We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

we have just returned from kumarakom after staying at whispering palms. we had a wonderful stay the property is good well kept efficient and has a very friendly staff who are polite,and courteous.
howevr they can introduce some in house activities in the hotel both for children and grown ups so evenings do not linger

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashok V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 814 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

the place was such a beauty and the ambiance was too good...enjoyed every moment spent...our whole trip in kerela was in abad grp of hotels and really memorable. our cottage was amazing and the sunrise with a sip of tea made it more special...the rebonding was an added advantage...thnx air india and abad

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _shwetaajaypurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

When we booked this place..this was the most expensive room of our visit and yeah it was all worth it.. wish we cud stay another day. The pool has an amazing view. the backwaters look lovely. The rooms were in excellent conditions , clean.. We had the lagoon facing rooms..
staff was decent and the food was average but the overall experience overshadowed the not so good parts.
The view of the sunset from the pool n the places to sit was amazing. We had a small 1 hr boat ride which was decent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santoshasbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had booked two garden facing cottages through Yatra.com however we were upgraded to lake facing cottages. The rooms were neat and clean with a small verandah facing the lake. The sight at dawn was amazing with the lake in front and lots of birds in the lawn. There are hammocks tied to coconut trees and you can spend your full day lazing around in one of them.The landscaping of the property is excellent and you can take yur evening walk in the premises of the resort. The staff is extremely helpful especially at the reception. We hired a boat for ourselves through the hotel which took us for ride through the lakes and canals for a duration of 2 hours. The hotel has its own jetty which is very convinient. They have a restaurant which is constructed in wood in the typical Kerala architecture, where breakfast and other meals are served. The breakfast spread is reasonable. We had the other meals on ala carte basis and the food quality was good though the service is on the slower side but you dont really mind as the overall ambience is very good.

Room Tip: Book lake facing cottages as the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

One of the finest resorts we have ever visited. We Stayed at rhe resort in the Mid of March 2013 in a Lake view Room. We Reached hotel around 9.00 am after an over night stay in a House Boat. One of the Front desk staff escorted us to the room after the check in formalities.The room Which We got, had an excellent View of Vembanadu Lake. It was clean and neat. The open Bath room is a nice concept. The restaurant is close to reception Area. We loved the dishes, ranging from vegetarian, to all kinds of fish and meats, with most being dishes popular throughout India and a number of Western dishes as well. The Hotel has got a nice Swimming pool. The spa is truly awesome.Thank you All the staff of Abad Whispering Palms for making our stay memorable.I would highly recommend the stay at the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMN_SINGAPORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited there during the Onam fest.This was our second trp in this peoperty.We were very much excited and in real sense we enjoyed the onamsadhya and athappu.The place was so beutiful and we enjoyed every moment during our stay.The property was so calm queit isolated from the hustle and bustle of the city and it was well maintained. The swimming pool was excellent especially at the sunset.The food was very delicious. The rooms were clean and well arranged. We were very much impressed by their hospitality. The music played during the evening was very good.I am waiting for the next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenacaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were a group of four families with children who stayed for a night in the resort in October 2012.

A wonderful cool breeze flowing into the open hotel lobby from the lake greeted us as we entered the hotel. The lobby and the entire resort is built and beautifully decorated in traditional Keralan style. Occupancy was surprisingly low and we were given free upgrade to lakeview rooms. The lawns outside the lakeview rooms are great for sitting out in the evening. The other rooms certainly miss this great feature. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious enough for two people (and an extra bed). The bathroom is open to air above and really a quaint experience.

We had the resort pretty much to ourselves. The children had a whale of a time in the swimming pool which is well maintained and clean.

I watched the best sunset in my life over the lake that evening.

The dinner was good, the service a bit slow but who is in a hurry at a resort! The breakfast buffet was superb both in quality and variety. A good breakfast is an Abad trademark.

Traditional ayurvedic massage is available at the resort.

The hotel personnel are very friendly and helpful.

I have stayed in the much more fancied KL resort at Kumarakom earlier but it was full this time. Honestly I did not miss it at all. Whispering palms is smaller, but offers everything at a much lower price. Exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naughtybrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.9 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
893 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
362 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#8 of 26 in Kumarakom
790 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
187 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lake Palace Family Resort
Lake Palace Family Resort
#19 of 26 in Kumarakom
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort

Address: New Nazarath Road, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $70 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abad Whispering Palms is located at Kumarakom the most exotic resort destination in Kerala right on the bank of the Vembanadu Lake in natural back water surroundings. Situated amidst natural backwater setting, it is a place where you can relax and bask in the luxury of tranquility. Well- designed accommodation including Bamboo Pool Villa/Cottage with private pool, Lagoon/ Garden Facing Cottages, and ,Suite Room in tranquil, serene landscaped setting to guarantee rejuvenation. We have hotels and resorts all over kerala, Indi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing