We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is Heaven down South....”
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It was indeed an experience right from the word go....You are indeed received from a jetty by a boat...as u sail through the waters you experience peace all are around. You are received at the resort with coconut water and delicately made flowers garland. It is indeed a warm welcome to experience. Food is excellent. and the place makes u feel as if u r staying in Heaven.... A must stay here

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJAYNAGPAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

my stay was amazing .beautiful place in south, back water gives lovely experience, lovely place and property to visit. i strongly recommend to visit once in life. boat house and hotel stay with spa and wash room particularly is excellent, its nice to see natural beauty and enjoy .

Room Tip: choose a room with back waters on your window side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

it was our pleasure trip. a perfect place to be for such a your. out of city.. out of concrete. no tv .. no newspaper .. just you and your partner. we really enjoyed the place, their hospitality and care. special note to the food spread, juts hog and hog ..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajivtKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

To reach the hotel there is a short boat ride via the canals. Can't leave the resort after night to allow fishing time.
I thought the place was stunning. The room were nicely decorated, the outside bathroom just great idea and the surrounding very peaceful. A big thanks to all staff, they were so friendly made me feel so appreciated. Only stayed 2 nights but I wish I was there for a week.
Totally recommended.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank dandani08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My stay at the Coconut Lagoon was delightful. We arrived by riverboat and were welcomed with music while we checked in. Our accommodation was in local style houses with large bedrooms upstairs and sitting room downstairs, both were well furnished and comfortable. The shower room was outside in a partially covered courtyard which was quite an experience showering in the open air. The food in the attractive restaurant was lovely with a vast choice. There is a large swimming pool with sun loungers around it and a pool bar, all very pleasant. I would also like to say just how helpful and kind the staff were. All in all a very good place to holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manxcat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I am from Kerala itself and my grandfather was a farmer. He had a similar looking house, slightly bigger though.. built with wood, exactly the same type of wooden pillars and doors, I was immediately taken back there. I used to spend my summer holidays there along with my cousins. This is the most authentic Kerala experience you can get. I am planning to come back with my cousins.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneyjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Of the four hotels of this chain where I stayed in my trip to Kerala this was my favourite. Arrived by boat and this gave you an immediate feeling of peace after the long drive. Stayed in a traditional 'heritage' bungalow which was very clean. The quirkiness of the nearly open sky toilet and shower is initially perturbing, but it was absolutely fine. Good range of natural toiletries in little clay reusable pots. Breakfast good and choice of restaurants reasonable. A la cart turned out to be cheaper for me that the buffet meals. The place tranquil and serene with plenty of bird life and little canals intersecting the property. AND (BLESSING) NO TELEVISION, no plastic bags or containers. Had a good relaxing massage but did not use the pool which however looked very good. I wish I could have stayed longer than 2 nighs but I will probably come back.

Room Tip: Please note NO ROOM SERVICE. All rooms are level ground but like all the other properties some can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margherita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
3 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
598 reviews
3.9 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
5.1 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $154 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coconut Lagoon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An interplay of coconut groves and water channels, with old wooden Keralan homes transplanted, preserved and cherished. Coconut Lagoon is located in a sheltered and enchanting cove in Kumarakom, this resort reflects the diversity and magnificence of Vemband Lake. A CGH Earth experience that respects the rich but delicate ecosphere and the vibrant culture of Kuttanad region. Where old agrarian homes are reconstituted to offers you an entry into a charming world following the gentle pulse of the backwaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing