We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”
Review of Lakesong Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakesong Kumarakom
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. All I can say is that it's a beautiful hotel, primarily because they have a beautiful landscaped garden where you can just spend all day relaxing. The hotel looks out on to the lake (which looks like the sea) & is very peaceful. It was off-peak season & when we arrived we were upgraded to a deluxe room. The room was great - spacey, clean & everything in the room & bathroom looked really new & neat. The service was of a very high standard, the hotel wasn't full so the staff realy went out of their way to help. Although we had opted for the buffet, as the hotel wasn't full, we could just pick straight off the menu which worked out well for us. Food was amazing! They have a daily sunset cruise which lasts 1 hour & is free for the hotel guests. This place is really perfect if you want to relax & do nothing for a few days, its very peaceful with beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b_5London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 742 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

The location is just excellent. So are the rooms and other facilities. The rooms are not the "heritage kind", but they are huge and well equipped. The services were prompt and efficient. The staff was helpful and courteous.
The food was just average....not awsome. We had opted for their complete all meal inclusive package which entitled us to buffet bf lunch and dinner. The spread had very little choice of typical Kerala cuisine.
The biggest dissapointment was the houseboat that they had arranged for us. We had opted for an overnight stay in the houseboat. The houseboat that the resort had arrannged for us was quite dirty. With the kind of rooms and facilities they provided us, you would not expect them to arrange a dirty cramped houseboat for you.
So the lesson is that do NOT ask them to book your Houseboat. Better do it externally through other agencies.

Room Tip: Get the Vembanad Rooms. They come with nice sit outs overlooking the cannal and gardens. Other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subhojitbbpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Great hotel but not 100% for kids, or maybe it was not the right time. Older people and conferance location. Good place if you want to rest and do nothing resort is very well and clean.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with small garden to have you coffe or beer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I was here for short duration, The location was good and very eco friendly, we actually got dropped here by our house boat from allepy in the morning. It had more open area. The staff was good. The food was g8 but a bit expensive, It is a bit far from city and you don't find any restaurants nearby. I recommend this for those who wanted to have a relaxed holiday with family.

Room Tip: Book your accomidation along with food in the package..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharath Chandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

When we visited during May, 2010, the hotel was not full. The services we got was great. When we entered the room which was given to us, we all just said "Wow". The room was beautifully done. Location is peaceful & on the side of backwater which actually looks like sea. The hotel has swimming pool, bicycles, green lawn & good restaurant.
What we liked
1. Swimming pool was good.
2. Restaurant was well managed
3. Staff was courteous
4. You get view of backwater which looks more like sea
5. Green lawns & ducks quackling in the resort.
6. Overall ambience of reception/restaurant/rooms/surroundings was beautiful
What we didn't like
1. The humidity
2. In spite of it being May- the holiday time for children, the crowd was very less.

Room Tip: Rooms close to backwater / swimming pool/ground floor facing green lawns would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhushan-Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

One word for LakeSong Resort.....Awesome..!!
Cottage was extremely cozy with a fabulous view of the internal lagoon in the resort.
Cottage were neat and clean and properly maintained..
Staffing was excellent. Any requests made to the room were always met quickly.
Restaurant staff is very courteous and helpful and go the extra mile in ensuring that you get the food of your choice
Food was incredibly good..
Resort is a great place to chill and relax
Good value for money
Stayed from 12Aug to 14Aug...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mamgain79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

we eagerly booked a room here on my son vacation.we were looking forward to rest and relaxation.we wanted a nice clean big pool and also a pool table.we also confirmed over phone regarding the same(esp..the pool table) but on our arrival to our great disappointment ,the pool was small and they had no pool table also.when we asked the front office they were at loss and we realized we were taken for a ride!!!after a few bitter feelings we checked out the in few hours shelling out the tariff of the day
on the good side,we were received warmly by the staff,the room was big and neat,the food was tasty and served hot.the general ambiance is good and the view of vembanad lake is awesome!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nivedhitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.3 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
794 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
1.7 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.6 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
174 reviews
5.0 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakesong Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakesong Kumarakom

Address: Ammankari Road, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Eastend Lakesong)
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $97 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakesong Kumarakom 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakesong is nature lover's heaven situated on the awe inspiring Vembanadu lake at Kumarakom . It is a peaceful retreat, which takes you to the world of tranquility. At Lakesong the most breathtaking moment will be when you check in. To your surprise , you will be escorted in a traditional canoe to the reception through the internal canals. Indeed, this will be a ride you will cherish for a lifetime. Adjacent to the mesmerizing lagoons is the reception, which is a perfect example of the aristocratic Malabar style of architecture. Its ambience will take you to a different world where traditional art was at its zenith. Its retreat that offers you amazing facilities with top notch quality and world-class service. Above all ,our dedicated professionals will ensure that the time you spend here will be among the most comfortable in your life. At Lakesong we always strive hard to give you the best we can and to surpass your holiday expectations. Lakesong is an architectural marvel, which is based on the traditional Kerala style. The cottages are gabbled and have tile roofs. The exteriors are un-plastered which is a style redolent of the traditional houses of this region. The cottages have 4 star amenities. The rooms have finely appointed interiors with all urban luxuries. The main attraction here is the villas are based on the traditional Malabar style architecture. They are Vembanad and Ashtamudi. The other category is the Punnamada, which is eco-friendly and constructed of interlocking bricks. Totally, there are 48 marvelous Malabar style rooms and 20 breathtaking quaint villas, all constructed on the banks of the inland canals. Lakesong has a swimming pool and a wading pool with a panoramic view of the lake. It is always our pleasure to provide an enjoyable vacation experience for all of our guests. Activities like in door /out door games , children activities , fishing, canoe boat ride , one hour sunset cruise at Vembanadu lake etc. Keeps the guest's stay more entertained. Traditional water rides get the thrill of gliding through the inland canals on traditional country boats. Occasionally try your hand at rowing. Ayurkshethra , a unit of Lakesong is a retreat with ' Green Leaf' certification from the Government of Kerala where Ayurveda is practiced by professional doctors and skilled therapists with traditional treatment facilities. Our yoga centre is a retreat where you can practice various " ASNAS". We assure our best attention and services at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lakesong Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakesong Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing