We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven ........... Peaceful .............. Serene !”
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
chennai
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Heaven ........... Peaceful .............. Serene !”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Coconut Lagoon is one of the finest Backwater destinations in Kerala . You feel so special from the time you enter the Boat to reach the reception of the resort to the time you check out from the resort .
The service staff too good .

Food spread excellent !

Its like living in the lap of Mother Earth .

Feels like you are in a different world.

Room Tip: The rooms with back water view are good , If you want to spend a little more ........ you can take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanjay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    276
    64
    16
    11
See reviews for
338
554
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

When a canal and canoe lead you to the reception desk of a hotel, you know you are most probably going to have a fun stay at that property. And Coconut Lagoon didn't disappoint, at all! Cheerful staff, in traditional attire, ensure your utmost comfort, share details about the hotel property and are happy to help and plan a great stay.
Our lovely cottage overlooked the serene backwaters, had a compact pool and was very comfortable.
Don't miss the complimentary sunset cruise,a wonderful experience.
The breakfast had way too many choices, and most of them healthy and delicious!
Coconut Lagoon, an Eco friendly resort certainly lives up to every claim. No plastic is used, you'll find no television sets in rooms, and coconut husks are tied to each tree and have plants sprouting from them. The meals don't even include dishes made from white flour!
Great food, awesome staff and a serene stay. Our one big regret? Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SriMayuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

You have to take a boat to reach this huge and sprawling property. Its rooms are cottages spread across the palm trees and most have a wonderful view of the
backwaters (Lake Vembanand) that lines the property. We had a pool villa which came with a big drawing/sitting room/bar, a bedroom, spacious bathroom, private pool and two balconies- one at the back facing the lush green paddy fields and the other is at the porch- an amazing, uninterrupted view of the water that is practically at your footstep. To sit on the armchair in the porch while the sun goes down in the endlessly blue horizon is a treat indeed. The resort has no TV and thankfully so as we werent hoping for one in this setting. The tea/coffee amneities in the room are plenty as well as the bathroom is well stocked. The bed linen and the whole room is clean and inviting. I tried out their Ayurvedic Centre for the massage and it was really good- the massuese was well trained and experience. What more the prices are high but competitive- I have seen smaller worthless places charge more in Kerala- so you can safely invest here. There are 2 sore points though that bear mentioning:
1. The private pool was dirty with leaves and dirt what was astonishing the staff told us to swim in it as given its outdoor leaves and dirt will be common!
This was astonishing as most pools are outdoor, with this logic there would be no such thing as pool maintainance. We paid qutie a high price for a private pool and not being able to use it warrants a refund or at least rectifcation! Inspite of asking noone came to clean the pool and we left. This was a disappointment and rip off to say the least.
2. The moisturiser given the bathroom was rotten and my husband who unsuspectingly used it had to shower twice to get rid of the icky stuff- if this property wants to claim its 5 star status it better pay attention to these things as well. They are small but significant. We didnt eat here at all so cant comment on the food but they did make my husband a complimentary sandwich and coffee as he had missed breakfast.
Overall, I would recommend the place- the views and the lovely room will make a great stay
but no use paying extra for the pool villa.

Room Tip: dont pay extra for the pool villa as the pools are not usable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WonderWomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Coconut Lagoon for five nights. The villa was awesome, and the location in general is wonderful.
What we did not like was the food. It is highly priced. For a buffet lunch the charge more than1500 INR, and even a lunch snack is at least 400 INR. For that money you get food which is ok in quality, but taste and variety are rather mediocre. On the third day it starts getting boring as there is not much change.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private pool villa. They are great, because they are located at the lakeshore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had visited this resort in August 2010 with family.This hotel is part of the Casino group of hotels which has several properties in Kerala.Like all it other resorts it does not have a TV in the room but who needs it anyways , with the resort being is such a picture perfect location and other things to do.They have daily trips on the lake in the evening which is something not to be missed at all.The food was also good with lot's of variety in the lunch as well as breakfast.I would highly recommed this resort for a relaxed 2 night stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaypar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Coconut Lagoon flatters to deceive. A far better bet for those wishing to have a first rate resort experience, try The Serai, Karapura Village, Kabini.

The cabin was attractive, as were the setting and main buildings, while the food was, for the most part, no better than average.

While the staff in the reception area were helpful and pleasant, a number of the restaurant staff were poorly trained and one was downright surly.

Highly suspect were the numerous still water filled ornamental ditches, lovely to look at, but clearly wonderful breeding grounds for mosquitoes. Not the best idea.

Sadly, the Coconut Lagoon comes nowhere near living up to its self-image.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broad Town, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Good points: Beautiful setting, lovely pool, very attractive rooms in "cottages" around the grounds.We were upgraded because our room wasn't ready when we arrived, and I was rather ill with "Delhi Belly" and needed to lie down.
The gardens are lovely, with lots of birds, lizards, butterflies, etc.
The restaurant has a good selection of buffet food and the service is OK. Not great, but OK.
There's a second, smaller restaurant, which we didn't try.
A highlight was kayaking with a guide, on the second morning we were there.


Not so good points: The overall service is patchy, for instance, we called for mosquito coils to be lit on our verrandah and were told they were on their way, but they never arrived. We were also never told when our houseboat arrived to collect us, despite being promised a call. The boat waited over an hour for us, while we waited for IT outside our room, waiting for the call!
The loungers round the pool are all wood - not very comfortable.
The rooms are rather oddly arranged. We had an upstairs bedroom with no clothes storage. The wardrobe was downstairs, in a lounge area, which also had a desk, minibar, and a couple of armchairs. Not a very useable area to be honest. The bathrooms are outside in a private enclosure, which is OK unless you aren't well.

To sum up: We had a pleasant 2 day stay here. The hotel thinks it's a top class luxury hotel and prices itself accordingly - but it misses the mark in small but irritating ways. I'd stay there again though, and would recommend it with a few small reservations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
3.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
683 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
3.9 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
1.2 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
333 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Property: Coconut Lagoon
Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing