We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major chateau of the area”

Chateau de Josselin
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Josselin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Josselin castle, a visit not to be missed ... Imagine a fairytale castle, whose tree majestic toweres dominate the river below. Concealed behind the massive fortress walls you will find the exquisite, flamboyant Gothic and Renaissance facade of a ducal palace. Here the very history of Brittany was forged. It is a place of legend and magic. Still the home of the Rohan family after 1000 years, in the public rooms restored in the 19th century, you will see a unique collection of furniture and paintings.
Auray, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Major chateau of the area”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The tour staff are very helpful, although once you get inside the Chateau there is not a lot to see.
The grounds and views are very good.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    141
    81
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Make sure you are prompt if you want the tour in English!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

They do one tour in English each day at 2.30. You can only go inside the building if with a tour so you should make a point of getting there on time if you want to see it and your French isn't totally fluent.
We were about 2 mins late and they wouldn't let us catch up to the group, so we tried to follow the next French tour - impossible for us, I'm afraid, so we gave up on it and never saw inside.
The grounds are very nice to look around and have a great view along the river, anyway, but I think we would have got a lot more out of the visit if we had been allowed to catch up with the English tour.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank miggiBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Beautiful Architecture, peaceful when we visited. borders full of flowers

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LcJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding building”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Lovely building. Guide did a good job of delivering English tour. Tour a little yawnful for kids but they were interested in many things. Cost was value for money

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Riched71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Castle and a home”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Home of the Duke and Duchess of Rohan. We had a private tour in English of this historic castle. The tour included the first floor only (dining room, antechamber, main drawing room and library) as the family resides on the upper floors. The castle was transformed over the centuries from a fortress to a chateau. The decor has been maintained in decor the way it was in the 1800s. There are many pieces of art and portraits that show the family history and ties to the throne (British and French). The English and French gardens are very nice to stroll through. Walking through the small town to the castle and through the entry, you can almost feel what it was like to live there. A beautiful place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Explorer12onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Josselin also viewed

 

Been to Chateau de Josselin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing