We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My traveling companions and I enjoyed our one-night stay at Coconut Lagoon and wished we had scheduled more nights there. We were greeted warmly and given an orientation that enabled us to make the most of our time. The large pool was particularly nice. Our rooms had good air conditioning and the outdoor shower/bathroom was memorable. The extensive grounds are an ideal spot for viewing the sunset and the abundance of bird species in the area. Our food was exceptional and the breakfast was excellent. Even the onsite gift shop had interesting merchandise. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codycallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    265
    60
    16
    11
See reviews for
324
531
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have been here many years ago and it was great to come back . We were younger and we tried water sports, but now it was just a stroll.
The rooms are indeed beautiful and as inviting as we remembered them. The backwaters see more activity now than they did before.
The food is simple and with wide variety but there could be more to it. The staff are helpful and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our two nights at Coconut Lagoon, booked by the excellent Greaves Travel as part of a tour of Kerala. Our cottage overlooked the backwaters and it was great to sit on the veranda and watch the houseboats and fishermen float by.

Arriving at the hotel via their water taxi, to be greeted by flute music and a fresh coconut drink, really set the tone for our stay. Our room was comfortable and we liked the antique touches and the "outside" bathroom. We did find a gecko hiding in our kettle one night though - check before boiling! The restaurant was good, with an excellent buffet breakfast and dinner. We ate lunch both days at the bar by the pool - great dosas. The smaller restaurant, overlooking the lake, served lovely seafood platters - definitely recommended.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and I will long remember lying in the hammock overlooking the lake, drinking a G&T while the sun set below the horizon. The cows mowing the lawns, each with their own egret sidekick, were great. The pool has plenty of sunbeds - and we loved the little boat that pulled up at 4pm each day, serving tea and local snacks.

The complimentary sunset cruise on the lake was really enjoyable - definitely recommended. We loved our time at Coconut Lagoon and hope to visit again at some point.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalhamGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level Contributor
189 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Following a great holiday last year with CGH at Marari and Cochin, we decided to return and experience the Spice Coast Cruise along the backwaters. I was made aware that the house boats can launch from Coconut Lagoon and so we decided to start our second visit to India here.

We spent our first night here, having flown into Cochin early in the morning. We were promptly met at the airport by our CGH driver and we were quickly on our way! The drive to the Coconut Lagoon boat jetty took approximately two hours. From there we boarded a boat for the short journey to the resort. The boat was met with traditional music and we were warmly welcomed with flowers and fresh coconut water.

We stayed in a Heritage Mansion whose interior is designed to resemble the inside of a boat. It has a living area on the ground floor and the bedroom is found upstairs. As with many CGH properties, the shower/toilet are outside within the enclosed walls and partially covered - a feature I really like!

For those who would rather not negotiate stairs in their room, Heritage Bungalows are also available! The Heritage Mansions are well suited for a group of friends or family travelling together as there are up to four rooms linked to form an individual Mansion.

Our room was overlooking Lake Vembanad which is spectacular, and a lot of (quiet) boat traffic passes by the front of the resort.

The Heron Bar offers a wide selection of drinks, alcoholic and non alcoholic, along with snacks. There are two restaurants. The main restaurant serves both lunch and dinner (the latter both a la carte and buffet). We had the buffet which I thought had plenty of traditional options to satisfy all tastes (vegetarian, meat, fish etc).

On the grounds, there is also a butterfly garden and a fish sanctuary along with eight acres of land, which CGH donates to locals for rice cultivation of the medicinal 'njwara' variety.

The resort offers a beautiful, green space to relax along with the many water canals carved throughout. These and the lake, bring along a vast variety of birds making this an ornithologist's paradise. Guided walks with the resident naturalist can be booked at reception.

Coconut Lagoon was a great start to our holiday and would certainly return but for no more than a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Coconut lagoon resort at kumarakom was recommended to us by our son Arjun and daughter in law Bhavna, who visited it for their honeymoon in 2006.

We therefore decided to have a family holiday comprising of three generations in the back waters of Kerala.

We reached Coconut lagoon in the afternoon of 23 rd January, 2013, where we were warmly received with flute playing in welcome. On knowing that it happens to be our seven year old Remanika's birthday, the staff promptly organized some flowers and a gift for her along with flute playing happy birthday. Remanika was thrilled with this new experience.

The resort is divinely located in the backwaters reached only through a boat. Once there the resort is well appointed with aesthetically designed cottages. Very comfortable overseeing the backwaters. The view of the sunset is captivating. One can sit here for hours doing nothing or reading a book lazily lying on a hammock. There are large number of In house activities. Our little ones freaked out on the butterfly garden. They not only enjoyed them but also added immensely to their knowledge.

The food and beverages were a treat.

We had great time, only we factored for one night stay, which was grossly inadequate.

We propose to plan another stay some time in future for a longer time.

The staff was very cordial and eager to please.

M. K. Tandon, IPS (Rtd)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mktandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Fabulous setting ,holistic and relaxing. outstanding service.We had a spacious detached room and loved the quirky open air bathroom. My wife really enjoyed a massage. Definitely a good place for rest and relaxation. Take advantage of the free sunset cruise.
After a lovely 24 hours on a Rice Boat this was definitely an Oasis

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel setting is beautiful. You go to it via a short boat ride and the approach to the reception area is wonderful. The staff were very welcoming and you are given a cool towel and delicious drink. Our room was an individual villa overlooking a lawn. It was excellent but I had a few reservations with the bathroom! This is in a walled area outside. I don't mind an outside shower but am not so sure about an outside loo!
The whole of the grounds are very pretty and tranquil and you can sit by the lake in complete peace.
The dining room is attractive and the food very good with plenty of choice.
If you are not going on a houseboat it is worth booking a motorised canoe via the hotel for two hours on the backwaters.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All good but I'd probably pay the extra for a room with plunge pool in future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
3.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.7 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
3.4 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Property: Coconut Lagoon
Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing