We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soft Landing After Tranquil Houseboat Trip”
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Coconut Lagoon for one evening and thought it was the perfect soft landing after a peaceful houseboat trip on Kerala’s sleepy backwaters. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and our only regret is that we didn’t stay an extra night.

Location/Service
The property is primarily accessible by boat, making it convenient for our houseboat captain to drop us off at the perimeter of the well-kept and picturesque resort where we were immediately greeted by a staff member. From the time we arrived on the property to our departure, the staff was very attentive and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant and memorable. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was able to accommodate our very early morning check-in.

Room
Our lovely duplex was located in a semi-detached cottage: the bathroom and small sitting area were on the lower level and bedroom loft was on the top floor. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean and the outdoor shower was a nice touch (with the exception of mosquitoes at night).

Dining
We allotted extra time for meals as service was quite slow at both restaurants. We enjoyed breakfast and lunch at the main restaurant and appreciated the healthy and wide range of options, including fresh-squeezed juices and the pickle/chutney bar. We also enjoyed our dinner and the live music at the seafood restaurant and would suggest sitting under the thatched roof to avoid the bugs and having an early dinner to avoid a long wait.

Amenities/Activities
Despite only being at Coconut Lagoon for a short time, we were able to enjoy many of the activities that the resort offered. We appreciated the number of free activities (and the reasonable cost for those with a fee) as well as how accessible the activities were to guests. The sunset cruise was well worth the time. The cooking demonstration, guided butterfly tour, and bird watching tours were enjoyable and informative. Sunrise yoga was relaxing, but not particularly vigorous since the class accommodated all levels. The gift shop offered reasonably-priced souvenirs and cookbooks. The pool was mostly enjoyable, but we noticed some adult guests grumbling about the number of noisy families with small children carrying on while in the pool (overall, we did not find this to be a problem on the rest of the property).

While we enjoyed most of the activities and amenities, there were a few disappointments. We found the Ayurvedic treatment at the spa disappointing and less than comfortable after getting a rushed consultation with the Ayurvedic doctor and witnessing some internal confusion between the staff. Also, the early morning martial arts exhibit was less than impressive and consisted of hotel staff doing morning warm-up exercises.

Summary
Whether you decide to relax on a waterfront hammock or fill your schedule with activities, Coconut Lagoon is a lovely and tranquil place to spend a few days while in Kerala. If you schedule smartly, you can take advantage of many of the activities during your stay, while still maintaining a relaxed pace. I would highly recommend a stay at this resort.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Convinced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Sttayed at coconut lagoon in April, though the weather was bit warm, the stay at the hotel was very comfortable. It is an amazing place. Needs quite a few days of stay if u really want to enjoy it thoroughly & unfortunately i didnt have that time at hand. The cottages made from wood salvaged from old traditional kerala homes are just amazing & give a very warm & rich look. lots & lots of open space is the USP.However one thing was a little put off, the nooks & corners of the room had lot of unattended dust & cobwebs which do not expect when u pay such a heft price for the room. Definitely want to go back & enjoy the place at leisure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajay35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great place. Full board deal should be considered because you can only get there by boat so nowhere to go. Only one restaurant to eat in during low season

Beautiful butterflies and birds. Rice boats floating by and bungalows separated by canals. Lots of people to wave at.

Bird and butterfly walks are lovely. Yoga by a padi field enclosed in a ( necessary ) mosquito net. Traditional Indian music at night. cookery class and more

Children looked very happy

Therapy centre not tried

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller50london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

+1 Wonderful location
+2 Boat ride from Jetty to hotel
+3 Inviting with flute
+4 Friendly front desk
+4 Wonderful invitation with tender coconut
+5 Beautiful rooms (with open toilet, bed room above, nice sitout, etc.)
+6 Good vegetarian food
+7 Excellent location
+8 Good swimming pool
+9 Sendoff with Tabla music
+10 Geethu, the naturalist, with a pleasing smile

Room Tip: Opt for rooms on the lake side to have a serene atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuwait_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

You know an inland resort is going to be special when you can only get to it by boat. Coconut Lagoon, Kumarakom, got off to a great start for me with that ten minute boat ride in the tranquil evening waters. On getting off the boat at the reception, you are greeted with flowers and a coconut to sip. And every moment of the next two days matched up.

<b>FIRST IMPRESSION:<b/> Verdant, relaxing, steeped in the local culture.

EXPLORE: the resort, as it resembles a village intersected by water channels (which has water from Lake Vembanad). I went during monsoon, but even otherwise it is so, i was told. There are cottages and bungalows, whose architecture resembles the traditional local houses, scattered amidst lush grassy strips and lawns. Between them are water channels, which are next to every house. Cute bridges get you across. There are hundreds of varieties of trees and flowers. When I went, there were lovely bright pink and white lilies, red rongons and yellow trumpet shaped allamandas. then are are orchids grafted on nearly every tree. there were hibiscuses floating in a large stunning black cauldron in the restaurant that i had to stand and revere before passing on to the delectable grub. the main restaurant is spacious airy pavilion. there is a separate seafood restaurant, open in high season. there is a little shop for exotica. and a little conference room. but look around the periphery, and one side is the majestic Vembanad, while on another, across a river, is a bird sanctuary, and even inside the resort, those so inclined can do quite a bit of bird watching! there is a butterfly garden too, but my top of the list is sunset over the Vembanad.

f and b: great buffet spread each time. local dishes to die for, though there is a smattering of north indian and continental as well, but why have them when there is such great choices of plantain flower or crabs or local curries and chutneys. matched with homemade jams and preserves. do yourself a favour and miss the parathas and puris and pastas.

ROOM: whether cottage or bungalow or even houseboat, the ambiance created through the architecture is sure to create that extra fuzzy feeling of warmth. the cottages have nice touches like a traditional mirror table, lovely high backed chairs, a really high traditional style high bed, old style windows, and of course it is all wood. there was a massive taro plant, set among round brown rocks next to the shower, which simply took my breath away. obviously that area is open air, adding to the feeling of exotica. high stress on green practices, with reminders to conserve water everywhere. toiletries basic. every room comes with a map of the resort.

MUST DO: indulge in nature of course. boat rides on the lake. bird watching trips, just traipsing around the resort through its narrow cobbled lanes. try cultural programmes such as watching kathakali performances, or learning karali basics, do a spot of yoga. tuck in at mealtimes!

BEWARE: there is no tv in the room, and net connectivity, at least in my room was almost non existent. getting out requires planning as there are no motorable roads to the resort. getting to the resort from Kochi airport took over two hours.

OVERALL: Great for a holiday. Sure to rejuvenate.

Room Tip: The bunglow is the best, though the cottages are great too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumansays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed two nights with my family in a cottage with AC. The cottages are just fine. Great pool, tasty food, friendly staff. A resort boat takes you to the huge property and they welcome you in a special way that makes you feel good, with music and garlands. We came quite late and the boat came specially to pick us up. It was a great experience to sail through narrow channels to come to the resort.
The sunset cruise with flute entertainment was just heavenly. When we left the place, the whole restaurant staff including the cooks stayed in one line and waved goodbye to us till we were out of sight; it was just such a pleasant way to say good bye, also for us. Children just loved this place. will strongly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

You know you're in for something special when you get off at the jetty & wait for your boat transfer that ferries you to the resort.

Even with an endless waterscape for its setting, the resort is tucked away as a private retreat. A traditional welcome awaits you as you alight at the reception. Check in formalities completed over coconut water & garlands, you're whisked away to your bungalow- traditional architecture beautifully fitted out with all the modern creature comforts that you could imagine.

And just as we were settling back into chairs over a great dinner, confident that things could'nt get better, the staff pulled out all stops & literally swept us off with their hospitality. It happened to be the birthday of 2 of my nephews. We had finished our meal, when suddenly, the lights at the restuarant went off. There was complete silence till we saw the lights flicker on as a candle-light march that the kitchen staff brought out & there were about 25 people gathered around the "birthday boys" to wish them! Not just that, the next day, as we were piling into the boat for our check-out, the staff ran to both sides of the banks, to give us a warm send off, just like you'd see off friends visiting your home...

While one gets to see various instances of the Indian hospitality at many places, the people at Coconut Lagoon literally took the cake!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriyaBeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
3 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
814 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 26 in Kumarakom
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Karma Chakra
Karma Chakra
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
565 reviews
3.9 mi away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
5.1 mi away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Address: Po Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range: $209 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An interplay of coconut groves and water channels, with old wooden Keralan homes transplanted, preserved and cherished. Coconut Lagoon is located in a sheltered and enchanting cove in Kumarakom, this resort reflects the diversity and magnificence of Vemband Lake. A CGH Earth experience that respects the rich but delicate ecosphere and the vibrant culture of Kuttanad region. Where old agrarian homes are reconstituted to offers you an entry into a charming world following the gentle pulse of the backwaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing