We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel/resort in Southern India”
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Southern England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel/resort in Southern India”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I enjoyed Coconut Lagoon more than any other of the hotels I stayed in on my tour around Southern India, including some more expensive and well know ones.
The difference to the others (I believe) is:
+ the location - it's an oasis of nature's best. Truly awe inspiring and very peaceful.
+ the accomodation - it mixes tradition with modern comforts and is immaculately kept.
+ the team that work there - they are some of the most lovely people I've ever met and genuinely seem to care for their work, resort and guests. Their genuine smiles are beautiful and their kindness was really touching.

It's a very special place...do go...I'm saving up the pennies so I can return soon

Room Tip: I stayed in the Deluxe Lakeside Cottage with a private pool and I can't imagine a better locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    281
    64
    17
    11
See reviews for
348
559
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The parent company of this hotel set themselves a target of responsible tourism many years ago and have achieved it. Coconut Lagoon is a cluster of salvaged traditional Kerelan houses, renovated to an extremely high standard, grouped round backwater canals and the massive waterway system of Lake Vambanad. Amongst its green credentials, harvesting rainwater and with its own supply of gas manufactured from the food and garden wastes generated by its kitchens,rank as major achievements. The kitchens produce stunning gourmet dishes reflecting the very best of Kerelan cuisine adapted to match the tastes of its customers. The staff are personal, quiet, discreet and unendingly helpful, I love this place and have done for over 12 years. Nothing can describe the joy and peace of this quiet, entertaining and delicious little jewel in the crown of the CGHearth group of hotels. To the Dominic brothers and their families now continuing the good work, we owe a lot to your vision. thank you

Room Tip: The pool villas give you the opportunity to watch sunrise from the garden verandah and sunset from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fothersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

On our 6 night trip in Kerala. this was kept for the last night. It was the most expensive booking in our itinerary. Needless to sat I was most excited about it. Had heard a great deal about this property and CGH properties on the whole. As we were entering the property we saw some rooms in the garden in a cluster and I feared these would be our rooms whereas what I was told by my friends is that the rooms have view of the lake and the sunset is yours. upon asking the property they said that was a higher category of a room. INR 16300 down the drain. But when the hotel saw that we were upset, without much thought we were upgraded to the Pool Villa. Private pool, your balcony faces the lake. the other side of the rooms faces endless acres of the paddy fields. You simply cannot ask for more if you are a nature lover and you need modern amenities to support that.
Note: Please do try the seafood restaurant. Dont plan anything once you are booked in this hotel. Just being here is enough.

Room Tip: if its not a lake facing room, dont book here. Might not be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joravar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our 3rd Hotel on our short tour of Kerala and our 2nd GH Earth, we were picked up at a jetty upriver and transferred directly to the Hotel lobby by boat, check-in was fast and efficient. We were quickly shown to our room that was a detached bungalow type constructed from local materials (mostly teak I think). The room was spacious and comfortable with a/c, mini-bar and tea/coffee making facilities, and a comfortable king size bed. The bathroom is outside in a courtyard, my wife wasn't too keen to shower outside and share the facility with a small gecko, but he took the hint and went away, I myself enjoyed the experience of showering outside, something not recommended here in chilly England. We walked around the Hotel grounds and visited the Butterfly park, all of which are very pleasant, then sat for an hour gazing over lake Vembanad, followed by the sunset cruise which was also very relaxing. For dinner we choose the buffet where there was a good choice on offer, all well cooked and tasty. Breakfast was also a buffet, again with a good choice on offer. We had arranged a Houseboat trip for the following night and were picked up straight from the jetty beside the Hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient. This was a very nice Hotel and I would recommend it for anyone looking for somewhere to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkToker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the natural feel of hotel. Children a great time in room with private pool. Enjoyed kayaking, birding etc. Meals are sometimes brilliant other times alright - never bad. Internet is difficult, too few places and poor speed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Oaklands4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have been to this wonderful oasis over 5 times staying for about a week and love every moment. We adore listening to the many different birds, walking around the paddy field, watching the tuttles, butterflies and generally relaxing. The food is always of high standard and the staff welcome us as long lost friends. Our accommodation is clean and the outside bathroom such fun as showering with a bird or gecko watching is very much the norm. On a rare occasion a frog has joined us too. It is obvious that we love Coconut Lagoon and the staff do make it very special.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but we do like the heritage bungalows overlooking the river and backwaters
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzieWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a bungalow with a small private pool whaich was very tastefully decorated and well equipped. The staff were all wonderful, very friendly and welcoming.
Do try the seafood restaurant and order a feast. Yes, it may cost alittel more but is well worth it- I have never had such succulent fish just cooked to perfection.
Our bungalow had a lovely verandah overlooking the lake and a hammock so we caught the breeze off the water- magic.
Wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the scruffy jetty used to access the hotel by boat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heavybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
3.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
3.9 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,709 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Zuri Kumarakom
The Zuri Kumarakom
#6 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Property: Coconut Lagoon
Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing