We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing”
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent two nights here and had an amazing time just relaxing and chilling out, having spent the past 2 weeks on a busy tour of Northern India. Cottages are really comfortable and outdoor bathroom was different but a good experience. Pool area is spacious with plenty of sun loungers. Food in the seafood restaurant was amazing! Lots of activities available to guests and free wi-fi too which was rare in other hotels in India! Ayruvedic treatments were very good value, although not as peaceful as they are at home - people coming in and out of the room during your treatment and staff members chatting loudly disturbed the tranquility somewhat. Similar experiences had in other places throughout India so don't think this is specific to this hotel. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieJersey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

this is out of the world experience...i don't know how they made it but whatever they did is just amazing...you feel like you are at heaven...stayed at pool villa with a full sea view pvt swimming pool and lake view with balcony at back...totally life time remembering experience.

Room Tip: take pool villa if you can afford :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rounak j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We found Coconut Lagoon to be a wonderful experience. We were greeted by a man playing the musical instrument flute when we arrived. Rooms were comforatble but the surprise was the toilet open to the sky. Food was delicious. The staff went out of its way. The final touch was the staff came out to wave at us as we were leaving.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JagdishAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you like to experience India at arm's length (or should I say boat 's length) then this place is a perfect retreat. Indeed, initially, I was worried about the hermetically sealed nature of this place, but you find yourself being bowled over by the outstanding warmth, grace and hospitality of the entire staff.

The pool was excellent, with sunbeds aplenty, but it really was lovely to sit on the veranda of our comfortable bungalow and watch the varied birdlife and boats pass by. The food was very good, if a little on the expensive side (no doubt due to one's captivity) but, if you truly want to splash out, the seafood restaurant serves superb dishes, in a wonderful ambience, although at European prices.

Certainly, the range of free and chargeable activities were many and varied, including a free and delightful sunset cruise, bird watching, cookery etc... so it's fair to say that this is a quite a special place (as evidenced by Paul McCartney' s stay!)

Room Tip: Bungalows denying onto water seem the best-selling had 228, facing the backwaters. The super deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in a 2 storey bungalow with wonderful colonial furniture and a spacious outdoor bathroom. The resort is only accessible by water and is a wonderful place for rest and relaxation. After a relaxing massage (be prepared as there is no room for modesty), enjoy a cocktail at the garden bar. The staff are friendly and helpful and there are lots of activities - both free and at a cost- including cooking classes, tabla lessons and boat trips around the Kerala backwaters. Excellent property - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Arrival by boat is certainly relaxing and the checkin process is very smooth.The rooms/cabins are scattered throughout the gardens which are very colourful and walking through them is enjoyable.Took a stroll through the back of the property and met some of the villagers and their families as there is not a lot to do here but take in the beautiful waterways.Food at the restaurant was tasty,there is an excellent gift shop and a computer to use if needed.The inside/outside bathroom is wonderful and very enjoyable on a hot night.

Room Tip: near the lake or anywhere in the beautiful gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crispAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed with my wife on March 2013. We stayed in the main canal facing room. Nice location to watch House boats and other tourists boats moving on the canal. The complimentary sunset cruise with a musician with flute was, excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manoharan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
3.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
3.2 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
555 reviews
5.1 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $242 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An interplay of coconut groves and water channels, with old wooden Keralan homes transplanted, preserved and cherished. Coconut Lagoon is located in a sheltered and enchanting cove in Kumarakom, this resort reflects the diversity and magnificence of Vemband Lake. A CGH Earth experience that respects the rich but delicate ecosphere and the vibrant culture of Kuttanad region. Where old agrarian homes are reconstituted to offers you an entry into a charming world following the gentle pulse of the backwaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing