. hope you will come for your honeymoon in our boat.
Sreekumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Wonderful experience and loved the hospitality and interior, the glass covered place gets enough air conditioning and the home cook food was fabulous. We went to ICTT 2013 Conference with Adam, Selina and Nisha, got a chance to explore with Lake view and loved it. It was a short period of time but loved it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suresh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEVIEWHOUSEBOAT, Owner at Lake View House Boats, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Suresh, yes this trip was not in your itinerary, and being an ICTT organising committee member i want to ensure that, you are all should get this kind of experience.
we thank you for accepting this invitation. hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I booked a 22 hour stay with Lake View House Boat. We booked the most basic package and we had a wonderful experience. We had two crew members - a boat navigator and a cook. They made an extra stop to allow us to buy fresh prawns from a local fisherman. The food was amazing (complete with fresh fruit juice, an evening snack, incredible lunch, dinner and breakfast) and the cook was kind enough to allow me to watch him prepare dinner to teach me about Keralan cuisine. The scenery was beautiful and overall the experience was a wonderful value for the money. We would definitely book another trip with Lake View House Boats, which we plan to do in the future. My only suggestion would be that the roof of the boat was in need of repair.

Overall, great experience, definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEVIEWHOUSEBOAT, Owner at Lake View House Boats, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Kelly, thank you for your feed back and your valuable suggestion of renovation of the roof top of the boat. Yes, our yearly Maintenance is due during Aug and we are stopped taking booking for this particular boat.
hope you will again.
sreekumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This review is not about staying in Lake View House Boat, but about the owenrship & responsibility that Mr.Sreekumar (owner) has. Having read wonderful reviews on TA and after reviewing their website, speaking to them and seeing the actual photographs of the boat, we 3 families booked 3 deluxed bedroom house boat of lake view well in advance (about 2.5 months) for 1 night stay

Unfortunately when we arrived at the pick up point, we wre informed that house boat engine has failed and they offered alternative house boat from some different operator (Cocoa). It was not a very good experience witth this house boat as it was pretty much lower than the standard of Lake View, also to our surprise there was insufficient food (they were informed for only 8 -9 people and we were 12. They had not carried extra bedding for one of the room.

On our return Mr.Sreekumar took the responsibility of the unfortunate things and paid us back our 20% of trip amount, while he could have chosen not to pick up the phone, meet or even transfer the cash as we had already departed for Mumbai.


We all missed the staying in the Lake View House which we are very unhappy about... but nevrthless if going once again, surely will stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We chose Lake View Houseboats primarily because of glowing reviews by other TA members, both on the TA website and in one to one e-mail exchanges with them. Still, it was somewhat of a leap of faith to give our business to an unseen travel agent. Fortunately and thankfully, it ended up being a great decision.

We needed an agent to arrange for a vehicle for six people and for a good houseboat. Mr. Sreekumar of Lake View was willing to arrange for an Innova as specified by us, but suggested that for a group of that size with luggage, a 10 seater Tempo Traveller was a better option. While this seemed like an obvious upsell, the difference in the cost was marginal and we agreed his suggestion and we are so glad we did. Lake View ended up arranging for a 14 seater vehicle (at the same cost) in immaculate condition and with a very good driver, which meant that the 4-5 hour road trips between destinations passed by in a LOT more comfort than would’ve been possible in an Innova.

The houseboat decision was a tougher one – we’d been fooled on our previous houseboat excursion in Kerala a few years back and were apprehensive about what we would be getting, not least because Lake View does not own the kind of houseboat we wanted. This led to many
e-mail and telephonic conversations with Mr. Sreekumar and his team, and he finally told us that he has understood what we want and we need to just trust him to deliver that. Again, we agreed, and again, we’re glad we did. Lake View arranged for a very comfortable fully glass
covered premium boat with great air conditioning. It was the highlight of the trip and definitely worth the money.

The money wasn’t too much either. We’d obtained quotations from about ten travel agents/ websites for the vehicle and the amount quoted upfront by Lake View was right around the actual arithmetic mean. The upfront quotation for the houseboat by Lake View too was in the
ballpark of the NEGOTIATED quotations with about 4-5 other travel agents/houseboat operators. The advance amount asked for was about 10% of the total quotation (as opposed to the 30-50% asked for by others).

Overall, Lake View seems to be a professional outfit which promises what it can deliver and delivers what it promises. We’d pick them without a second thought for our future trips to Kerala.

Room Tip: In summers ask for a fully glass covered houseboat ...its totally worth it. However, in most cases i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.1 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.3 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View House Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View House Boats

Property: Lake View House Boats
Address: Near Govt Boat Jetty | Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686566, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake View Houseboat, pioneers in Kerala Backwater cruise, starts its operation During 2002. We have 6 houseboats with a total of 12 rooms for renting. We are located at Kumarakom Govt Boat Jetty, Kumarakom Kerala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake View House Boats Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing