We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The resort is located at a most amazing location.The staff at reception was very good at their behavior.We arrived in the evening,so they gave us the last rooms which were somewhat far away.The swimming pool is just adjacent to the lake vembanad.It was a magical site.The restaurant was good.The buffet was also okay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kushgoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 759 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went to Abad whispering palms in December 2012 and it was really good.
The room was clean and in an excellent condition, the food was just amazing and the view of the backwaters was breathtaking.
We played some indoor games like carom, Table tennis . The dining area is fantastic, the rooms are big and it is too peaceful. We chose a backwater resort over a houseboat stay and it was worth it. Swimming pool was clean. We enjoyed the sunset. Sitting there in the evening, feeling the cool breeze was as good and relaxing as a massage.
We just stayed there for one night ( as a part of the package offered by ABAD group) and wish the stay at this particular property was longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 110nutraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Of course, my tour consultant booked me the hotel for a special occasion. I asked them for special arrangements like room decor, but the Resort people asked me to wait for almost 20 min @ reception, saying that the room was not ready. Front Staffs are not friendly. But the room was nice & clean. Had good room decors. Food was ok. Boat trip was also just ok, since its for just 30 min drive - 15 min too & fro in the lake. Very nice lawn and garden, We had a nice stress free evening at the lawn. Spa was really good. If stays would have been nice, i would have given one more star. My positive rating is only for their special arrangements, rooms , Spa & travel consultant who made the front office to oblige for needs throughout my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baluganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpalms, Manager at Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive comments. We however regret that you had to wait for 20 mins for the room. The resort was running full and we had to wait for the previous guests to check out as our check out time is 12 noon. We have taken up your suggestions with the front office staff.

We look forward to your return to our resort.

Regards
Rajmohan Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed in June first week for 2 nights

Property: Individual cottage style rooms facing the lake or garden. We stayed in a lake facing room. The location of the hotel is excellent - it is by the lake. When lounging in the balcony of your room, the lake will seem not more than 50 feet away.Very quiet & tranquil. The swimming pool gives the feeling of an infinity pool. Table tennis & some indoor games available on request. The rooms are well maintained & clean, but do look up at the ceiling in the dining area and you will find a large number of cobwebs.

The hotel seemed popular with large groups & families [we met two in our 2 day stay]. If you are travelling as a couple & looking for some private time, you may perhaps want to check with the hotel first if they are expecting a group. The pool area is especially popular with families.

Staff & Service: All the good points earned for location are lost by the staff of this resort & their service. The list of complaints is endless, but suffice to say that the staff is unhelpful, rude & say things that are not true. Also, if you are looking for the famous Kerala Ayurvedic Massage experience, this is perhaps the worst places to try it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SViR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpalms, Manager at Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for the nice comments about the resort. However it seems the staff could not impress you. We have taken up the matter to see what went wrong there. The Ayurveda centre is run by Dhanwanthari group with over 100 years tradition and is considered good. We are checking on what went wrong with you.

Regards
Rajmohan Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Abad Whispering Palms was the great stay as it has a different way to attract its customer with unique style and great hospitality.

It was lovely located on the fringe of the backwaters with a wonderful view of the large reservoir of water from the crystal clear infinity rim swimming pool. Lovely place with an amazing view of backwaters.Our stay at dis place for 2 nights ( we were on a 8 day kerala honeymoon tour booked from Kerala’s well known agent – Goingkerala.com) ws nothing short of a spectacle

Cottages are very comfortable and they also offer open shower which adds on the ambience. Rooms were set in beautiful large gardens creating a welcome. We had a lovely room - exceptionally neat and clean. The support staffs of the resort are so diligent on all requests- quick, fast and efficient in expediting in whatever needed to be done.
Overall a pleasant stay. Lake rooms (as evident from the name) are lake facing and next to the pool but are smaller, no open air bathroom and no privacy outside the room. I chose this resort after looking at the photos of their pool villas. The resort is located on the banks of a lake.
The spa on-site is quite pleasant for the ayurvedic massage experience. 2 air conditioners in the pool village, regular gym and games facilities. The ayurvedic massage center in the resort has many different options available which you can choose from - good price and of good quality.


The food at the restaurant was excellent and the staffs are service attentive & friendly. The only restaurant there - is pleasant and the food was good. The breakfast spread is appealing and good catering for all people. The restaurant food is great too, good value for money. Buffet is available for lunch and dinner & was prebooked in our plan- we preferred it over la carte menu in order to satisfy ourselves with the taste of kerala cuisine available at largesse in buffett.

The sunset - truly awesome. The layout and the maintenance of the place are clean and neat. The pool area is lovely. The sight over the lake was delightful and very relaxing especially as you watch the houseboats go by. The sunset view from the pool is heavenly; it is the highlight of a stay here. While the days and nights were hot and humid, dusk has a cool breeze blowing from the lake towards the resort luxurious gateway.

It was overall nice experience by living here fr 2 nights .The wish was to stay longer as per the wonderful experience there. It would be recommended by me to go &visit that place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darkknight696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Kumarakom has been our favourite holiday destination and Abad Whispering Palms our preferred choice of stay, every time. While we have tried out other resorts in Kumarakom, Abad Whispering Palms stands out for one simple reason – superlative hospitality. Food, rooms or service, this resort scores in every aspect. The resort also helps arrange houseboat trips if you so require. But I will recommend anyone to try only a day trip by houseboat and be back by evening, to not miss on a night in this excellent resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeyananth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The most pathetic hotel experience that I have ever come across.
This hotel has changed the entire dimension of HOSPITALITY.....what they do is a mere robotic work and that too with only mistakes.
Well, I agree the view is pretty but one cannot sell the hotel only on basis of view !!
This review is of zero usage to the hotel...bcoz I am sure the Management would never bother to read through any feedbacks....however I would not want any prospective guest's vacation to get spoilt due to this hotel.
Food : Below Average
Cleanliness : Good
Service : Pathetic
Staff : cannot smile

Thank You

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shraddhasaggi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.9 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
767 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
343 reviews
3.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
736 reviews
5.9 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
0.7 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort

Address: New Nazarath Road, Kumarakom 686563, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $88 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abad Whispering Palms is located at Kumarakom the most exotic resort destination in Kerala right on the bank of the Vembanadu Lake in natural back water surroundings. Situated amidst natural backwater setting, it is a place where you can relax and bask in the luxury of tranquility. Well- designed accommodation including Bamboo Pool Villa/Cottage with private pool, Lagoon/ Garden Facing Cottages, and ,Suite Room in tranquil, serene landscaped setting to guarantee rejuvenation. We have hotels and resorts all over kerala, Indi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing