We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights during 5 month Asia trip.

Location - Located in a remote area where there is very little else around other than a few other similar hotels. Situated lakeside (which made it great for our houseboat trip as the boat pulled up directly at the hotel) and a 5 minute drive from the Bird Sanctuary (where sadly we saw no birds but heh).

Rooms - terraced bugalow style set in nice surroundings. Room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Only complaint was that poo (ghecko?) kept falling onto the bed where our pillows were.

Food - buffet style and fairly reasonably priced considering no other restaurants nearby. Selection of items was ok - have had better but have equally had much worse.

Other- staff polite, free music show whilst we were there. No free wi-fi. Didnt use the pool to comment.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Ums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    299
    76
    28
    22
See reviews for
303
255
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

I would strongly recommend people doing the backwaters to stay at the whispering palms. The manager is a charming man and the the staff so caring. Double Thumbs up guys , keep up the tremendous work..................awesome!

Ismael & Shamima
Mauritius

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam0568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

The Whispering Palms is a lovely, family friendly and idyllically set resort, with one of the best views of the Vembanad lake. What really worked for us – three families – were the lake view rooms, the manicured lawns, the sight of different water birds diving for fish (and posing for pictures, too) and the warmth and friendliness of the staff, and management that ensured we had a great time. The ayurvedic spa is excellent and the rates are very reasonable for the average tourist. There are pools for both adults and kids, adjacent, so that one can keep an eye on the small ones while having a good time. The room service menu has one of the best varieties of food options we have recently seen, with reasonable rates too. Go for the local delicacies in fish and mutton, they are great. The quality of upkeep of the property is excellent, so one feels like one is in a top class property.
Some areas of improvement would be the ‘south Indian’ food items on the breakfast buffet menu that were disappointing, and the availability of swimwear options in the in-house shop.
All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrenMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

I stayed in ABAD Whispering Palms Kumarakom for 2 nights in December. I went with a lot of expectation and the resort lived up to my expectations.

Please opt for lake facing rooms though it's slightly expensive than the other rooms. Relaxing in the hotel room facing the lake and the several house boats passing by is a great stress burster.

Lanscaping is very good and the campus is huge. My daughter specifically enjoyed the kids pool and the play area. Having a kids play area is one of the best way to attract parents with small kids but unfortunately many resorts ignore this aspect.

I need to specifically mention about the restaurant and the cost of food. Having heard about the astonishingly high buffet rates in resorts like Kumarakom Lake Resort, Coconut Lagoon etc, I was contemplating about having food outside the resort. But when I saw the Ala carte menu, it was a pleasant surprise to see that the rates are very reasonable and affordable. Needless to say, I took all my meals within the resort only. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Overall, an excellent and a memorable stay.

  • Liked — Lake facing rooms and the landscaping
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj_luvsya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

We found this property of Abads to be the best amongst their properties in Kerala (we had visited Kochi, Munnar, Thekkady, Alleppey). We had the best time of our honeymoon at this place. Great location and landscape, nice food, excellent service! The backwaters shouldn't be missed here.... Overall a luxurious hotel.

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
Thank kulkarniaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

hi,
i am gopinath rejeesh i am from u.k.
i visited whispering palms last week for my honeymoon trip,
we like very much for there location as well as service.
i will recoment to all my friends because its a amazing palce
expecially for honeymoon coupls.
once again thanks to all staffs in whispering palms,
i will visit again...
thanks...

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
Thank rejeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

The hotel has a thumbs up in terms of property, rooms, service, ambience , location and view of the Vembanad lake . However I wont call the cuisine interesting at all if you are looking for authentic kumarakom food which is famous for lobsters, pearl spot fish and tiger prawns. You will get only normal buffet spread or some fusion food. Also its a good place for honeymooners-however beware the place does get crowded!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammukutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.9 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
3.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
1.3 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#11 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.9 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort

Property: Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Address: New Nazarath Road, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abad Whispering Palms is located at Kumarakom the most exotic resort destination in Kerala right on the bank of the Vembanadu Lake in natural back water surroundings. Situated amidst natural backwater setting, it is a place where you can relax and bask in the luxury of tranquility. Well- designed accommodation including Bamboo Pool Villa/Cottage with private pool, Lagoon/ Garden Facing Cottages, and ,Suite Room in tranquil, serene landscaped setting to guarantee rejuvenation. We have hotels and resorts all over kerala, Indi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing