We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeside gem”
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful location by the lake,this resort is spread out with single and double cottages set well apart.tropical trees and plants abound with fruits like mangoes,jackfruit etc .Regular sunset boat rides take you out into the lake where you get to watch the sunset to the accompaniment of haunting live flute music.Classical dance of south India is often scheduled in the evenings.
Do take the country boat ride that takes you through the rural life of Kerala.You get to experiencethe village life close up as the boat takes the numerous canals that crisscross the area.Food and service are good and the restored old Kerala architecture cottages and common areas a treat in itself.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepTrivandrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

From the time you boat the shuttle boat, you feel welcomed! The individual bungalows, with outside bathrooms, are novel. The rooms are quite large, well air conditioned with ceiling fan also. Coffee/tea making furnished. Dining in the seafood restaurant was beyond words fabulous! Fresh seafood galore! The staff are super accommodating and friendly. We hated to depart the next morning on our houseboat. Please, let us stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32,807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at the end of March and found it to be a totally enjoyable and relaxing experience from our arrival at the jetty until the time we departed by houseboat for the next part of our holiday.
Our heritage bungalow was extremely comfortable and full of character.The outdoor bathroom was great.
The restaurant food was excellent and the service friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed a stroll past the local village which gave us a chance to chat to some of the villagers.
We would thorougly recommend the Coconut Lagoon as a wonderful and unique experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This property is nicer than it looks on the website, and I have never had that experience before! We stayed in one of the pool suites and it was really wonderful, very well designed. One example, you could enter from the pool area directly into the bathroom or into the generous living room. The pool was not so terribly tiny as they can be sometimes, and best of all behind the pool and sun lounger area there was a wonderful small private porch that over looked a rice paddy/field that belongs to the hotel which attracted wonderful bird life in the morning and evening. There were also chairs on the front porch of the suite looking over the huge lake, and each unit has it's own hammock out front also.

The staff was fabulous, the property is lovely and the special seafood restaurant was great.
We wished we had more time there, the website had made me think we didn't need to stay long! A great place to truly relax and read piles of books...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longtermexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent two nights here and had an amazing time just relaxing and chilling out, having spent the past 2 weeks on a busy tour of Northern India. Cottages are really comfortable and outdoor bathroom was different but a good experience. Pool area is spacious with plenty of sun loungers. Food in the seafood restaurant was amazing! Lots of activities available to guests and free wi-fi too which was rare in other hotels in India! Ayruvedic treatments were very good value, although not as peaceful as they are at home - people coming in and out of the room during your treatment and staff members chatting loudly disturbed the tranquility somewhat. Similar experiences had in other places throughout India so don't think this is specific to this hotel. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieJersey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

this is out of the world experience...i don't know how they made it but whatever they did is just amazing...you feel like you are at heaven...stayed at pool villa with a full sea view pvt swimming pool and lake view with balcony at back...totally life time remembering experience.

Room Tip: take pool villa if you can afford :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rounak j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We found Coconut Lagoon to be a wonderful experience. We were greeted by a man playing the musical instrument flute when we arrived. Rooms were comforatble but the surprise was the toilet open to the sky. Food was delicious. The staff went out of its way. The final touch was the staff came out to wave at us as we were leaving.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JagdishAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
3.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
3.2 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
555 reviews
5.1 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $242 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An interplay of coconut groves and water channels, with old wooden Keralan homes transplanted, preserved and cherished. Coconut Lagoon is located in a sheltered and enchanting cove in Kumarakom, this resort reflects the diversity and magnificence of Vemband Lake. A CGH Earth experience that respects the rich but delicate ecosphere and the vibrant culture of Kuttanad region. Where old agrarian homes are reconstituted to offers you an entry into a charming world following the gentle pulse of the backwaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing