We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful name, beautiful property”
Review of Lakesong Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakesong Kumarakom
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful name, beautiful property”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

One of the upsides of going in off season is that you have the property almost to yourself. The downside could of course be that some items in the menu are not available coz it is just not economical to stock everything. But the staff made up by offering things that were not on the menu at all!

It is situated right on Vembanad lake, the view is serene or raucous depending on whether you are watching the sun set into the lake or are watching ducks/water birds diving to catch their fish. The architecture is typically Keralite - though with some modern reinforcements and the lobby is open on three sides giving a great sense of openness. They have brought the backwaters into the hotel by constructing canals (4 feet deep in case you are getting worried!) with their own little boats for you to row if you should choose to.

If you are an internet addict, you may have trouble. Connectivity in that area (as in many parts of Kerala) is erratic.

Room Tip: The rooms do not overlook the lake (except for the two corner rooms). So all rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohualahiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakesong, General Manager at Lakesong Kumarakom, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Sir
Nice to read your fantastic review about our resort. Yes , I mentioned the same in my other comments too, that we do make dishes apart from the menu according to the guest choice. I am very happy that my team made your stay very comfortable.
Just a correction, the canals are natural and we kept as it is during construction. There are as many as 4 canals inside the property and it is interconnected. One can use the small boat which you have mentioned in the comment , and reach up to the lake or one can use it to go to any of the cottages.
Thanks once again for an excellent comment and wish to see you back with your families and friends when ever you are in "Gods Own Country"

Warm regards
Team Lakesong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    265
    80
    20
    24
See reviews for
297
228
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Lakesong would be on the top of my list of the places I would love to return to for my future holidays. Situated right next to the backwaters it is one of the most picturesque resorts I have ever stayed in. The staff is excellent, very courteous and always ready to help. The rooms are nice clean and comfortable. Special mention to the food, it was without doubt the BEST that I had tasted in kerala, the restaurant staff too was great and very friendly. They all really took extra efforts to make our stay pleasant. The best part of resort is obviously the excellent view of the backwaters, with well placed benches and hammocks that let u relax right on the edge of the backwaters. And if u are a shutter bug you would have endless clicking opportunities. If you still have time on your hands there are a number of recreational activities. Such as indoor games including TT, carrot (housed in a very well maintained recreation room), a nice swimming pool, an amazing gym. The resort also provides a complementary sunset cruise, which is short but still enjoyable. In addition they have speed boating, houseboats, ayurveda centre etc (chargeable). In the end my stay of one day felt too short and I regretted not being able to extend my stay but still enjoyed every moment there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aman0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakesong, General Manager at Lakesong Kumarakom, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Mr.Aman
Thanks for a wonderful review and it really helps my complete team to perform better than the best. Also your review is conveyed to all the staffs and all are very happy.
Please visit us again during your next visit to "Gods Own Country"
Next time try to come during the world famous "Thrissur Pooram" and we can take you there and can stay with our new resort "Clayhouse" near Chalakkudy. It will be an unforgettable experience for you.
We all at Lakesong wishing you and your family all the very best !!!!
Warm regards
Team Lakesong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

stay in lakesong resort was very pleasant. the resort is located just in front of the lake gives very good view. service in the restaurant was also good. River cruise was excellent with a similar experience of cruising in the sea. overall, we loved the place and hospitality of resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Dayanand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakesong, General Manager at Lakesong Kumarakom, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Mr.Dayanand
Thanks for the positive review on our resort. We all at Lakesong are very happy that we made your stay comfortable.
As everyone say there is always chance for improvement, please let us know your suggestions at gm@eastend.in
we will be very happy to take note on any additions you wanted from our side.
Thanks again and please come back and stay with us when ever you are in "Gods Own Country"
Warm regards
Team Lakesong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

It was above my expectation..we stayed there with our 18 months old son and 5years old daughter. Kids' friendly resort. They have separate kids pool and children's play area too. Food is fantastic. Ambience of the resort, staff hospitality, very well maintained resort.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SunaliModi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakesong, General Manager at Lakesong Kumarakom, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Ms.Sunali Modi
First of all All the very best to your wonderful kids....They looks very sweet !!!!
Thanks to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are very happy that we made your stay very comfortable.
Hope you also enjoyed the Kerala Rain during your stay...
Come back and enjoy our hospitality, we are here to serve you.
Warm regards
Team Lakesong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Excellent homely service, Good location over 10 acres, professional staff, They have canals within property which you can canoe - Its an experience. Individual cottages with back patio (Only in the superior rooms- but I am told a complimentary upgrade is easy) . Backwater boat ride is also complimentary. We later stayed on houseboat only as a day experience but that turned out to be costly - 12k _ where as Lakesong management can hire a house boat by the hour - which makes sense. Lush green property with some unique trees,

Poor directions to the hotel & we reached late at night & were lucky as our iPad Google map took as through the lanes. The signboards start much later. Menu is fixed & mostly punjabi. However we made our recommendations to th chef for Local Malayali dishes & they promptly complied.

Room Tip: Choose superior rooms on ground floor to have access to canals & patio. Can be a long walk from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xstatic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakesong, General Manager at Lakesong Kumarakom, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest
It is always wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy that we made your stay very comfortable. To make your dining experience better, as you said we even make dishes out the menu as per your taste, thanks to know that you enjoyed it.
We will also surely look into the suggestions you have made to better the guest experience.
Thanks and love to serve you again and please let us know about your next visit to " Gods Own Country".
Warm regards
Team Lakesong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great place to enjoy...
We stayed at Lakesong for 2 nights in January and could not have been more content. the staff were great, really friendly and accommodating and the room we had was spacious clean and comfortable.The hotel itself is big and maintain well. Enjoyed the complimentary sunset cruise in lake vembanad. There is free bicycling within the premises, decent pool with a good park

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tushar_Mhatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakesong, General Manager at Lakesong Kumarakom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mr.Thushar
Thank you for a great review and we all at Lakesong are very happy that we made your stay very comfortable.
Hope you will come back and stay with us again with your friends and families.
Warm regards
Team Lakesong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed here in the first week of June. Its a very well maintained resort. Staff are very courteous. The canoeing experience inside the resort was awesome. However, the complimentary sunset cruise was cancelled due to a slight drizzle, claiming bad weather. This was a let down. I am sure they would not have cancelled it if it was paid. The swimming pool and the children's park are good. The driver who escorted us to the hotel from airport (Mr Biju: +919446225810) was an excellent and safe driver. We were hoping for a good driver as it was raining and visibility was very poor. He was able to communicate in Kannada, Hindi, English and Malayalam. Overall experience at the resort was memorable.

Room Tip: Find a room towards the lake, as you can have a great view in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SureshAcharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakesong, General Manager at Lakesong Kumarakom, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mr.Acharya
Thanks for the feedback and love to hear that you and your family had a great experience at Lakesong.
Please note the sunset cruise is cancelled coz of bad weather, we are very much concerned about your security also. It is not very safe to go for boating while there is rain that made us to stop the particular days trip.
Sorry for the inconvenience caused.
Hope to see you back in our resort very soon.
Regards
Team Lakesong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.3 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
689 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
2.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#12 of 26 in Kumarakom
163 reviews
5.0 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakesong Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakesong Kumarakom

Property: Lakesong Kumarakom
Address: Ammankari Road, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Eastend Lakesong)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakesong Kumarakom 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakesong is nature lover's heaven situated on the awe inspiring Vembanadu lake at Kumarakom . It is a peaceful retreat, which takes you to the world of tranquility. At Lakesong the most breathtaking moment will be when you check in. To your surprise , you will be escorted in a traditional canoe to the reception through the internal canals. Indeed, this will be a ride you will cherish for a lifetime. Adjacent to the mesmerizing lagoons is the reception, which is a perfect example of the aristocratic Malabar style of architecture. Its ambience will take you to a different world where traditional art was at its zenith. Its retreat that offers you amazing facilities with top notch quality and world-class service. Above all ,our dedicated professionals will ensure that the time you spend here will be among the most comfortable in your life. At Lakesong we always strive hard to give you the best we can and to surpass your holiday expectations. Lakesong is an architectural marvel, which is based on the traditional Kerala style. The cottages are gabbled and have tile roofs. The exteriors are un-plastered which is a style redolent of the traditional houses of this region. The cottages have 4 star amenities. The rooms have finely appointed interiors with all urban luxuries. The main attraction here is the villas are based on the traditional Malabar style architecture. They are Vembanad and Ashtamudi. The other category is the Punnamada, which is eco-friendly and constructed of interlocking bricks. Totally, there are 48 marvelous Malabar style rooms and 20 breathtaking quaint villas, all constructed on the banks of the inland canals. Lakesong has a swimming pool and a wading pool with a panoramic view of the lake. It is always our pleasure to provide an enjoyable vacation experience for all of our guests. Activities like in door /out door games , children activities , fishing, canoe boat ride , one hour sunset cruise at Vembanadu lake etc. Keeps the guest's stay more entertained. Traditional water rides get the thrill of gliding through the inland canals on traditional country boats. Occasionally try your hand at rowing. Ayurkshethra , a unit of Lakesong is a retreat with ' Green Leaf' certification from the Government of Kerala where Ayurveda is practiced by professional doctors and skilled therapists with traditional treatment facilities. Our yoga centre is a retreat where you can practice various " ASNAS". We assure our best attention and services at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakesong Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakesong Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing