We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable one for my family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View House Boats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I want to book a doble bed room AC house boat for my family, After a lot of replies from house baot people , I decided to go with the best price and at the same time Good quality.
Sreekumar is the first one to reply with a Honest quote of 7500 for Aleppey round, since i had aleppey to kumarakom charge was 8000 rs as its off season.
After rejecting few house boat people quoting lakeview had offered me @ 7500 some people started ofeering the same @7000 also.
In Trip advisor reviews also i can see only kerala canoe toursim, lake view house boat has reviews , since binu of canoe tourism has quoted 9k for the same i went with sreekumar.
But sreekumar of lake view house boat , had told me that he a local house boat operator and can offer a best quality when i asked him to reduce fare by 500.so I went with the first honest price quotation guy.

As he promised he offered the very good quality house boat( this is my 2nd house boat trip :-) , Rooms are very clean and neat and the staff were also decent and helpful.

I will strongly recommend this if you want a house boat with good quality still with in budget , i felt this is the best, as i had contacted around 13 house boat operaors for my trip.

Pro's :
DVD player remote did not worked. Only play option working , No Forward or reverse only Pause and Play & we eneded up in watching the same 1st one hour of movie thrice as its stopped in between.

Food : In my first trip i booked a house boat from aleppey where in the food was excellent And spicy which we andhra people like a lot.
But the Kumarakom guys food is slightly differnet , less salt and forget chilly...north indians may like. For dinner i informed make it spicy , but still i did not felt for dinner also ;-(.

But these are pro's to mention only , You will be happy with the house baot quality and the decent crew.I felt , Sreekumar is a straight forward guy, did not felt that impressive while spekaing ( dont expect near by tourist places info frm Him ;-)) ) , but after the trip i felt he has done what ever he had told me over the phone.

Room Tip: Boarding boat jetty make sure that u arrange transport bcz Punnamada jetty is bit far unlike aleppey...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krishnakanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Lake View House Boats
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 259 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

It was a different and wonderful experience....
except the disruption of AC during midnight hours and TV not working all other things was wonderful. This stay would be remembered for making us happy.

Room Tip: take this trip during monsoon seasons June - July
Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank mahesh2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEVIEWHOUSEBOAT, Owner at Lake View House Boats, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2011

Dear Mahesh, Your booking was on 28 Jun. As you experienced, due to heavy rain and lightning throughout night, the dish connection and TV could not operate during your stay. We are extremely sorry for the same. Sreekumar, owner, lakeview houseboat, kumarakom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

it was an awsome house boat ..and the food was excelent ....we enjoyed to the max ......beautiful back water seens ...... a kitchen , cook and boat man only for us ...it was a beautiful experiance ....................................i recomend it highlyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunjanraina5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Its been great experience staying in Lake View House Boats.
We traveled in boat house and had a great time. Those who are expecting privacy can plan their trip. Its best suited for Honeymoon couples. The boat people will have cook who prepares delicious food. We really enjoyed our travel in the backwaters.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
Thank vaprios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKEVIEWHOUSEBOAT, Owner at Lake View House Boats, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
2.5 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
1.5 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View House Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View House Boats

Address: Near Govt Boat Jetty | Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686566, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Kumarakom
Price Range: $143 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake View Houseboat, pioneers in Kerala Backwater cruise, starts its operation During 2002. We have 6 houseboats with a total of 12 rooms for renting. We are located at Kumarakom Govt Boat Jetty, Kumarakom Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lake View House Boats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View House Boats Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing