We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and nice atmosphere”
Review of La Gabelletta

La Gabelletta
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Amelia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Gabelletta Food Bed and Leisure in UmbriaCountry House & RestaurantBeautiful hotel with a charming restaurant, located in a country side. Opened as an inn in 1700 on the border between a castle and a city in perpetual strife, The Gabelletta is among the oldest structures of 'Umbria. Our cuisine is the result of deep love for quality ingredients and local recipes. The paper is strictly seasonal and is proposed by the chef after careful research, continuous experimentation and a meticulous selection of raw materials, to rediscover the ancient Umbrian flavors in a modern way.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Don't be put off by the somewhat bland exterior of this place. Inside, you will find a very charming and welcoming restaurant. Make sure to get seated on the romantic terrace.
The food is great and the service is warm. We went twice and were not disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartennadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    61
    16
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Romantic site”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A perfect stay in an excellent atmosphere, served by very friendly staff.The menu is pretty good and the winery has interesting options.Perfect place to relax, disconnect, and enjoy beautiful views.Our experience in the Gabelletta exceeded our expectations,will definitely return.Thanks.

Our purpose in traveling to this area was to visit the Park of Bomarzo monsters nearby. Amelia was not our real destination. However, Ettore we learned that there was much more experienced in the area we had imagined. Amelia visited the museum, where we learned more about the history of the city of Umbria. This is definitely worth doing. We were very impressed by the bronze sculpture Germanicus (15 BC - 19 AD).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBMC616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always disappoints”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This restaurant tries too hard. The food is over fussy and nothing quite works. It is a great pity as Amelia really needs a decent restaurant. Some of the dishes are literally inedible.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bella m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A quiet night out”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was the closest restaurant to our villa in Capitone and we had no idea what it would be like- I'm glad I insisted the children wore smart clothes! We visited on a quiet evening in early June and the restaurant was deserted- however the welcome was warm and food amazing. It was great to introduce the children to Italian food that isn't just spaghetti bolognese and pizza. I was delighted that my 7 yer old demolished a plateful of artichoke and cheese lasagne...a new variety of her favourite food.
I would go out of my way to visit this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExpatwifeTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect diner in romantic atmosphere”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

A visit to the village Amelia is a visit to restaurant La Gabelletta. A perfect diner in a romantic atmosphere, served by very friendly staff. The manager showed us at the end of the diner the new apartments in the hotel. Decorative and luxury rooms that will guarantee a pleasant stay at this residence

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gabelletta also viewed

Amelia, Province of Terni
 
Amelia, Province of Terni
Amelia, Province of Terni
 

Been to La Gabelletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing